We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Alton B&Bs / inns

The Market Hotel

3 The Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Market Hotel to your Saves list
The Market Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
78%
Ranked #6 of 14 Alton B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
TBolton2014 Petersfield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
5
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I met friends here for breakfast which was good decent Full English, the bar areas and function rooms are lovely and cosy. I love the decor of the place and it's got a fantastic atmosphere. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. It's a busy place with lots of events on, will be returning in the evenings soon I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff were delightful and welcoming at all times. Breakfast could definitely be improved and for £100 a night, it's fair to expect a real duvet. The noise probably isn't a problem mid week. It stops at approx 1am on a Sat but if you're tired anyway, you might not notice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on business. The company paid for the room so I can't complain about the price, although it was about £10/15 over priced in my opinion. This is a lovely spot, great interior with lots of atmosphere. The small bar and quirky furniture makes you feel warm and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liphook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just wanted to say what a fab location, great ambience, great staff and great food for our regular weekly meeting of the local Alton business networking organisation! Did not sample the rooms as not staying in the hotel but the rest of the location is excellent so I'm sure the rooms are as well! Steve S

Was this review helpful? Yes
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'm a member of a local group of business people who use The Market Hotel for early morning breakfast meetings. We recently relocated our meeting away from a another hotel in Alton due to poor service. This was altogether a better experience, service was great and the food was good. All leading to a very enthusiastic meeting and a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the market hotel in Alton I had a great weekend and a fantastic stay .the weather could not have been better .the hotel itself was clean and tidy and the service was 2nd to none. the change of management has done it justice and they have done... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Verwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked this hotel some months in advance, based mainly on TripAdvisor ratings. 20 of the 26 reviews presently showing rate it as excellent, the other 6 being made by visitors since I booked. I endorse their findings and low ratings. What has gone wrong? I called in on the morning of our stay to drop off our bags and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at The Market Hotel. We understand that some guests will not like our decor or functionality of our rooms but let me just clarify a few points. The so called 'useless area' of the room as you put it is often used by guests as an area to store... More

Alton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently celebrated my 40th birthday here. It was absolutely fabulous. We went in early and put up all our own decorations which was what we wanted and had the freedom to do just as we pleased. They then put on a barbecue as requested followed by a band in the perfect function room at the back! I could not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel wants you to pay upfront before going to your room and I know why! My room was a fair size but the furnishings were very poor. An old table covered in ring marks from glasses, a chipboard wardrobe, one bedside table for a six foot bed, no headboard. The springs poked through the mattress so much I had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay at The Market Hotel. We have and always will ask guests to pay for their stay on arrival. This is our normal policy due to us having no reception facilities and stops guests leaving in the morning without paying, which has happened before. The decor of the rooms is similar... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Nice old pub with friendly young staff. They couldn't find our booking for ages, or confirm that we'd paid a deposit, but eventually were given a small, basic room overlooking the Market Square. Nicely decorated but rather cramped, and the beds were uncomfortable. Bathroom was clean apart from the shower door, and there were no towels, these were later brought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jamie W, Owner at The Market Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay with us was not as pleasant as you would have hoped. Apologies for the confusion and delay in checking you in, this was an administrative error on our part. I am surprised you found the room cramped as no one has commented on this before. The room does hold a King size bed, as all... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Market Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Market Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Market Hotel

Address: 3 The Market Square, Alton GU34 1HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Market Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Alton with
any amenities