We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Alton hotels

Swan Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
58%
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Alton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
60lyn Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (222)
  • Photos (52)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (2)
  • Room tips (51)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    78
    52
    31
    15
See reviews for
36
93
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

What a lovely place and a warm welcome. we were moved here by Olde English Inns as were not happy at the Bear at Havant so the very kindly moved us. We stayed here for four nights and all the staff were lovely from the breakfast staff, room cleaning staff and especially reception staff. The rooms were plenty big enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I decided we needed a weekend break and chose the Swan Hotel. I was not sure when we went inside but we had the biggest bedroom I have ever had in a hotel. A large double bed, a lounge area with a comfortable settee and table. We opened another door and found two twin beds which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

From checking in to checking out, everything was good. Staff very polite and professional and anything we asked for they got us. The rooms are decorated to a high standard - modern and contemporary. Couldn't fault the cleanliness. As for the beds! well they are some of the comfiest I've slept in - much recommended! When going to bed couldn't... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swansea
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for just the one night in August, hotel was near everything we needed. Great value, plenty of free parking, free WiFi, charming rooms and a decent bar. A few reviews mention noise, can't say we had an issue with that - even with the window open at night. Breakfast was a little hectic, but it was the weekend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
penshaw
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three Night stay in July bed and breakfast .The hotel is clean enough and breakfasts good but it was the noise on the Friday and Saturday nights off the main street that disturbed in the early hours of the Morning .So would advise a rear bedroom and not one above the main street.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were staying at Alton Fourmarks Travelodge so drove into Alton for food, where there are lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from. The Swan is a medium sized hotel. Food is available in the bar or restaurant at the same price, so we choose to be waited on in the restaurant. We had a great welcome by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for two nights. Bedroom and bathroom were clean but found the kitchen extractor outside our window rather annoying, too hot to have the window closed. The outside sitting area was very dirty, "fag" ends everywhere and tables needed a good clean, not a pleasant place to sit and have your morning coffee.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a 4 night stay at the Swan. Rooms clean spacious and comfortable. We were at the back so quiet too. It is an old coaching inn so yes it creaks and groans. It's decorated to suit the character of the building, in fact the entrance was being refreshed while we were there. Good choice at breakfast and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your time with us at The Swan. it would be lovely to see you back if you're ever in the area in the future. More

Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was a stage stop during Jane Austen's lifetime, located close to the train station, and is within walking distance (couple of miles) to the Jane Austen House at Chawton. My room was over the pub, and therefore a bit noisy from time to time, but the room was no-frills comfortable, the bathroom clean, and all facilities worked! The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Lovely to hear that you had a really enjoyable stay and we will pass your thoughts on to Marie and Lorraine. Hope to see you again. More

Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked in for 3 nights, but left after one. The room was terrible (toilet didn't flush, musty smells). The shower barely worked, light bulbs were not functional. The hotel is a maze of hallways and stairs. The breakfast was sub-par and the price was way too high for the value received.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We're sorry you did not find your stay enjoyable at the Swan and will look at the areas you mention to see where we can improve things for our guests. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Swan Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Alton

52 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Alton with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan Hotel Alton near Farnham and Basingstoke, is located in the Hampshire town of Alton with easy access via the A31 making it an ideal base if visiting Farnham, Aldershot, Winchester, Basingstoke. The Swan Hotel dates back to the 16th century and was a main stage on the old London-Southampton coaching route, and the Swan Hotel has been catering handsomely to passing traffic since the 16th century. Tradition has it that the poet Edmund Spenser, Sir Francis Drake, Queen Elizabeth I and the Earl of Essex all broke their journeys here. Another famous guest was Lord Nelson. Our guests include many people of sense and sensibility - that is to say, devotees of Jane Austen, who make their pilgrimage to her cottage in the Chawton, where Sense and Sensibility and Pride and Prejudice, were both written, during their stay with us. The cottage now is a popular tourist attraction and museum dedicated to Jane's life and work. Today the Swan Hotel is popular with locals and travellers alike and along with the new refurbishment is an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
37

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Swan Hotel and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer