We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Berkeley hotels

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    71
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
20
124
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff helpful, food good.'Gala' dinner consisted of normal meal with a small dish of tinned fruit served between soup and main.Entertainment every night of a good standard. Room comfortable and clean. Breakfast basic, toast cold every morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response, I would like to point out that we do not serve 'tinned fruit', what you had for your interim course was fresh pineapple and fresh melon. As with the previous review regarding the toast I would ask any guest to bring it to the attention of the waiting staff who will happily provide you with... More

west yorkshire uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went to this hotel as a five day break but took our car. The hotel is in the middle of nowhee along side a busy road, but this was no problem for us. The exterior of the hotel in not very appealing but there is a large car park. The check in was swift and the hotel staff are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are in the process of re-furbishing parts of the hotel but because we are busy all year round the corridors do get 'a lot of wear and tear'. I would ask any guest staying here to let the staff know if there is anything they are not happy with ie cold toast, it is... More

Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A nice hotel. Food lovely, though I don't know why the toast was stone cold every morning. It's almost impossible to digest. The gala dinner was a let down, an extra course was added, which was melon and pineapple ( I only got the core of the pineapple) in a tiny dish. Still the staff were pleasant. Will not be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am disappointed to read after your comments that it was a 'nice hotel, lovely food and pleasant staff' that you will not be returning. Melanie Mann General Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Being a regular Bay and Coast and Country client, I have yet to be disappointed with any of their establishments, which seem to be improving their standards at a number of the locations that we have visited over these past years. We booked in for a long weekend self drive break and were allocated a well appointed room upon arrival.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review, as you are regular traveller with Bay/Coast & Country Hotels it is good that you have noticed the improvements within the company, we are working very hard to give the best service we can and its been a difficult few years due to the reccession, not everyone appreciates what we have achieved but I... More

Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights on a weekend break deal, but due to unforeseen circumstances were unable to get there until after the restaurant had closed at 8pm on the first night, so were not able to have our proper meal. However, having contacted the reception and explained that we would be late, they arranged to plate up two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will pass on your comments to Megan, Sam and the other staff for looking after you on your arrival and during your stay. If you read pervious reviews some guests comment that they would like to be served quicker so as you can imagine it is quite difficult to please everyone but we do... More

co.durham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went to this hotel with national coach travel. I must say before I begin the driver Dave was great top marks to him. Well the hotel was in the middle of now where. Checked in o k staff fine. Room clean bed terrible bumpy springs every time you turned over. The meals were like a school canteen, not a lot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your comments I will be looking into the issue with the drinks on Saturday evening but it may be what you were asking for was considered to be two separate drinks. As per the previous review from the same tour, the room information does state that any towell change requests should be left in the... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Booked as part of a national coach holiday. hotel is in the middle of nowhere. next to a trunk road and railway, so plenty of noise. check in was quick and easy. restaurant food was only moderate, given child size portions of main meal and veg on side.only limited choice. no buffet. breakfast was much the same, only allowed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your comments, I am sorry you didnt enjoy your holiday, most guests say they are not affected by any noise either from the road or trains but I am afraid it does depend what noise levels you are used to. We provide a large diner menu with four choices of main course and three each... More

Hull, Canada
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

we have just returned from a four night break we had a lovely time from entering into reception we were met with friendly staff took straight to our rooms our friends room had been decorated ours needed new wallpaper but this did not mar our stay on the first night we were shown to our table and the meal was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review I rather like the heading 'wonderful hotel' we are due to start re-decorating some bedrooms very soon so hopefully next time you return it will be lovely, fresh and new. Look forward to seeing you again. Melanie Mann General Manager More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just had a good week at the Bay Prince of Wales. Staff all efficient and friendly, from reception to restaurant/bar to house keeping. Rooms are a reasonable size and clean. Food was ok for the price we paid. Entertainment was good helped along by 4 free drinks each per night. It is isolated so no where else to go, but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send in your review, we look forward to your return. Melanie Mann General Manager More

Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked our first coach holiday through Shearings and picked this trip partly due to the Cotswold area but also by other reviews on Tripadvisor. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after by friendly, courteous and efficient staff. The food was excellent and although some people have commented on the small portions, there... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, its great that you appreciate all our efforts to give you a good holiday which as you say was an 'amazing value for money break'. I will pass on your praise to all involved and hope that you will carry on recommending us to future guests. Melanie Mann General Manager More

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirts of the historic town of Berkeley, on the edge of the Cotswolds, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a former public house built 150 years ago. Full of character and maintaining some original features, this hotel is south of Gloucester and just a short drive to the small local towns of Dursley and Stroud. The hotel has a pleasant restaurant opening onto pretty gardens and a patio area. The Prince’s Bar and reception were recently refurbished creating a warm and welcoming environment. You can enjoy the extensive bar menu at lunchtimes and evenings as well as wonderful local ales. The Prince of Wales Hotel is the perfect base for exploring the Cotswolds and the many other attractions that this part of the country has to offer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bay Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list