We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes to your Saves list
57%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
MaidstoneWombat Maidstone
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    219
    150
    100
    67
See reviews for
83
213
10
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (741)
  • Mar-May only
    (181)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (216)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (198)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (146)
All months
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Visted Crowne Plaza this weekend as part of a Hen party. As treatments were fully booked (our fault for not booking in advance) we still decided to go along and spend a relaxing day using spa facilities having booked anyway. We arrived and enjoyed a pleasant lunch in the bar area. Upon finishing lunch we went upstairs to the spa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes following your recent. May I take this opportunity of offering my sincere apologies that your experience was not everything that you felt it should have been at the time. Your feedback has been noted and where appropriate I will be taking appropriate action with my team to... More

Maidstone
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a business meeting and was impressed with the rooms and how comfy the beds were. Food was excellent also with a TexMex buffet. Breakfast had a good choice of food. Spa facilities were good as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am delighted that our newly refurbished meeting rooms met and exceeded your expectations. Our Food & Beverage team will be most pleased that dining throughout your stay was aan enjoyable experience and similarly so was the spa. Thank you again for taking... More

Tolleshunt Major, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently held my friends special birthday cream tea at Five Lakes, and it was wonderful. We had 24 adults and a few children/babies. The room we had was lovely and a large oval table was set out for us, complete with everything needed for a cream tea. The views were lovely and there was an outside area you could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Further to your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester - Five Lakes, I am delighted to read that your friend’s special birthday event was a huge success and everything was perfect for you. Our team members who were attending to you on this special day, will be delighted that their efforts have been commented on so positively; and this makes... More

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Rooms ok, spa disgrace. Wife upset as she thought she could relax all day in a spa, she spent the day in hotel room waiting for me to finish golf as 'spa' area discussing, dirty pool. Management rude upon complaint. This hotel cannot accept responsibilty for its faults. Have also noticed how the manager responds rudely to everyone who leaves... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is appreciated that you have taken the time to comment on your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am pleased that your accommodation met your expectations. However, it is disappointing that you have commented negatively on the Spa and responses to your comments. It is always good practice to respond to guests with courtesy... More

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I used crowne plaza for a spa experience with friends, after frequenting several other spas previously I do not regard this hotel as a spa. It is a hotel with a pool, and a separate treatment room upstairs. The pool and sauna area are not great and not well maintained. If your looking for a spa experience I would not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I note your comments. As you note, the hotel is not advertised as a spa exclusive resort and the introduction on our website indicates the variety of facilities and amenities that are available for a wide ranging type of guest, including golf and... More

Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked room on arrival no problem. Room was lovely and clean and so was bathroom very spacious. Bed was very comfy had a really good night sleep had no problems couldn't fault it. Payed for breakfast but was to late as slept in. Reception was very helpful with directions to the nearest shop. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for awarding Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes with five stars, this is most appreciated and indicates to us the level of satisfaction you had. I am pleased to read that your visit was an enjoyable one and you found your accommodation to be clean, spacious and the beds very comfortable. I note that you would visit... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay away from this hotel and 'spa' More like a public swimming pool with dirty facilities and extremely rude staff. Stayed for the weekend and was soo disappointed. We spent not even an hour using the facilities as they were so unkept. The rest of the weekend we didn't know what to do with ourselves as we went for the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is disappointing to receive your feedback following your visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. Your comments regarding the cleanliness of the leisure area is noted and although we have dedicated cleaners on site specifically assigned to clean and refresh these areas, I... More

Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great weekend with friends and their wives. From the time we arrived the staff were very friendly and helpful. Anton Jermy the Golf Sales Executive met us in reception and gave us a detailed tour of the golfing facilities. Both courses were in great condition although the Lakes was my personal favorite. The buffet styled evening meal was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your preferred hotel destination to enjoy a weekend away with friends. It is always gratifying to read that guests have had a particularly good experience and your positive comments regarding accommodation, our golf courses and your dining experience indicate that to me. Meanwhile, I was pleased that you... More

Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best weekend golf trip I have been on yet, the food was excellent, the courses were immaculate, the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the warm greeting from wee George the starter on the links course. Staff member that stood out was Ian (Cullen) the manager I told my room mate that it would take us a while... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review following your recent golfing visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and I am glad that you had the opportunity to meet our fabulous George, who never fails to make an impression upon our guests. Meanwhile, it was really nice to meet you and it was my pleasure to assist you. I... More

Chelmsford UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the his n hers romantic spa and golf package. Spa very disappointing, not a spa. More a hotel with a pool which is no way near what standard a 4*spa should be. Pool dirty, sauna and steam room, I didn't even sit in as not appealing. Advertised as romantic, No! Loud overly busy, dinner poor buffet with queue system... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

May I first of all thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and for taking time out to write your review. I am particularly disappointed to read your comments especially when alongside it, there are so many great comments and experiences that other guests have enjoyed. However we value your opinion... More

Do you own or manage Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Address: Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Tolleshunt Knights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester 5 Lakes
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes Hotel Tolleshunt Knights
Five Lakes Hotel Country
Five Lakes Resort Country
Five Lakes Hotel Essex

166 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (112)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (55)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes