We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Market Hotel

3 The Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Market Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Market Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

40 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    2
    2
    6
    2
See reviews for
6
5
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My friend and I stayed over night at this hotel, I can see they are trying to go for the 'vintage' look but it's shabby rather than shabby chic, tea & coffee facilities in the room, no sugar though. can't pull the bathroom blind down so turn the bathroom light on and you are in full view of the properties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

All of the bar staff in the Market Hotel are great - always friendly and accommodating whether I go in on my own, with friends or even just with my dog. I have to single out Rich for particular praise as nothing is too much trouble for him - finding a corner for us when he's busy, getting the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

After reading the recent reviews i was wondering if they had stayed and eaten in the same place as me. I found the management to be extremely pleasant and never had any problems at all, in fact from the room to the service and food things could not have been better. I would recommend the market hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I left a review of this hotel back in September which I am willing to stand by 100%. This is a lovely hotel, staff are very pleasant and friendly, food is really nice and portions are plentiful, rooms are clean/comfortable but noise from the bar and street can be quite noisy at times. However I feel like I have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Table double booked, had to wait 45 minutes for a cold dinner. Only 3 pudding choices and apple pie sold out. After we had paid bill we were told there was Apple crumble. By then had our coats on and went home for M&S cream cakes. It was not even busy so cannot understand the poor service. Will not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thanks for your review, I'm sorry to read we 'ruined your Mothers day'. Firstly your table was not double booked, it had been used prior to your arrival as we had been so busy and you waited 5 minutes to be seated, so in fact not a double booking at all! With all our food cooked freshly, we... More 

Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I Stayed here in December 2014 as I was away on business and I can honestly say this was one of the nicest experiences I have ever had staying in a hotel. I had some lovely food and afterwards stayed up chatting to staff who made my stay so welcome and friendly I didnt want to go to bed!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We hired half of the pub for a leaving do and were not dissapointed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the pub itself has a fantastic look with great decor. A great evening at a great venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thanks for your review. It was a great evening and my staff thoroughly enjoyed working your function. Good luck with your travels! The Market Hotel More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I came across the Market Hotel in Alton when searching online for somewhere to stay while on business in the area. What drew me to it initally was the location and the website which described a small quirky individual place to stay. I was so pleased by what I discovered when I got there. The whole place is lovely, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jacqui, Thanks for your lovely review. Its always reassuring when someone appreciates the quirky interior and ambience we have tried to try create, away from your 'same old' hotel rooms and bar. We are proud of how our hotel looks and feels and are glad you found the staff helpful and breakfast plentiful. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

What a beautiful, quirky and friendly hotel. Great retro decor through the hotel and into the bedrooms. Everyone was incredibly helpful and there were some really nice touches to our stay -on retrun from a very lovely day attending a friends wedding the hotel had left 'late night snacks' in case we were hungry. Very attentive and friendly service throughout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I met friends here for breakfast which was good decent Full English, the bar areas and function rooms are lovely and cosy. I love the decor of the place and it's got a fantastic atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It's a busy place with lots of events on, will be returning in the evenings soon I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay