We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bear Hotel

15 East Street, Havant PO9 1AA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    47
    98
    98
    62
    100
See reviews for
71
149
33
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (405)
  • Mar-May only
    (101)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (136)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this hotel several times, and only once have I had cause for complaint. As reviewers have said, it is in need of refurbishment, but everything in my room worked, window latches had been replaced, the bed was clean and comfortable, I was provided with a fan, as it was very a very warm day, and all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My son arrange for a table for 8 family and friends to celebrate his Birthday. On arrival, the receptionist could find not the reservation (he booked it personally whilst in Havant doing some shopping about 3 weeks ago ). They pushed 2 tables together to accommodate us. One family member could not make it so that left 7. The waitress... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Date of visit – nights of 26th and 27th June 2015. We stayed at this hotel in order to attend the Goodwood Festival of Speed. For that event it is ESSENTIAL to book your hotel immediately the event dates are notified in order to be reasonably near to Goodwood. This year I was a bit slow to book but The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had the misfortune to stay in this during the Goodwood Festival of Speed. I had long days starting at 6 am and not getting back until 8pm, what I needed was a relaxed evening. My room (room 11) was above the bar which due to the zero sound proofing meant I could hear conversations perfectly, including the noisy staff after... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sandwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you appreciate good service, pleasant staff, cleanliness, decent accommodation then this is definitely not the hotel for you! The staff are rude and sullen, the rooms in need of total refurbishment, the bathroom in room nine is basically held together by filler If you wish for an early night then do not stay in room nine. Room nine is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Michigan
Level Contributor
191 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was just ok. It's a bit run down, the rooms are plain and dated and the wifi forces you to create an account. It's a bit hard to figure out where the entrance is, but once you do, there is ample parking. The layout inside is a bit odd requiring you to wind your way around hallways and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit our page and leave feedback, Kind regards More 

Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights in this sadly, very run down old hotel and vowed never to return unless something is done to improve things. Yes, it was cheap (you get what you pay for ???), yes it is a lovely old building... BUT.... come on English Inns, give the hard working, friendly staff a break and refurbish ASAP. We agree... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay, I will ensure that your review is highlighted and mentioned with the management team, Kind regards More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a seasoned business traveller, I'm used to all sorts of rooms but this was by far the worst I have stayed in for a while. The hotel management would do well do do something other than apologise, a good clean, lick of paint and updating of carpets and curtains could go a long way. However, avoid room 5 it's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise that you did not enjoy your recent stay and that you was disappointed with your breakfast the following morning, Kind regards More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As others have said in their reviews, this is a tired hotel badly in need of refurbishment, HOWEVER it is affordable, which is important, although at 6.99 for a 250ml glass of wine you'd be better off picking up a bottle from waitrose on your way from the station. Lady receptionist seemed very nice, friendly and professional. Bar staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, We can use your feedback to help as you stated with guests experience during your stay, kind regards More 

Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had one night in this tired, tatty hotel. It was certainly cheap but that is no excuse for such awful conditions. We were woken up before 7am by someone cleaning the windows from the pavement with a long handled brush so we got up and left early as we were luckily having breakfast with friends in near... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay, I will be sure to pass on your comments, Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay