We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Westcliff-on-Sea hotels

Gleneagles Guesthouse

5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Gleneagles Guesthouse to your Saves list
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Priceline.com
71%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
SheilaBEssex_England Essex, England
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    29
    9
    7
    13
See reviews for
10
41
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here one night on the Saturday as we were attending a 40th at the Genting Club casino, which was closeby. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, we had the room at the front with a large bay window, with a wonderful view of the sea. Its so quiet so had a wonderful sleep and the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear SheilaBEssex_England Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us. The Weather did help I am sure. Gleneagles is one of only two Guesthouses/ Hotels in Southend who can serve breakfast to their Guests outside with a view of the Estuary. We endeavour to make this available... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here one night and arrived with push bikes, which the owner kindly allowed us to keep round the back of the guesthouse. The room had a great sea view and the breakfast was lovely. They also assisted with a great cycle destination the following day, which was really appreciated! Would highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Wallis 484 Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your spur of the moment visit to Southend and enjoyed our Cycling Town. We like to help our Guests enjoy all that the area has to offer and obviously in your case we made a good recommendation. We welcome cyclists here at... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My partner and I did not stay here, but stumbled upon the terrace cafe whilst walking our dog having moved to the area recently. I must say that the service, quality of the food and value were all fantastic. A simple but well thought out menu with great service and calm surroundings is just what Southend needs, and I will... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear BenJacks Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your first visit to our Terrace Coffee Shop and we hope to see you again soon. We pride ourselves on using as many fresh ingredients as possible. These are, wherever possible sourced locally. As you are aware we have wonderful... More

Cullen, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night last week and found the guest house excellent in all respects and would certainly recommend it. The breakfast was superb and the owners were very friendly, the room was immaculate and the location of the guest house was great for town centre also having great views over South end pier.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Alan Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your short stay here at Gleneagles. I am glad the Breakfast met your expectations as I know you were looking forward to it having read the reviews. I am also pleased we were able to provide with a little local intelligence to help... More

suffolk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed one night, lovely ! Owners and staff , pleasant, polite, helpful and friendly. Room comfortable, everything you need, and clean. Shower amazing, hot and powerful, ( no shower cap with me, and fixed head, but overcame it lol), Relaxing and good breakfast, plenty to eat if you want to. Amazing view. Excellent welcome tray.Easy check in and out

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear KraftyKaz Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Gleneagles. I am glad you were able to enjoy the shower without the benefit of a shower cap! Many of our rooms have flexible shower heads but we will in future provide shower caps in those rooms with fixed... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having had an excellent stay here in the summer we decided to come back for 3 nights over the Christmas period to visit family in the area. We were not disappointed! The guest house was full and on Christmas morning Garry and Penny provided smoked salmon and scrambled eggs with Bucks Fizz for everyone which was a great start to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Sarah Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us . We are also pleased that you enjoyed our special Christmas day breakfast. We aim to make Christmas morning special for our Guests, as they are often staying with us as their relatives don't have room for... More

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for one night so we could all have a drink on my birthday night out! We had two executive rooms! Very clean, very comfortable, lovely breakfast! Nothing to fault about our stay at all! Gorgeous view out of our window on this bright crisp November morning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear LynnieLondon Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry we did not find out about your birthday until after breakfast. Had we known, we would have put a candle on your Hash Brown, as we do with other Guests. We look forward to seeing you... More

Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Visited Gleneagles for just one overnight stop mid-week. Gary and Penny were perfect hosts. Very welcoming. Fabulous B&B with Free parking. Breakfast to die for! Will definitely visit again one day. Many thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear AngiedSurrey Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast too, which as you may have read before, contains a number of products sourced locally. More

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed one night while on business, The location was nice on the cliff top over looking the sea. The room was very clean and well presented. A reasonable size TV, A comfortable bed. I was not disappointed. I would certainly stay again if I was in the area. Also a very nice Breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Andy R. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay here at Gleneagles. We are also pleased that even though we weren't here our standards of service remained the same. Thank you Hannah. We do hope that your stay was enjoyable through our use of local produce at breakfast and that you were in staying one of our newly refurbished... More

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night while on business in Southend. The hotel was very nice and the owners, Penny and Garry were the perfect hosts. On my arrival I was met by Garry, given room keys, directions to my room and instructions on how to use the shower. I asked about the parking charges on the street and was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this review

Dear Razor59 Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate all feedback especially the nice ones ! We are glad you enjoyed your sta.y We source as much as we can from local or home made produce for our breakfast menu. I am glad our new parking arrangements worked well for you. It has taken some... More

Been to Gleneagles Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleneagles Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Gleneagles Guesthouse Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK
Address: 5 Clifftown Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleneagles is a Grade 2 listed building built during the 1850’s.It operated as a Hotel until 2001 and now operates as a Guest House. Under new ownership Garry and Penny look forward to welcoming you soon.Gleneagles is only 15 minutes from Southend Airport and is situated in Southend’s tranquil conservation area, overlooking the beautiful cliff gardens with panoramic sea views. Over recent years Gleneagles has undergone extensive improvement and many of the mid-Victorian design characteristics have been restored the new owners intend to continue this work The Gleneagles is Visit England 4 star Guest House .We offer:• A warm and friendly welcome • Ensuite to all rooms • TV in all rooms• Tea and coffee facilities • Sea views • A quality breakfast • A peaceful location just steps from seafront and the centre of town • Free wi-fi access• Airport transfers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gleneagles Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gleneagles Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.