We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
STAY EXTRA NIGHT FOR £10
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    93
    46
    15
    4
See reviews for
24
164
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (263)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

We stayed for 4 nights, travelling by car. We were very impressed by the courtesy and friendliness of the staff, helping to make a happy atmosphere. The food was excellent with plenty of choice. The young waiting staff worked very hard and were keen to please. Our room was clean and comfortable. This was our third visit and it has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went on a special Party Weekend offer for 3 nights BB and EM and were super-impressed. The staff were excellent, the food was plentiful with good choices, the room was clean and well-maintained - plenty of tea and coffee - the 3 nights of evening entertainment were excellent standard and the free drinks on Saturday night were a bonus.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We have been on many Shearings holidays but this one was exceptional. Our room (15) was very comfortable and the bathroom excellent. The food was great with lots of choice and the staff very helpful. We had excursions every day and our driver, Alan, was very knowledgable. We will certainly be returning to this hotel in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently returned from a weekend break from this pleasant and, generally well appointed hotel. Situated on A38, it was easy to find and had ample parking (a car was essential as there isn't much in the locality). First plaudits go to the staff, without exception fiendly and welcoming with nothing being too much trouble in providing assistance or sorting out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry that you had a couple of issues while you were here but pleased that we were able to rectify them quickly and that they did not prevent you from enjoying your stay. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife paid for a weekend break to The POW Berkeley, for our 30th wedding anniversary celebration. We had a fantastic time, the meals were superb, plenty of choice and served swiftly and hot! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you chose to spend your 30th Wedding Anniversary with us here at The Prince of Wales Hotel and even more pleased to read you had a fantastic time. Thank you for sending in your review it is much appreciated. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a a very relaxing break from this lovely hotel. The staff were very helpful and welcoming and very efficient. Our room was very basic, the wardrobe was very small for two people but for the price that we paid for the break, it was perfect. I found the bed very comfortable and everywhere was very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

A lovely review, thankyou. I am so glad you came and had a good time and were not put off by the recent review regarding mobility issues, I felt is was really important to give as much information as possible when I responded because I was concerned that without the correct information it would prevent a lot of people who... More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We drove up from kent approx 3 hrs and found the hotel quite easily on the A38. Arrived at midday, receptionist very welcoming and informed us our room was ready even this early. decided to have a drink and some lunch in the very welcoming bar, lovely open fire to sit around. Checked out our room,nice patio room, a reasonable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your lovely comments, I hope your wife had a lovely birthday and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was at first shocked at the high standard of facilities at this hotel, stunned at the unrivalled level of service by Melanie and her dedicated team, and amazed at the value for money offered by Shearings. Perhaps Shearings should receive a subsidy from the Government to keep us all away from the NHS! Believe me, it would be money... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, great to see a bit of humour along with such wonderful praise for our little hotel, not sure what 'his royal highness' would think but it certainly gave me a chuckle and as you are such a 'nice, pleasant traveller' you are welcome here anytime!! Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

This was our very first coach holiday chosen for the price and on the basis of the reviews for the hotel, and we were not disappointed. The meals were more than adequate and set in a pleasing restaurant served by staff clearly dedicated to making your stay special. Our driver Alan took us on three trips, all included, with just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and thank you for chosing us for your first experience of coach holidays, hopefully you will have many more to come!! I will pass your praise on to all concerned as its so nice to be appreciated. Very pleased you mentioned the entertainment, it is very good and such a shame if not many... More 

maltby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Never been to this area before, but thoroughly enjoyed all the excursions,and the break. Hotel and staff very good, must mention Alan the driver without whom this trip would have been less entertaining because his knowledge of the area is second to none.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in your review, I am so glad you enjoyed your break, especially the excursions, we work very hard to ensure that the trips are suitable and at this time of year we can never tell what the weather is going to be like. I know that like the staff, Alan also reads the reviews so its... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Prince of Wales Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Address: Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Prince of Wales Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay