We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Prince of Wales Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Berkeley Rd, Berkeley GL13 9HD, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £109
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Bay Prince of Wales Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

291 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    119
    104
    48
    16
    4
See reviews for
29
181
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (81)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We came here as it is near my in laws for a family meal out. There is plenty of car parking. The eating areas were comfortable and clean. The menu has a good range of choice, from curry to burger (including vegetarian burger). We were served by a very pleasant lady who was happy to deal with our requests. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Banbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from a long weekend at the Prince of wales hotel to celebrate our fifty first wedding anniversary ..This was our third holiday at the hotel and hope to go back again this year.We have never had a problem with noise from the trains or traffic.The staff are very friendly and always willing to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, such a great title and lovely to be greeted with your praise on this drizzly wet August morning!! I will pass it on to all of the team. Its always a pleasure to welcome returning guests and we are so pleased you chose to spend your wedding anniversary with us. We look... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a Mon to Fri self drive here,its a bay hotel within the shearing group. Firstly its on a busy main road at the front & a train main line at the back,so noise is an issue. There is a big car park so parking not a problem. I looked on here before going to see what other travellers thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you didnt appear to enjoy your stay here, with regards to the noise leve it really does depend on what you are used to, unfortunately the A38 was busier than normal last week due to the M5 southbound being closed for resurfacing work therefore causing more traffic than usual driving past the... More 

wilts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

You get what you pay for! Its a fairly cheap break away. The hotel was clean if a bit Spartan and dimly lit. Needs a facelift here and there. It had a great car park but its proximity to the busy A38 and the mainline railway Bristol to Birmingham with a whistle board right outside made for a noisy intrusion... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although I am very disappointed with your words, I try to look at positives in all reviews but I am finding it very difficult after reading your words 'some of the staff could not have cared less' all of my staff are hardworking dedicated young people who often deal with far more unpleasantries than they... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This Hotel is just outside of the Cotswolds so was a little surprised as we thought that it would be right into the heart so didn't actually see any pretty little villages. The Hotel is rather tired and in need of modernising as is with most Bay Hotels that we have been to!!! We visited Gloucester Quays and had a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending in a review although I do rather take umbrage at some of your comments regarding location. As a Gloucestershire person born and bred I must correct your statement that we are situated 'just outside' of the Cotswolds. The 'Cotswolds' is an area which contains the Cotswold Hills which stretch from Bath up to Warwickshire and across... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We stayed here on a Shearings tour of the Cotswolds and The Forest of Dean. The hotel is small and comfortable and we found it very relaxing.There is a delightful garden with trees and shrubs. The hotel is spotless throughout and we had a spacious room. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent, with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I am pleased you had a 'great' time and enjoyed every aspect of your holiday. I will pass on your praise to all the staff, it so nice to get such a good all round review and we appreciate you taking the time to send it in. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2015

From the time we booked in we were looked after by warm friendly staff who were very helpful and answered any request we had promptly and efficiently. Our room was on the ground floor with patio window opening onto a patio with table and chairs and a large bed and well furnished.Meals were adequate and you could ask for more... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, We appreciate the sentence 'warm friendly staff'' as we feel it is very important factor within the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your weekend travelling around the beautiful Gloucestershire countryside and look forward to seeing you again soon. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Workington, Cumbria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Good base to travel around the area, good value through Bay hotels. Breakfast and evening meal deals.Room was adequate, and hotel bit dated but no issues. Entertainment each night, a singer, bingo so evenings pleasant in the hotel. Age range is for the older end as with most Shearings hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review I am pleased that you rate the hotel as 'good value' and enjoyed your time at the hotel. Melanie Mann General Manager More 

Dursley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

I've been to the Prince Of Wales a few times now. It is very nicely decorated and has a lovely ambiance. There carvery is of very high quality at a reasonable price. We thought it would be the ideal place to go for a low key birthday celebration for a friend of ours who has been poorly and didn't want... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I am very disappointed that there was any confusion and since reading this review I have spoken to all the staff involved to ensure this does not happen again. We do in fact have a 'house' rule that we only serve Carvery meals on Sunday lunchtimes as the kitchens are usually very... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2015

We had a Monday to Friday break at this hotel. It's a Lovely hotel, clean and airy public rooms, beautiful grounds to sit and admire, our room was clean and at the rear of the hotel. The meals were very nice, always hot and tasty but goodness me, the wait was the longest we have ever waited for a meal... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
pow33, General Manager at Bay Prince of Wales Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your break and I will pass on your praise to all the staff concerned including Alan our lovely driver. I take on board you comments regarding the restaurant but I must point out there are company guidelines regarding staffing and at no time have we been understaffed. I personally like... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berkeley
5.0 mi away
Tortworth Court Four Pillars Hotel
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Gables Hotel
21.4 mi away
The Lansdown Grove Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
Days Inn Michaelwood M5
#1 of 1 in Lower Wick
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
5.9 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#2 of 2 in Stonehouse
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
19.5 mi away
Cheltenham Park Hotel
Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay