We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swan Hotel

High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

287 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    100
    64
    45
    20
See reviews for
45
117
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (287)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (78)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed here recently and had a very pleasant stay in the hotel. The room was very spacious and had good facilities, however it was a bit noisy such as the creaky floors with people moving around in the mornings above and outside the room. I ate in the restaurant during my stay for breakfast & inner and had excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we just got home from a night away in alton visiting some friends. we chose the swan as it is central to alton and right on the high street. looking at trip advisor we were slightly apprehensive at first but on arrival all our worries left us. we were well looked after by everyone and the service was lovely. our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights. On the day of arrival we checked in and were given our key. But when we got to the room it had not been made up. The staff did say it would only be twenty minutes and to be honest I can see why! There was a lot of dust everywhere and some dubious stains... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to visit Trip Advisor and leave feedback, we are so sorry for the service and standards you experienced and we will be taking steps to improve our standards in the future, Kind regards More 

Travelers are raving about these Alton hotels

Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my 4th stay at the Swan in the past three years, and may well be the last. What I once excused as Olde Inn character is no longer charming. My stay was for two nights, and my breakfast and dinner were on premises. The room was clean enough, and a problem with the TV was quickly solved by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay and that we failed to meet your expectations from previous visits, we will be discussing your feedback with the team to help improve our standards, Kind regards More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

No one on recption on arrival, poor breakfast quality, evening meal booking wrong and long time waited to get served. Food was dry, overcooked room was tired and constant noise from extracter fan all night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time post post your review, we are so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit on this occasion, we will be taking steps to correct the issues highlighted kind regards More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been for a two night stay at 100 pounds per night more expensive than any DeVere - A very tired looking for a refurbishment and major overhaul hotel. Cleaning standards very bad our family room still had crisps and crumbs under the beds, dust and cobwebs is a feature all across the hotel including the restaurant. Uncomfortable very hard beds,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us, we will be discussing the issues you have kindly highlighted to help improve our standards, Many thanks More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a lot of places open on a Sunday evening in Alton...... We had a burger and chips and a few pints on Sunday evening Food was very good Ale was well kept Staff were super friendly Busy without being manic Well worth a visit if you are passing

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking the time to leave such great feedback, many thanks More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just recently stayed at the swan room was a nice size and comfortable bathroom needs to be updated and something needs doing with the plumbing pipes constantly tapping all night The bar was nice and food was typical pub food the staff were friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for sharing your experience at The Swan with on Trip Advisor, we value and appreciate all feedback for the team to help improve and maintain our standards, we so hope that you return to visit us, Kind regards More 

Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have been going to the Swan for years for lunch, dinner and have even stayed over night. The last couple of times the service and food has been shocking. After today I have given up with all hope, I shall not be returning. The service was shocking, the female waitress was rude and generally didn't care. Our drinks order took... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Emma, we are sorry that you did not enjoy our visit and it saddens us to be aware that we have lost custom through our standards on your recent visit, we will discuss the issues you kindly highlighted with the team to help improve our standards, More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice evening out with friends, comfortable dining area, good food, sensible prices. Car park at rear of hotel. Not stayed in hotel so unable to comment on rooms. Would recommend to friends/family and will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our page to leave feedback, we are glad you enjoyed your recent visit, kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay