We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bear Hotel

15 East Street, Havant PO9 1AA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    95
    92
    58
    93
See reviews for
67
143
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (385)
  • Mar-May only
    (96)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (121)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (87)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Dreadful!!! Smelly, dirty, poor service and downright seedy. This establishment is not just tired it's fast asleep. Avoid room 3 at all costs, disgusting. I was a member of a walking holiday group. We all agreed we should have kept on walking and found another Hotel. Never again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Walsall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having read some reviews, I must admit our expectations were low, however, my wife and I were very happy with our room and stay at the Bear Hotel. Our twin bed room had three single beds, so we had plenty of space. The room was clean and, thanks to the large window, bright. We had no problems with noise, although... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, thanks for your lovely review for the Bear hotel, I will ensure that the team are aware and read you kind feedback, Kind regards More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came to Portsmouth to go to the university open day and booked a family room for 2 nights with our German Shepherd. The price was unbeatable, the staff were extremely helpful and friendly upon arrival and throughout our stay. The rooms were a bit outdated, but we didn't expect a modern contemporary room as the building is old and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor and writing your lovely review. I was very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent visit, and we look forward in welcoming you back soon, Kind regards More 

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at the bear hotel for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend. The room was very dated and didn't seem clean. There were thick cobwebs around the windows and dirty/stained curtains! Then we went for a drink in the bar and the bar staff were very unhelpful and frankly rude!! Then when we went to bed the lights... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and your kind remarks regarding our breakfast standards, I have noted the issues you have highlighted and we will take steps to correct the issue with the management team at The Bear, Many thanks once again, More 

Travelers are raving about these Havant hotels

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to agree with other reviewers, standards very poor, smelly and dirty except for the bedlinen. Whole place needs a jolly good spring clean and a lick of paint at the absolute minimum. Will not be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted with the standards with the management team at the Bear, Kind regards More 

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ben and his team run a lovely hotel, I have MS and upon arrival was offered help by Nicola with my bags as I was struggling after a long journey. I was happy to be able to park in a disabled spot, and parking is free for the customer's of the hotel but the car park can get quite busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor and writing your lovely review. I was very pleased to learn that you found the staff to be pleasant and helpful at The Bear, and we look forward in welcoming you back soon, Kind regards More 

Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I must admit I feel really disappointed to give the place a poor review as it has the potential to be a great pub hotel but it just lacks enthusiasm. The rooms are tired and dated, staff generally a bit disorganised and standard in the restaurant/bar very average. With a little bit of effort the place could be really great... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review with constructive feedback which we will use to improve our service standards, kind regards More 

San Giovanni Valdarno, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is old... and it shows, however our room was clean and confortable. Breakfast was good and staff friendly. Havant is a nice place and train station is near the hotel so you can easily reach towns nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vanesita, thank you for posting your kind review, it was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, Kind regards More 

King's Lynn, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was probably our sixth visit to The Bear as we have had work to do in the area and very convenient for us. We have always found the staff friendly and welcoming, the food good ( breakfasts & evening meals) and the beds clean and comfortable . The rooms are dated and need a bit of TLC but represent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

The team and I are so pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and I will pass on your comments to we look forward to welcome you back soon, Many thanks More 

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was or second stay at The Bear, the first was reasonably good so we came back. The staff are friendly and very helpful, but it would appear there is a shortage of staff as we found, our rooms did not get daily room service, bins weren't emptied, tea, milk etc. not replenished and towels and bed left as we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion. We will be taking steps to correct all the issues that you have kindly highlighted with the service standards with the management team at the Bear, Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities