We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Westcliff-on-Sea hotels

Westcliff Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 - 20 Westciff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Hotel amenities
Westcliff Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westcliff Hotel to your Saves list
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014
ImpBublinky Ashford, United Kingdom
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    93
    60
    26
    10
See reviews for
28
89
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (243)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (76)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (59)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
There are newer reviews for Westcliff Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Ashford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The wind was blowing a gale outside of this traditional seaside hotel last night but good double glazing kept us safe from wind and rain as Mother Nature splashed the promenade with wave upon wave of churning sea and pebble. Traditional it may be but only inasmuch as that in days gone by, this would undoubtedly have been a traditional... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your detailed review from your recent visit. We will pass your kind comments to all the staff. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene More

Preston, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with some colleagues for a night whilst in Southend on business. I was booked into a small double room on the first floor which was adequate for single occupancy but would have been very cramped if there had been two of us in there. The view across the estuary to the Kent coast was excellent and made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Recetion Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay. Look forward to your next visit. Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene More

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Pretty basic but well located for Southend attractions which are not in abundance. Staff ok but not particularly warm. Drinks priced extravagantly and bar food average. It is located close to some really nice restaurants,

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking your time to write to us. We will pass your comments to our staff. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene More

Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our first visit to the Westcliff Hotel but it will not be the last. The rooms were great value, clean, comfortable with great views. The bathrooms were very tastefully done. Then there is the food, the breakfast is superb and you will not leave hungry or disappointed. We had the evening meal on Saturday night and enjoyed the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steven P, Thank you for leaving such a nice review from your recent stay. We are delighted you found the rooms clean and comfortable. Also enjoyed your meals in our Lamplights Brasserie.We will pass your kind comments to our staff and management. We look forward to your visit again in the future. Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene Reception Manager More

Dereham, Norfolk
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

An older building which has been updated and offers comfy, warm rooms, late bar and a cracking eat-all-you-like breakfast. Much more friendly than the Premier Inn type places I normally use and a lot cheaper too. Didnt use the restaurant for an evening meal so cant comment on that but I suspect that would also be good. Good views across... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving such a detailed review from your recent stay. We are delighted you found our rooms comfortable and warm and enjoyed the breakfast in the morning. We look forward to your visit again in the future. Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene More

Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Just returned from one Saturday night at the Westcliff. Great position overlooking the Thames estuary and along the lovely esplanade of Westcliff. Delightful room, we had chosen a twin bedded, with view. Lovely spacious room, lovely decor, best hotel room in ages? Hotel decor too lovely throughout. Very helpful reception who recommended Leigh on Sea for Saturday afternoon bars, boutique... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you very much for your kind review. We all glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass your comments to our staff and the maintenance manager so he could change the lights in the room. Look forward to welcome you back in the future Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We've just booked The Westcliffe again for the third time - every time we stay we have a wonderful time! We visit Essex as often as we can to see our grandchildren.We always stay at The Westcliffe. The beds are ultra- comfy, the views fantastic and relaxing. Super big flat screen TV on the wall. Whsat's not to like? We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very very much for your review. We are all delighted to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us. Could you please let us know under what name you booked your room with us so we could upgrade you in future? Look forward to welcoming you back at The Westcliff Hotel Kind regards, Samanta Liugiene Reception Manager More

London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I'll keep this short-ish as I don't enjoy writing negative reviews, although this is my first for a hotel. The Westcliff looks lovely from the outside - old yet clean & grande. The lobby's the same. But the room, ohhhhh the room! Dark & dingy with poor lighting. It left little to be desired, and had a terrible smell which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Soory to hear you had a dissapointing stay. Could you please let us know in which room you stayed as we haven't got your surname on the system. Kind Regards, Samanta Liugiene Reception Manager More

Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went for a Christmas party function paid £25 per head for party including 3 course meal and £50 for a room including breakfast. At these prices my expectations weren't high!!! How wrong could I have been the meal was one of the best I have had in a long while and the staff were fantastic. This also went for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We will be delighted to welcome you back next time. With Kind Regards, Samanta Liugiene Reception Manager More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

One night stay in Southend/Westcliff on Sea - good accommodation, big rooms (huge bathroom) and a very good breakfast. All you need. I had a sea view so that was an added bonus. There isn't much around the hotel (except the huge theater) so nice and peaceful, but a walk to bars and restaurants

Was this review helpful? Yes
WestMng, Reception Manager at Westcliff Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay. Thank you for sharing the comments about your room and good breakfast service. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Regards Samanta Liugiene Reception Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Westcliff Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcliff Hotel

Address: 18 - 20 Westciff Parade, Westcliff-on-Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS0 7QW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Westcliff-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westcliff Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Westcliff Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westcliff Hotel On Sea
Westcliff Hotel Westcliff-On-Sea, Southend-On-Sea, UK

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay