We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Market Hotel

3 The Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Market Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Market Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

43 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    28
    3
    3
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
7
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (15)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (10)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This 'hotel' is noisy, dilapidated and run down. The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There were no bedside lamps, only 1 bulb in a 6 lamp central light, extremely noisy, the bathroom blind was not working, not very clean, no parking apart from public car park where you have to put a ticket on the car by 9am.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Julia, Firstly I can only apologise for you not enjoying your stay with us at The Market Hotel. To be described as 'the worst hotel I've ever stayed in' I feel is a very harsh review and one which I feel is very damning towards my business. Our Hotel is an 18th Century Coaching Inn, with the bar and restaurant... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is quite big so getting lost is easy, when I was there, a wedding was taking place, so entertainment was loud but the environment was warm and friendly. It's literally bang smack in the middle of town, with ATM's either side so you've got plenty of options for money and the Co-op opposite. Haven't stayed over night, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Both myself and partner were very sceptical about stay here as we normally go for larger hotels, who are used to accommodating a lot of people everyday, however we couldn't fault. The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and tidy. The only down fall was that in the morning of our stay there was no hot water coming from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

My friend and I stayed over night at this hotel, I can see they are trying to go for the 'vintage' look but it's shabby rather than shabby chic, tea & coffee facilities in the room, no sugar though. can't pull the bathroom blind down so turn the bathroom light on and you are in full view of the properties... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015

All of the bar staff in the Market Hotel are great - always friendly and accommodating whether I go in on my own, with friends or even just with my dog. I have to single out Rich for particular praise as nothing is too much trouble for him - finding a corner for us when he's busy, getting the next... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

After reading the recent reviews i was wondering if they had stayed and eaten in the same place as me. I found the management to be extremely pleasant and never had any problems at all, in fact from the room to the service and food things could not have been better. I would recommend the market hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2015

I left a review of this hotel back in September which I am willing to stand by 100%. This is a lovely hotel, staff are very pleasant and friendly, food is really nice and portions are plentiful, rooms are clean/comfortable but noise from the bar and street can be quite noisy at times. However I feel like I have to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Table double booked, had to wait 45 minutes for a cold dinner. Only 3 pudding choices and apple pie sold out. After we had paid bill we were told there was Apple crumble. By then had our coats on and went home for M&S cream cakes. It was not even busy so cannot understand the poor service. Will not be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Sue, Thanks for your review, I'm sorry to read we 'ruined your Mothers day'. Firstly your table was not double booked, it had been used prior to your arrival as we had been so busy and you waited 5 minutes to be seated, so in fact not a double booking at all! With all our food cooked freshly, we... More 

Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

I Stayed here in December 2014 as I was away on business and I can honestly say this was one of the nicest experiences I have ever had staying in a hotel. I had some lovely food and afterwards stayed up chatting to staff who made my stay so welcome and friendly I didnt want to go to bed!! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

We hired half of the pub for a leaving do and were not dissapointed. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the pub itself has a fantastic look with great decor. A great evening at a great venue.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Graham, Thanks for your review. It was a great evening and my staff thoroughly enjoyed working your function. Good luck with your travels! The Market Hotel More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
0.1 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 stars 234 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Queens at Selborne
The Queens at Selborne
#1 of 1 in Selborne
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
8.1 mi away
Audleys Wood
Audleys Wood
#3 of 12 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Angel a Citylodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay