We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Add Photo Write a Review

934 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    278
    271
    183
    123
    79
See reviews for
112
274
12
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (934)
  • Mar-May only
    (258)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (236)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (236)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here at the weekend, there was 28 of us. The village rooms were very nice plenty of room in them. Very clean the beds were a little too soft for my liking though. Whilst our husbands were off playing golf on the Saturday us ladies decided to have lunch and a few drinks outside (ordering from the sports... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night so could not take advantage of all the facilities on offer. However, our short stay was comfortable and pleasant. There is a huge choice of food whether you want to fine dine or snack. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, however, if you purchase a breakfast voucher the night before breakfast you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 2 nights in June for a friends wedding. The service, rooms, pool, gym and pretty much everything were excellent. We also had dinner in the Brasserie which was exceptional value along with being excellent food. We just wish we had an extra night to try the other restaurant! Also, make sure to get breakfast included, it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

having read my review of 3rd jan 2013 , we rebooked for the 15th time in january 2014 ,just after new year what a difference . i have never seen a hotel go down so much within a year !!!!!. considering that we got married here in 2012 . our room had fag ash around the windows and smell of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Was very impressed with this hotel. Only stayed for one night but would happily return. Check in was friendly, swift and very welcoming. Room was brilliant with an extremely comfortable bed. The room was well equipped with everything you could want. Food was superb and we had excellent service from Matt Alban. Highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked the hotel for a night for a birthday treat for my boyfriend. I couldn't fault the hotel, the room was lovely, very clean & was lovely & spacious. It was nice to have the use of the facilities. I booked a package for the night and it was excellent value for money. The choice of food was brilliant.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your five star award following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the hotel celebrating your boyfriend’s birthday and finding your accommodation to be very comfortable and meeting your expectations. Our Food & Beverage team, including our Kitchen Brigade having... More 

East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My new husband and I stayed at the five lakes for the weekend to have a wind down before we left for our honeymoon. On arrival the hotel looks impressive and decor was stylish throughout. Our room was spotless and the bed was so comfortable! The toiletries provided were of a high standard and we also had complimentary pillow spray... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

May I first of all congratulate you on your recent marriage and wishing you a wonderful future together. I am delighted to read your fantastic review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes which clearly indicates that you had a most enjoyable time with us and this is the experience we wish all our guests to... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

6 old friends catching up to celebrate a 50th birthday, we were warmly welcomed from front desk check in to lovely bar staff onto the fantastic Joe in the Brasserie who made sure we were well looked after and couldn't do enough for us even at front desk to welcome us for breakfast! We had the lazy Sunday package which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your preferred hotel to celebrate a 50th Birthday. I am delighted that you all had such an enjoyable time at the hotel and your fantastic comments regarding our staff with particular mention of the now infamous Joey , are gratefully received. Thank you also for recommending the Lazy... More 

Rehlingen
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in on a Friday, There were two parties going on. Loud but not a problem ! Went to the Main Restaurant for Dinner, The service was poor the product was poor, apart from the very good water Llanyr that they serve, made a comment about the cut of meat and got a lecture from the Supervisor. At Breakfast not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes in April and the resulting emails and telephone conversations regarding your experience at the time, it is disappointing that you feel you need to comment further however, having said that, I think you will agree that in reality we are completely interested in “constructive critique”. As obviously noted in... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After paying for my daughter and 2 friends to celebrate the end of exams I was extremely disappointed. We booked a spa day with lunch and facial. The spa is nowhere near the pool, or the restaurant , or any decent coffee. I felt uncomfortable wearing a dressing gown, with no make up and messed up hair in front of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor and I am sorry to read that your visit was not quite the one you were hoping for. As you have experienced; Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes is a large resort and welcomes a variety of guests ranging from golfing groups, wedding parties, private events,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

230 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (130)
Viewed
Room/suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (100)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay