We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

4.0 of 5 Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    246
    165
    110
    72
See reviews for
93
239
11
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (837)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (216)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars NEW

I stayed here recently on business. The check in was fine and my initial impression was that this was a fine hotel for a reasonable price. What it's lacking though, is any atmosphere. This is one of those hotels where you're forced to go to by your company for a team kumbaya session. Your boss will split you into two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Please mend the jacuzzi and clean up the pool area's apparently management are aware the jacuzzi is not working properly people pay good money for spa's and expect a good jacuzzi everyone was complaining a good manager would be addressing the situation in order to achieve high level customer satisfaction at all times !

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is appreciated that you have taken the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I can confirm that there were repairs carried out to the Spa bath. However, your comments have been taken onboard and I will instruct our engineering department to investigate based on your feedback. I am sorry for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Essex
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Me and a friend visited the spa due to a cheap online deal we found. We was stressed before we even got there Do not download the hotels directions!!! we got lost as they are rubbish!! If you dont know the area and take a wrong turn, you will end up down country lanes which all look the same (... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes with the Trip Advisor community. It is clear to me that amongst some of the negatives you have highlighted, there are also many positives.. However, for those challenges that you did encounter at the time, please accept our belatedly apologies and going... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a spa day for my Husband and I, we arrived and was seen to quickly. Was given our robes and towels etc wasnt too sure what i was expecting to be honest the steam room was lovely and the sauna too Luckily the pool wasnt too busy with Children so not too loud, Its a pool with children how... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It was very kind of you to post your thoughts on Trip Advisor following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes recently. I am happy to read that overall both you and your husband enjoyed your spa day experience s and thank you for scoring us with a generous four stars. However, some of the negatives you... More 

ESSEX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Every year I take the girls from work on a spa day to say thanks for their hard work throughout the year, we use spas regularly during the year but have 1 special treat day where we go to somewhere really nice and have lots of treatments, lunch, dinner, etc, you get the picture. Total chill out. Well if that's... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

We are very sorry indeed to read of your experience whilst at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and thank you for highlighting where we failed to meet your expectations and some of the challenges you encountered during your day. The feedback we receive from our guests enables us to target those areas and take necessary actions to ensure... More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came here as part of a spa package with the girls. Will definately be returning 100%. Spa was wonderful, as was the facilities, pool, steam room and sauna .. Restaurant , lunch was great.. Staff in all areas of the resort were polite, helpful. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is so rewarding to read such positive comments and I am delighted that you found your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes to be such an enjoyable experience. Thank you for your generous four stars too and I do hope that you will have an opportunity to return in the not too distant future. We also... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner treated me to a night's stay at The Crowne Plaza for Valentines Day. It cost £300 for one night's stay and included dinner, breakfast, full access to the 'spa' facility and a 60 minute 'luxury' facial each. We were allocated one of the village rooms. We were in one of the very end blocks which I found slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for you candid feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I am disappointed to read your comments as we regularly receive compliments from our spa guests. However, please accept my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The challenges that you have referred to throughout your review have... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed on 14th February 2015 on a DBB package with my husband. Room was spacious and clean BUT was in 'The Village' - a complex outside of the main hotel building, each block containing 4-8 rooms. The room should've had 2 double beds in it, but instead had 2 one-and-half width singles pushed together, with 2 separate duvets. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

May I thank you for your comments which you have posted here on Trip Advisor, which are in addition to an email you sent to the hotel. As confirmed in our response to your email, I shall be writing to you personally on the matters you have highlighted therein. With kind regards More 

Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My sister booked the above for the both of us, on 11th/12th Feb, for my birthday. Our room was large, comfortable and spotlessly clean, as were all areas of the hotel and spa. The tea making facilities had generous amounts of tea/coffee etc. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and efficient. The buffet lunch was delicious and with so many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is always rewarding to receive such positive feedback; so thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. It is a pleasure to read about your positive experiences within the hotel and your compliments regarding our team members are gratefully received, along with... More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family and I stayed and had a wedding reception in the restaurant of the hotel which was excellent with the staff being attentive and catering for our every need. The rooms were comfortable and well appointed as was the pool and spa as well as the public areas and bars and restaurants. the overall stay and experience was first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

May I first of all congratulate you on your recent marriage and I hope you both have a most wonderful future together. Your award of five stars is very much appreciated and indicates the level of your satisfaction. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your accommodation, our leisure facilities along with the bars and restaurants... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex

163 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (117)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (47)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay