We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Old Shire Lane, Waltham Abbey EN9 3LX, England
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    169
    78
    29
    34
See reviews for
79
125
15
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (404)
  • Mar-May only
    (109)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (108)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (72)
All months
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel a number of times now in March. I organise coach trips for hospital staff during early march, this time it was Friday 6th March 2015 and staying for two nights. Booking in was without any problem. Some of the quests upon getting to their rooms which were not up to the same standard as previous visits... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and you felt that we were not able to deliver the same level of service as your previous stays. The team will be sure to take your feedback on board. We do hope that we... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
31 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My previous (many) experiences of the Marriott Hotel brand has been excellent, this experience changed that image - for ever? time will tell.... Our party arrived later than expected from Gatwick Airport, the car rental company did not seem to know the difference between 6 'fully grown' men and a family of 6 - 2 adults and 4 smaller children.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and you felt that we were not able to deliver the same level of service as your previous stays. The team will be sure to take your feedback on board. We do hope that we... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay here last weekend Checkin was good, Not a word about the hotel had no hot water, After phoning the reception a number of times and each time told something different.the hot water was off all weekend which with the in incompetence of the reception ruined the whole weekend Having been to this hotel a few times I can say... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Director of Sales at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ralph P Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and you felt that we were not able to deliver the same level of service as your previous stays. The team will be sure to take your feedback on board. We do... More 

Droitwich-Spa
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
27 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was booked in here for 1 night on a room only basis. Very quite location and hotel looked welcoming from outside. Inside had good layout. I was most impressed with the check in and customer service .Emma, on reception was very friendly, welcoming and very efficient, an “asset” to the hotel. Room well laid out and bed very comfortable

Was this review helpful? Yes
essex
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had afternoon tea here and I was pleasantly surprised - although the décor and atmosphere is nothing special, the staff were very friendly and efficient and the cakes and scones etc... were really rather good. However they really should think about using tea pots rather than tea bags and hot water - not only does this look nicer and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

a lovely hotel with good facilities over all. We opted for the junior suite which was very nice plenty of room for us and our daughter in the travel cot. Even had a little balcony. Unfortunately our key stopped working and the management could not fix it so we had to get them to let us in our room which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived Friday night late after my boyfriend driving 300 miles We went to our room and ran the bath freezing cold. Called reception told boiler not working and need an engineer. I asked why we were not told before we checked in as we would have gone somewhere else After calling reception several times during the night still no apology... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. I am sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations and you felt that we were not able to deliver the same level of service as your previous stays. The team will be sure to take your feedback on board. We do hope that we... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister and I thought it would be a lovely gift for Mother's Day... At great expense spending £70 per head for the full body massage and two course meal package. The first thing noted was that we had to pay to park. This wasn't anticipated as it wasn't stated to us on booking, so we joined everyone else and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael; I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback; Your feedback is detailed and constructive and we thank you for bringing this to our attention, you have our apologies. If you could please get in touch with me directly so i can discuss this matter further. Regards Nigel Parnaby Director of Operations. nigel.parnaby@marriotthotels.com More 

Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
50 hotel reviews
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's an average to above average place to stay, and that's really only down to it's slightly dated decor. It has lots of positives : 1. Check in staff very good. 2. Easy location to find 3. Sauna and Gym Food was okay to good, although the buffet wasn't a very wide range, albeit what was there was tasty, No... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear theburtonion; Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, and for your feedback. We take all comments seriously. Please accept our sincere apologises that on this occasion we did not meet all of your expectations, but look forward to you coming back to the hotel again. Regards Nigel Parnaby Director of Operations. More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived and went into reception, staff was rude, got a parking fine, very stealth way that the parking operates at this hotel.. be wary of Jan Goodall.. poorest customer service advisor she really is unpleasent

Was this review helpful? Yes
WalthamAbbeyMarriott, Manager at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HR 1980-1 Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at Waltham Abbey Marriott Hotel. May i ask you contact me directly to discuss further your comments please. Kind Regards Nigel Parnaby Director of Operations nigel.parnaby@marriotthotels.com More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question