We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Alton B&Bs / inns

The Angel a Citylodge Hotel

4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Gosport Road, Alton GU34 3NN, England
Hotel amenities
The Angel a Citylodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Angel a Citylodge Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #7 of 14 Alton B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
AndrewandAngelaT Staffordshire
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    37
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
47
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (117)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (23)
All months
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good TV with plenty of channels, mobile works (02) free wifi. Room was small especially bathroom, did find it awkward with toilet next to the bath/shower, made it difficult getting in and out. People with even minor problems with movement would find this a big problem. I don't understand why the toilet is next to the bath, why not put... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Selsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I called in just to get a leaflet, thinking I might stay at some point in the future. However, I found The Angel so welcoming and inviting that I immediately booked a room for that night. My room was quiet, warm, comfortable, well-equipped and spotlessly clean. The bar, the lounge and the restaurant were all inviting and comfortable, with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here from March 14 to sept 14 with work. Staff great did everything to help me out. It's a little in middle of know here but I loved it. Well stocked bar, food was average cavery good valve for money some times good sometimes not. Was that impressed with place got a room for other half and parents one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ideal hotel for our short mini break away. Clean and tidy with friendly staff who we got to know well on our last evening and went out of their way to help us, even kindly offering to ferry my wife and I too and from a local pub when we could not get a taxi. Thanks very much for that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Herts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here two nights, the rooms were clean and reasonable for the price. We required an early breakfast due to partaking in the Winchester Tough Mudder event. Breakfast is served from 8-10am however the staff were very accommodating and provided a continental breakfast and containers in which we could take food away in at 6am, even filling a large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn F, Manager at The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time and sharing your impression with us and many other travellers. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff always try their upmost to accommodate our guests above and beyond what is expected and I'm very pleased to hear that this was the case with your... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a hotel for me and my family to stay a couple nights, as we had a family function in the area. As soon as I stepped into the Angel city lodge, i was greeted by very friendly and attentive staff. I was very satisfied by the quality and price of the food. We found the carvery... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn F, Manager at The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind review and your positive comments about our team members and our hotel. As we put a lot of effort in training to ensuring a warm and personalised service towards our guests, it is a great joy for us to see that our efforts were appreciated so much. Rest assured, that it... More

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As we were heading in that direction, my partner and I decided to make a last minute decision to stop here. It ended up being a good decision. We enjoyed a very nice meal and the staff were extremely helpful. The room was ideal and the service was second to none. I would definitely stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn F, Manager at The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for your kind words and for highlighting our customer service and our food. We spend a lot of time on special trainings to optimise that personal service we try to provide. Therefore, it is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your time with us and our team. Thank you for staying with us... More

Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for a Sunday lunch last weekend and could not get in at our favourite restaurant as we failed to book a table. To be fair it was after 2pm when we arrived at the Angel. We chose a table and went to purchase the carvery. The choice of meats were turkey, beef & Gammon. The meats and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn F, Manager at The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I apologise for your experience, our staff always endeavour to ensure good quality and service for all our guests and I am sorry that you had a bad experience. I can assure you our produce is fresh, the Yorkshire puddings and potatoes are made from fresh... More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

We are local and we have never used the hotel. However, until recently we had visited once in 1994 however, we thought we would give it a try as bored with our regular haunts. What a surprise, lovely large dining area(s) great for families or for couples wanting a cosy little table, lots of nooks and crannies. The Cavery is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lynn F, Manager at The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your kind words and the time you took to share them with us. It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Rest assured, that we will take your comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure a personal service and warm welcome for your next visit. Be informed, that... More

Sale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014 via mobile

Well...it's 5.31am and I'm currently lying in the most uncomfortable broken mattress in the universe. Can't sleep so figured I'd write a review about it. Almost fallen off the bed 3 times as the springs are broken. Very noisy and creaky. Yet to find out what management say about it when I tell them. My friend is sock on next... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lynn F, Manager at The Angel a Citylodge Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. We have always believed that travelling from a long distance is a stressful endeavour, and if we are able to provide customer service that would lessen some of that stress, then we are on the right track. Claire (and all of our staff), believe in providing that personalised service, and I agree with... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Angel a Citylodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel a Citylodge Hotel

Address: Gosport Road, Alton GU34 3NN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Angel a Citylodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Angel a Citylodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

8 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay