We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £99
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
Why TripAdvisor?
  • Lowest prices from 200+ sites
  • 1.5 million hotels and accommodations
  • 225 million reviews and opinions
Save
You added Bay Prince of Wales Hotel to your Saves list

At a glance

77%
Positive reviews?

BROWSE NEARBY

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Your filters are still active.
There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
Sponsored by:
Check In Check Out
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Add Photo Write a Review

    290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

    Your overall rating of this property
    Roll over, then click to rate
      Click to rate
    Traveler rating
      119
      103
      48
      16
      4
    See reviews for
    28
    181
    5
    9
    Rating summary
    • Sleep Quality
      4 of 5 stars
    • Location
      3.5 of 5 stars
    • Rooms
      4 of 5 stars
    • Service
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Value
      4.5 of 5 stars
    • Cleanliness
      4 of 5 stars
    Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
    Date | Rating
    • English first
    • Any
    English first
    • All months
      (290)
    • Mar-May only
      (81)
    • Jun-Aug only
      (76)
    • Sep-Nov only
      (66)
    • Dec-Feb only
      (67)
    All months
    Banbury, United Kingdom
    1 review
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

    My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend at the Prince of wales hotel to celebrate our fifty first wedding anniversary ..This was our third holiday at the hotel and hope to go back again this year.We have never had a problem with noise from the trains or traffic.The staff are very friendly and always willing to... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    York, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    85 reviews
    18 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

    Had a Mon to Fri self drive here,its a bay hotel within the shearing group. Firstly its on a busy main road at the front & a train main line at the back,so noise is an issue. There is a big car park so parking not a problem. I looked on here before going to see what other travellers thought... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review, I am sorry you didnt appear to enjoy your stay here, with regards to the noise leve it really does depend on what you are used to, unfortunately the A38 was busier than normal last week due to the M5 southbound being closed for resurfacing work therefore causing more traffic than usual driving past the... More 

    wilts
    Level Contributor
    25 reviews
    11 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
    3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

    You get what you pay for! Its a fairly cheap break away. The hotel was clean if a bit Spartan and dimly lit. Needs a facelift here and there. It had a great car park but its proximity to the busy A38 and the mainline railway Bristol to Birmingham with a whistle board right outside made for a noisy intrusion... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review although I am very disappointed with your words, I try to look at positives in all reviews but I am finding it very difficult after reading your words 'some of the staff could not have cared less' all of my staff are hardworking dedicated young people who often deal with far more unpleasantries than they... More 

    London, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

    This Hotel is just outside of the Cotswolds so was a little surprised as we thought that it would be right into the heart so didn't actually see any pretty little villages. The Hotel is rather tired and in need of modernising as is with most Bay Hotels that we have been to!!! We visited Gloucester Quays and had a... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for sending in a review although I do rather take umbrage at some of your comments regarding location. As a Gloucestershire person born and bred I must correct your statement that we are situated 'just outside' of the Cotswolds. The 'Cotswolds' is an area which contains the Cotswold Hills which stretch from Bath up to Warwickshire and across... More 

    York, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    21 reviews
    9 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    We stayed here on a Shearings tour of the Cotswolds and The Forest of Dean. The hotel is small and comfortable and we found it very relaxing.There is a delightful garden with trees and shrubs. The hotel is spotless throughout and we had a spacious room. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent, with a... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I am pleased you had a 'great' time and enjoyed every aspect of your holiday. I will pass on your praise to all the staff, it so nice to get such a good all round review and we appreciate you taking the time to send it in. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

    Bicester, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    17 reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

    From the time we booked in we were looked after by warm friendly staff who were very helpful and answered any request we had promptly and efficiently. Our room was on the ground floor with patio window opening onto a patio with table and chairs and a large bed and well furnished.Meals were adequate and you could ask for more... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your kind review, We appreciate the sentence 'warm friendly staff'' as we feel it is very important factor within the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend travelling around the beautiful Gloucestershire countryside and look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

    Workington, Cumbria
    Level Contributor
    42 reviews
    15 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
    5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Good base to travel around the area, good value through Bay hotels. Breakfast and evening meal deals.Room was adequate, and hotel bit dated but no issues. Entertainment each night, a singer, bingo so evenings pleasant in the hotel. Age range is for the older end as with most Shearings hotels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes 1
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review I am pleased that you rate the hotel as 'good value' and enjoyed your time at the hotel. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

    Dursley
    1 review
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
    2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I've been to the Prince Of Wales a few times now. It is very nicely decorated and has a lovely ambiance. There carvery is of very high quality at a reasonable price. We thought it would be the ideal place to go for a low key birthday celebration for a friend of ours who has been poorly and didn't want... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 5
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am very disappointed that there was any confusion and since reading this review I have spoken to all the staff involved to ensure this does not happen again. We do in fact have a 'house' rule that we only serve Carvery meals on Sunday lunchtimes as the kitchens are usually very... More 

    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    7 reviews
    4 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    We had a Monday to Friday break at this hotel. It's a Lovely hotel, clean and airy public rooms, beautiful grounds to sit and admire, our room was clean and at the rear of the hotel. The meals were very nice, always hot and tasty but goodness me, the wait was the longest we have ever waited for a meal... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes 2
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your break and I will pass on your praise to all the staff concerned including Alan our lovely driver. I take on board you comments regarding the restaurant but I must point out there are company guidelines regarding staffing and at no time have we been understaffed. I personally like... More 

    Nottingham, United Kingdom
    Level Contributor
    15 reviews
    13 hotel reviews
    common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
    4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

    We arrived before 3 and the room was not ready, but check in sorted the receptionist doubled as bar person and served up drinks and later as IT person as she helped us connect the free wi fi. Our standard room was adequate and had a good view from the window but we soon realised we needed to keep the... More 

    Was this review helpful? Yes
    pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

    Thank you for your review, check in is officially at 3pm but as always if the rooms are ready before we are happy for guests to check in, if not there is always the option of a visit to the bar or lovely gardens whilst you wait. I am pleased to see you noticed the multi-functioning receptionist, as with all... More 

    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    43 photos of this hotel

    Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

    Viewed
    All traveler photos (26)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (3)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (12)
    Viewed
    Dining (2)
    Viewed
    Bathroom (2)
    Viewed
    Pool/beach area (1)
    Viewed
    View from room (1)
    Viewed
    Other (5)

    Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

    Viewed
    All management photos (17)
    Viewed
    Dining (3)
    Viewed
    Hotel & grounds (11)
    Viewed
    Room/suite (1)
    Viewed
    Other (2)
    Check In Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Show Prices
    Hotels you might also like...
    Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
    5.0 mi away
    Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
    4.3 mi away
    BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
    21.4 mi away
    The Lansdown Grove Hotel
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    2.4 mi away
    Days Inn Michaelwood M5
    Days Inn Michaelwood M5
    #1 of 1 in Lower Wick
    4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
    5.9 mi away
    Stonehouse Court
    Stonehouse Court
    #2 of 2 in Stonehouse
    3.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
    22.2 mi away
    Ellenborough Park
    Ellenborough Park
    #3 of 19 in Cheltenham
    4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Show Prices
    Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

    Amenities

    Enter dates for best prices
    Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
    Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
    Price Your Stay