We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Southend on Sea

Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Hotel amenities
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nick P Bath, United Kingdom
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
35
31
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The travel lodge had excellent staff who were considerate to our needs. The accommodation was very clean and well presented. Price of our stay was very competitive considering it was Easter Holidays. Would stay there again if we visited Southend on Sea in the future.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value, clean, economical accommodation, in a central location. A little bit noisy on Friday night due to the night club below/next door - but not really much of a problem. The price and convenience outweigh the little bit of Friday night noise.One of the best assets of this hotel is the staff who are friendly and helpful. In particular,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was mostly ok but had a damp musky smell. The drinks outside made noise till about 2 am even with windows closed you could still hear them. Location is great loads of shops and things to do near by.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not requiring anything other than a place to sleep for the one night, we chose Travelodge Southend. No frills required, just a bed, shower and kettle was needed. So it was disappointing when a full nights sleep is not what we received! We were on the second floor of this dingy looking hotel. The reception is also on the second... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here over the weekend, and after you forget that the lobby looks like an entrance to a council flat, it is rather nice. Room was clean and comfortable, but the heating didn't work. But on the plus, when considering how close you are to 2 local clubs not any night-time noise was heard.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The location of the hotel is great as it is in the town and its only a short walk to the beach. The staff are also very friendly however we stayed on a Sunday night and we was very disappointed by the noise. The hotel has a nightclub underneath and a nightclub across the road and from about 11pm till... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed this hotel’s location and the service provided from our staff, however we are truly sorry to learn the rest of your stay did not meet with our high standards on this occasion. This hotel is located in a central area and whilst... More 

Ayamonte Spain
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very handy location in very poor area of the very shabby town. Used this hotel for an early flight from Southend. The tv didn't work. The only solution was to move us. We were given a choice of a room over a nightclub or a disabled room.We chose the latter with 2 of the smallest single beds I have ever... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On check out I stayed marginally past the limit. The lady on reception duty was extremely rude about this. As I went to check the room for anything that could of been left behind. She said 'you forgot your drugs'. As a young black man, I felt racially profiled.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Niki from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We’re concerned to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay and would like to look into this further. Please visit the contact us page on our website and provide your booking details. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Brilliant stay, location excellent 5-10 minute walk from train station, seafront and practically in town centre. Nightclub is adjacent but until morning we didn't even know it was there. Lady on reception was helpful and knowledgeable. Room was fantastic for what you pay decent size for 3 men and shower was lovely and powerful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

We were greeted by Danny on reception .From the onset he stood out for exemplary customer service . Danny was helpful and made us feel so welcome he answered our questions and directed us efficiently to where the university was and where the nearby attractions were , nothing was a chore for this member of staff he is by far... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question