We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Swan Hotel

High Street, Alton GU34 1AT, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Swan Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    106
    65
    47
    21
See reviews for
48
123
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (302)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (93)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (69)
All months
York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently had to travel a long distance for a family funeral and chose The Swan for its convenient location and its Trip Advisor reviews. Arriving quite early, (obviously we didn't want to be late and the M25 motorway can turn into a carpark unpredictably), we asked if we could leave our stuff with them but, in the circumstances the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We booked this hotel for a one night stay for the start of our holidays and were pleasantly surprised. We were travelling with our two small children and were given a very spacious, quiet room with more than enough room for our bed, a sofa bed and a cot bed. All had a comfy night sleep. The staff were also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Woodbridge
Level Contributor
98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I must admit booked this hotel in trepidation, bearing in mind the mixed reviews. However, we were very pleasantly surprised with our stay. Needed a place for the night, as was visiting the Mid Hants heritage railway(Watercress Line). The Swan dates from 1777, being an old coaching inn. It is a 3* Inn, according to the AA rating. The car... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to write and for visiting Alton and staying with us at the Swan. Great to know you had a peaceful nights sleep. Toby More 

Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Swan on a Sunday night, and even though it was quite quiet, the manager had no hesitation in making the effort to make us feel welcome. Room was very spacious, clean and tidy amd the bed was massive. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Very kind of you to review your thoughts and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Toby More 

Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel has lovely large rooms with a bit of character. Very comfortable bed. We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. Good breakfast and excellent evening meal. Interesting market town with Farmers market on Saturday and pubs with live music. Museum is worth a look too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swan_Alton, General Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Linda, Thanks very much for your kind thoughts. We're glad to enjoyed your time in Alton. Toby More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is ok but not very well run. I chose to stay there because it marked gluten free food on the menu. Unfortunately it was inaccurate and I was very ill for five days after eating there. Generally the staff lacked professionalism and the hotel wasn't well run. The hotel was noisy and lacked amenities.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, I'm sorry to hear that you have been ill and that you did not enjoy your stay. Could I ask you to contact us directly to let us know which item on our menu you ate that is listed as Gluten free? Our company has stringent guidelines on allergy control and I'll gladly make contact with our menu development... More 

Travelers are raving about these Alton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room was nice and roomy with comfy beds, food nice, lovely surroundings but avoid HARRIET who served breakfast, she is rude and vile and will ruin your stay, request one of the other lovely members of staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swan_Alton, Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear of the difficulty you encountered with one of the team here. Please be assured that actions have been taken to ensure that there is an improvement. Toby More 

Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my hubby had a wonderful lunch but the only downside is that when leaving the car park we scratched a black Lamborghini when backing out as the spaces between cars are quite tight so we informed the swan and they said it had nothing to do with The car park but a gentleman outside in the smoking area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review and on behalf of the Swan I hope that your message reaches the person in question, Kind regards More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, we had a great family room with a separate bedroom for the children(which had it's own TV!) and a seating area too. There was plenty of space for us all. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice. Unfortunately one of my children was unwell but the receptionist and housekeeping staff were very understanding. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, as always I will pass on your feedback to our hotel manager, Kind regards More 

Hampshire England UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2015

We dropped in on a Saturday lunchtime. The atmosphere was definitely 'buzzy' - there was a wedding about to take place upstairs and the restaurant was busy with shoppers, sightseers and family groups. However, finding a table in the bar area (comfortable squashy sofas) was no problem and when, having perused the menu, we decided to head for the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
emma h, Guest Relations Manager at Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your great recommendation and feedback we will share this with the team at the hotel as recognition for them, Kind regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

56 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Queens at Selborne
The Queens at Selborne
#1 of 1 in Selborne
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 stars 196 reviews
9.1 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#3 of 5 in Hook
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Grosvenor
The Grosvenor
#2 of 2 in Stockbridge
3.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay