We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Southend on Sea

Chichester Road, Southend-on-Sea SS1 2JY, England
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    20
    6
    12
See reviews for
36
33
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rugby trip to Southend, hotel accommodated us well. The staff were generally friendly although we had a bit of a hiccup over room allocation which we sorted ourselves. There are self service machines for snacks etc which seem to be over complicated for what they are. Rooms are tidy and kept clean especially in view of how messy a troop... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

First thing I want to say Janet at reception on 22/5/15 was top quality. Her customer services skills was flawless, beyond professional and very welcoming. She was like a mother to me and my mates. Her knowledge of Southend was extremely useful. The rooms was very spacious and clean. Had two single beds with a king size bed in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located in the centre of the town near the shopping area. Nice room, exactly as you expect from a Travelodge. We booked 2 twin rooms which is usually an extra bed in a standard room, but the extra bed was not very good this visit (like a truckle bed but would be suitable for a child) The reception staff were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location for Southend town centre, and only minutes away from Southend train stations (including link to London), you are only 10 mins away from the world's longest pleasure pier and 15 minutes away from Cliffs Pavilion - you are surrounded by fast food and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay at travelodge a lot, we stayed at the one in Southend for the first time with friends, when we booked we rang and asked them to make sure we had rooms near each other which on arrival was not the case, they were on different floors. When we queried this they just said sorry we are busy. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Exactly what it says , clean nice comfy bed spacious room. Reception staff very friendly and helpful . Will definitely be back . Upon arriving we was early but staff were very accommodating. We stayed 2 nights and although we ran out of tea bags staff were happy to replenish them for us.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Seaham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was generally well presented, clean and tidy and situated opposite stunning parkland. The bathroom and sleeping are were well maintained to a high standard. The sleeping area was furnished with a double bed with an extremely comfortable mattress. Even though we were only staying the 2 nights, all bed linen was changed the next day which was pleasant surprise.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent location - close to train station and town centre. Reception were welcoming however the building wasn't very appealing. Not bad value for a weekend away. Awful night's sleep due to the club below and fights in the street.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel was generally grubby, noisy and dank, bathroom was disgusting. The rooms airconn was broken, grime / limescale on the fixtures and fittings in the bathroom. The rooms window was partly broken, again, grimey and grubby. I opted to stay here the night before my wedding, there were others in the hotel that were let to kick / knock on... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Southend on Sea, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel Lee. We know the importance of offering a clean and comfortable room and we are sorry that on this occasion we did not deliver our usual high standards. We’re also really sorry to learn you were disturbed by other customers during your stay. We ask customers to be courteous... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southend-on-Sea hotels

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Clean place, friendly staff. Comfy bed. I had the put me up one in a triple room and it was still good. Plenty of space in the room for us three girls. Great night club nearby, if you're into that sort of thing. You can't hear too much noise from outside either. Jobs a good 'un!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities