We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
55%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Leanne M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (664)
  • Photos (170)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (172)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    200
    139
    95
    59
See reviews for
73
190
10
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Booked this hotel for my partner for his birthday. We went as part of the golf and spa package and was not left disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were impressed and made to feel very welcome.The staff were exceptional and could not do enough for us.Always said hello to us when passing and even stopped to hold doors... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this package for my mums birthday, booking it was really easy with the staff and I had no problems. When we arrived again staff were really helpful and pleasant. Very clean changing rooms, unlimited teas and coffees all day and a sun terrace bit which was open for us to use! Our package included a lunch which was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I don't want to be too negative about this hotel but if you're travelling with family then this is probably not the place for you. Travelled with friends and our toddlers, this place didn't suit our needs. It feels as though it's in the middle of nowhere with nothing to do. We felt things were overpriced (food/drink/services) and it's target... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bedfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here at the weekend for my mums birthday, Experienced a few problems trying to contact the hotel prior to our arrival, but all of the front of house staff made up for this, Richard on reception was brilliant and made check in and check out very smooth. Joe Smith served us for Sunday lunch and also breakfast and made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there for a family birthday golf break in July. We didn't know it was such a party venue for hens on a Saturday night, and I truly wish we had missed that! Other than that, rooms were good, if a little warm, Lakes course was lovely, food was fine, bar is pleasant. Brasserie is to be avoided on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you to Andreas and Vicky especially for being so helpful and professional when my mum fell ill - your speedy and calm response really helped during a difficult time. It was much appreciated, thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your mum’s visit to Five Lakes was cut short due to her becoming unwell. However, I was very pleased to read that our team members - Andreas and Vicky responded to this situation and offered their assistance at a very stressful time for you. You can be sure that I shall pass your thanks... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed 1 night, I booked 2 rooms and the room was large and spacious with a large TV and good choice of channels - Sky Sports included. The bathroom was large with separate bath and shower was the only disappointment (not clean and dated). The room was very clean and modern and the beds very comfortable. The air con was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your comfortable, well appointed room, although your comment regarding the bathroom is noted. We often receive complimentary remarks about the comfortable beds which certainly help towards a good nights sleep. Hoping that... More

Billericay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Previously was member of Five Lakes before it was taken over by Crowne Plaza. Used to be lovely; luxurious, tranquil and classy. Now, its tired, scruffy and the service was awful. This was my first trip since it had been taken over by Crowne Plaza. We came on a spa day for my mother-in-law's birthday. I'm not quite sure where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a platinum member here on long term work so its been like home to me for the past 5 months. the staff are fantastic and are the reason that i come back every time im working in the area. The restaurant has a buffett everynight which from time to time i go to where Hayley, Joe and Ayesha... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
norwich
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked hotel for a weekend break and picked this as had a spa, gym and pool. We arrived a bit early but checked in and room was ready so was good room was very nice large bed mini fridge and safe nice bathroom with both bath and walk in shower and large flat screen t.v the out look from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and it is clear to me that overall you had a most enjoyable stay. I appreciate your positive comments regarding your accommodation. Please accept my apologies that despite trying to repair the safe in your accommodation, you were relocated to an alternative room... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex

170 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (100)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (40)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (71)
Viewed
Room/suite (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (20)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Five Lakes Hotel, Golf, Country Club and Spa is a 4 star hotel offering some of the finest and most extensive health, leisure and sports facilities in the area. Set in 320 acres the 194 en-suite bedrooms overlook the attractive countryside and each is spacious and comfortably furnished. There is a choice of restaurants and bars. Leisure facilities include a luxury spa, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and well-equipped gym. Golfers will enjoy the two 18-hole courses. Only an hour from London, and Stansted Airport, the hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests ... more   less 
Number of rooms
194

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer