We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat

#1 of 1 Hotels in Stock
Certificate of Excellence
Stock Road, Stock CM4 9BE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

442 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Benfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend and I visited the restaurant at Greenwoods Estate for a nice lunch out. It was both our first time at Greenwoods and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. On arriving we were immediately welcomed and the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout. The service at times was a little slow but not worth complaining about. My friend had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Watts121
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Just spent a Friday into Saturday for a friends birthday event with 20 other ladies, I won't bore all with every detail as life is too short but suffice it to say the service was abysmal, not just a picky little moan but on average 45 minute waits for nearly every request all blamed casually on "we're short staffed" management... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank MarkCcollins
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked recently to have afternoon tea with 5 girl friends, having had 2 previous visits to Greenwoods and the afternoon tea being spectacular I was really looking forward to our afternoon out. On arrival we were given 5 pots of tea and a coffee jar (one for each of us) and just a small jug of milk to stretch... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank S44AHJ
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our daughter booked a surprise afternoon tea for me & my husband. The sandwiches were lovely, the scones were delicious and there lots of tasty cakes too. We had a lovely afternoon sitting in the sumptuous library, the hotel itself is very tastefully decorated and the staff very pleasant. I will definitely be returning to have a spa day with... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lucky649
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear lucky649, Thank you very much for the positive feedback of a recent afternoon tea visit to Greenwoods. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your experience and have passed along your compliments to our staff, with thanks. Our chefs work hard to offer a great tasting range of freshly made cakes and scones every day and... More 

Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I was really looking forward to a girly afternoon with lovely sandwiches and scones. We had heard such great things about the tea at Greenwoods. Well, how disappointed we were this afternoon. We were given cherry coulis with our scones instead of jam which was far too sharp for cream scones and so had to ask them for strawberry jam,... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Hope8186
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Hope8186, Thank you for your review of a recent afternoon tea with us here at Greenwoods. We were very sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your visit and have spoken to all the staff in relation to your comments. It is a shame to hear that you did not enjoy any of our freshly made cakes or... More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Birthday time again ...... Greenwoods is perfect for a mother and daughter get together. It is a luxury hotel with comfortable rooms, it has the spa "pamper" treatments and swimming pool. Then in the evening a wonderful first class menu. All the things "us girls" love to do. The staff are friendly and professional, the new décor is classy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ramsey2011
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ramsey2011, Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful comments about a recent overnight stay with us at Greenwoods. We are really thrilled to see how much you enjoyed your stay in one of our beautiful newly refurbished bedrooms! We were sorry to hear that it was too warm in your room & have reminded our staff to double... More 

Rochford, Essex
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

This was booked for me by my mum to have a birthday tea. Such lovely surroundings to sit and catch up over delicious tea, sandwiches and cakes. The choice of sandwiches was great and the scones were very light. Lots of refills of tea and no pressure to leave. Great service and would definitely return.

Helpful?
2 Thank JoD66
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear JoD66, Thank you for taking the time to let us know what a lovely afternoon you and your mum enjoyed having afternoon tea with us at Greenwoods. Great to hear you thought our service and the selections were all first class! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind regards, More 

Romford
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came here as a family of 10 for dinner on the 25th December. The food was beautiful, we had a traditional turkey dinner with all the trimmings plus a starter and dessert. The service was attentive and spot on, atmosphere perfect with a piano playing and we were not at all rushed We would all return next year without... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe B
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Chloe B, Thank you ever so much for sharing your comments about your Christmas Day lunch. We are so pleased that you and your guests choose to celebrate this special occasion with us at Greenwoods and are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed this visit. We do aim to provide a first rate service for all of our... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Came for Sunday lunch, food was absolutely delicious and service was first rate. Staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble . They were also very accommodating with the children and made the lunch experience excellent.

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda W
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Linda W, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent Sunday lunch in Ellis's restaurant. We are very happy to hear what a lovely time you and your party spent with us and pleased to read that our staff provided you a first class service. We do offer a great new range... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited Greenwoods for a family Sunday. lunch. The cost of the meal is on the expensive side for Sunday lunch so I expected something a bit special. The only main course vegetarian option was a vegetarian Wellington which whilst tasty, the portion size was extremely small and poor value for money. The sea bass was more likely sea bream and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyD79
LucyH0103, Manager at Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat, responded to this review

Dear FamilyD79, Thank you for letting us know about your recent Sunday lunch experience in Ellis's Restaurant here at Greenwoods. It was a pleasure to read your positive comments about our staff, food and ambience during your visit, although we were naturally disappointed to see that not all of your day met with your expectations. Please be assured that we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (136)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stock
17.3 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 stars 393 reviews
10.8 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
7.8 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
#4 of 13 in Chelmsford
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay