We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 23 Petersfield B&Bs / inns

The Good Intent

40-46 College Street, Petersfield, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Good Intent to your Saves list
The Good Intent
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
68%
Ranked #16 of 23 Petersfield B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014
Steve C Hereford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    1
    6
See reviews for
2
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I have had cause to visit Petersfield fairly regularly over the last few years and since December have been a frequent visitor to the Good Intent. Geoff and Sam have always made me feel very welcome and are always able to help with any enquiry. The food and service is exceptional, a menu which changes with the season and several... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Warm atmosphere, lovely staff and fab food. Great live music. Couldn't fault at all, I think we are going to be one of the 'regulars'. Halloween party was absolutely great fun! I would definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here recently on an impromptu visit to visit friends. The staff were all very friendly, and couldn't have been more helpful. The room was a really nice size, and the bathroom was huge. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was lovely and warm, which is a contrast to some of the previous comments. It is a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here overnight as we were at a wedding near by so we didn't spend much time there in the evening. When we arrived though the staff were really nice and showed us to our rooms. They were both really nice, good size rooms. really clean with everything we needed and comfortable beds. The decoration was a little dated,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I called in having driven by and seen the chaulk board outside advertising bed and breakfast. I checked here prior to calling in, and wasn't too sure due to the couple of bad reviews. The management has changed and the welcome couldn't have been better. The room was reasonably priced for the area, clean and comfortable. The menu of evening... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place to stay but need watch your head after a party was great fun watching my husband getting up stairs with out knocking himself out. Great breakfast in the morning!!!!Friendly bar staff Clean room and comfortable bed. All areas clean and good atmsophere in the bar area. Quaint pub

Was this review helpful? Yes
hampshire uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

went in there for a drink and could hear a couple upstairs having sex.... went back another time for sunday dinner. ask for an irish coffee and it turned up in as cold coffee with a shot of whiskey in in a wine glass. we wasnt happy as that was not what we asked for. the land lady replied well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

one of the best pubs i know, a great atmosphere mostly due to wonderful staff has made this into an ideal pub. everyone is always willing to help, and you get greeted and treated brilliantly. i would recommend it to anyone either local or passing by

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

A bit of a rip-off, nice atmosphere but food was over priced and not as described ...we were eventually refunded but with bad grace. An unnecessarily unpleasant experience. The pub is well Situated and had a nice atmosphere but the staff were indifferent and almost hostile and did not apologise for appalling service or make any attempt to make good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Petersharman, Owner at The Good Intent, responded to this review

Hello - if you remember rightly your partner ordered your meals and ordered from our 'meal-deal' menu which is a two course meal for £10 or three courses for £14 clearly stating that the portion sizes are smaller - this you were unaware of at the time. When your food arrived and you became angry and abusive, our staff tried... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Lovely Good Intent. As previous customers say staff were very polite it's just a pity I couldn't say the same about the very polite (at first) and VERY Abusive when questioned Land Lady. Where to start its a long one In the room I was surprised to find a Damp Moldy smell, wallpaper was lifting off the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petersharman, Owner at The Good Intent, responded to this review

I really wish there was a site where you can report nasty individuals like this one... Your 'review' is interesting and currently under investigation by Trip Advisor. I think that, having read another review about there being a problem with the water in that room that you would get a nice free night's stay with us...but why you chose to... More

Been to The Good Intent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Good Intent

Also Known As:
The Good Intent Petersfield, Hampshire
Address: 40-46 College Street, Petersfield, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Good Intent is a delightful 16th Century coaching Inn in Petersfield, Hampshire - (an ancient town set in an area of outstanding natural beauty - the area of Mapledurham, which comprised of Buriton, Petersfield and Sheet is mentioned in the Doomsday book) with original oak beams taken from the ship it is named after and a wealth of traditional features, including open fires and inglenook fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Good Intent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Good Intent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.