We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Market Hotel

3 The Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Market Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Market Hotel
Rate this Hotel

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    2
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
6
6
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (11)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (12)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Table double booked, had to wait 45 minutes for a cold dinner. Only 3 pudding choices and apple pie sold out. After we had paid bill we were told there was Apple crumble. By then had our coats on and went home for M&S cream cakes. It was not even busy so cannot understand the poor service. Will not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thanks for your review, I'm sorry to read we 'ruined your Mothers day'. Firstly your table was not double booked, it had been used prior to your arrival as we had been so busy and you waited 5 minutes to be seated, so in fact not a double booking at all! With all our food cooked freshly, we... More 

Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I Stayed here in December 2014 as I was away on business and I can honestly say this was one of the nicest experiences I have ever had staying in a hotel. I had some lovely food and afterwards stayed up chatting to staff who made my stay so welcome and friendly I didnt want to go to bed!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We hired half of the pub for a leaving do and were not dissapointed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the pub itself has a fantastic look with great decor. A great evening at a great venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thanks for your review. It was a great evening and my staff thoroughly enjoyed working your function. Good luck with your travels! The Market Hotel More 

2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

I came across the Market Hotel in Alton when searching online for somewhere to stay while on business in the area. What drew me to it initally was the location and the website which described a small quirky individual place to stay. I was so pleased by what I discovered when I got there. The whole place is lovely, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jacqui, Thanks for your lovely review. Its always reassuring when someone appreciates the quirky interior and ambience we have tried to try create, away from your 'same old' hotel rooms and bar. We are proud of how our hotel looks and feels and are glad you found the staff helpful and breakfast plentiful. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

What a beautiful, quirky and friendly hotel. Great retro decor through the hotel and into the bedrooms. Everyone was incredibly helpful and there were some really nice touches to our stay -on retrun from a very lovely day attending a friends wedding the hotel had left 'late night snacks' in case we were hungry. Very attentive and friendly service throughout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

We had our wedding reception in the 1902 room, the food, staff and service was amazing. The management planned everything with me to make sure our day ran smoothly, it ran that smoothly our day was absolutely perfect with no hiccups at all. They catered for children and also the fussy adult that was in our party, nothing was problem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Drayton
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

As a business owner - it takes a lot to inspire me to write about a particular establishment as I am critical of service, value for money and In particular...quality. We dropped by for a meal on Steak night Wednesday and have to say was superb. Reminded me of days of old when you could get a quality steak, cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

I met friends here for breakfast which was good decent Full English, the bar areas and function rooms are lovely and cosy. I love the decor of the place and it's got a fantastic atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It's a busy place with lots of events on, will be returning in the evenings soon I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014 via mobile

The staff were delightful and welcoming at all times. Breakfast could definitely be improved and for £100 a night, it's fair to expect a real duvet. The noise probably isn't a problem mid week. It stops at approx 1am on a Sat but if you're tired anyway, you might not notice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. The company paid for the room so I can't complain about the price, although it was about £10/15 over priced in my opinion. This is a lovely spot, great interior with lots of atmosphere. The small bar and quirky furniture makes you feel warm and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question