We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes

Hotel website
Hotel deals
Colchester Road, Tolleshunt Knights CM9 8HX, England
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Professional photosView all
Browse nearby
Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes
Add Photo Write a Review

999 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    295
    294
    195
    130
    85
See reviews for
128
296
12
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (999)
  • Mar-May only
    (258)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (295)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (242)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (204)
All months
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

All the staff were polite and helpful. The lunch buffet was very good but the dinner salad had a bug in it. The staff reacted very quickly, changed my food and didn't charge for the meal so I was happy with that response. I had two spa treatments. The first a full body massage was wonderful and the young lady... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend chose this hotel as a last minute escape over Bank Holiday weekend, however it turned out to be a very painful experience. We received a room that was smelling like an old dirty pub, the smell of beer in the bed proximity was unbearable. We asked reception to try and refresh the room as it didn't look dirty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes as your destination for a Bank Holiday break. However, I am disappointed to read your review and offer you my belated but sincere apologies for the challenges you have mentioned herein with regard to the unusual lapse of cleanliness in your accommodation and your experience in the restaurant and... More 

Montcuq, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good quiet location, overlooking golf course. Sign posts on local roads would help to locate the hotel. Modern design in public areas, good reception with good seating area and grand piano, not that we heard it played. We were there over the bank holiday, so the hotel very busy. Room was well fitted and decorated, but the bathroom was in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is appreciated that you have taken the opportunity to review your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and thank you for the lovely introduction to hotel. It is clear to me that amongst one or two negatives that you have highlighted in your posting, there are also many positives and we certainly will take on... More 

Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been to a lot of Hotels abroad and the UK but this one is the worst we have seen people walking around in Bathrobes Reception,Main Entrance ,Breakfast Room and the Bars ! Is this a 5 star Hotel ?? Where is the Friendly Customer Service ?? It is a disorganized bunch of young people with no motivation ,should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. As a four star Resort with a variety of facilities; we are happy for our Spa guests to feel comfortable and relaxed wearing their robes whilst they move around the hotel from poolside. spa areas, breakfasting, lunching in the restaurant... More 

Travelers are raving about these Tolleshunt Knights hotels

5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Essex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well you need to take a Satnav to navigate yourselfs around and the Spa treatments limited, pool and was old fashioned and floors slippery.... Not really sure I would go again as staff very informative and so we missed our lunch and got lost just getting to the changing rooms for the pool? Not good for value, and so sorry... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. May I assure you that your experience is not reflective of the hundreds of guests who visit the Resort and do have a most enjoyable stay. I do hope that you may have an occasion to return in the future. Kind regards. More 

Halstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is an updated review. I have recently stayed in the Crowne Plaza Resort at Colchester. And it was wonderful, we received a complimentary upgrade as well as complimentary drinks. The staff were incredible, our room (suite) was gorgeous and so clean. I received 2 treatments at the spa, a body scrub and a taster facial, both were amazing -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred local hotel destination for your weekend break. I am delighted that your stay was perfect for you and everything you experienced whilst with us met and exceeded your expectations. Thank you again... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came recently for a hen party weekend over the Bank Holiday. Rooms are lovely - no bad reviews on them. Check in was disasterious for the bride to be and her family members, waited 90 minutes to check in and was just dismissed when questioned why they was still waiting (at 4.30 when checkin is at 3pm!!). Pool is absolutely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

It is disappointing to read your negative review following your visit co Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. May I take this opportunity to apologise for the delay you experienced at check-in; this may be due to some outgoing guests from the previous day, who do not vacate their accommodation in a timely manner and therefore, impacting the cleaning... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The bad reviews and photos are posted by miserable people! The hotel is big, clean and flawless. The scenery is beautiful.. The staff were helpful and personable (of course, some more than others!) The food was bland..but THIS IS ENGLAND, what do you expect?! The rooms were cosy and modern. My cousins, mother and step-father really enjoyed the beauty of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment so positively on your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes. I am so happy that despite some negative comments, you did book to stay with us and thoroughly enjoyed your experience at the hotel with your family members. Hoping that we can welcome you back in... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The food was great the rooms were brilliant and best of all the service was exquisite!!!! I would definitely recommend it to anybody even if you don't play golf as the spa offers great massages and beauty therapy

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

  Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes and also award us five stars. It is wonderful to read that you found everything that you experienced at the hotel to be ‘amazing’ and ‘brilliant’ and my team members and managers are absolutely delighted... More 

Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My sister treated us to a mini spa for my birthday :) on arrival we were told they had booked us a room with a kingsize bed...so changed our room to the chalets outside....the receptionist kept on about a sofa in the room ?? So we drove round to the chalet, left the cases in the car....we had a feeling...hmmm... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
IanICullen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester Five Lakes, responded to this review

I am delighted that you had the opportunity to visit Crowne Plaza Resort Colchester – Five Lakes recently and have now taken the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues surrounding your accommodation as described by you and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused you before you were eventually relocated... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Golf course(12)
  • Very good(9)
  • Spa treatments(6)
  • Room service(6)
  • Swimming pool(5)
  • Reception area(4)
  • Very nice(4)
  • Large group(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

307 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (151)
Viewed
Room/suite (60)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (156)
Viewed
Room/suite (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (14)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (38)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tolleshunt Knights
5.0 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Marks Tey Hotel
13.8 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Colchester
Holiday Inn Colchester
#1 of 1 in Eight Ash Green
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
9.0 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
14.1 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
5.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay