We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Southend-on-Sea hotels

Holiday Inn Southend

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Southend to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Southend
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
78%
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
divingmikeCambridge Cambridge
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    110
    40
    19
    12
See reviews for
72
101
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked a twin room for and overnight stay for a friend and myself. After checking in and going to the room we were allocated we found it to be a double room. On return to check in we were advised the twin room we had booked was not available due to electrical problems but an extra bed would be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
south east
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We enjoyed an overnight stay and meal in the 1935 Rooftop restaurant which although small portions was flavourful and very well presented, I would like to single out our waitress Charlotte for special mention. Although she is only 17 her enthusiasm and professionalism is impressive as is her customer care. She clearly enjoys her job and has a lovely way... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, this hotel serves an airport that is a delight to use. It's what Stansted used to be like until it became greedy and bloated. The service was fine, and we had a very pleasant meal in the restaurant which overlooks the airport. The bathroom contained a bath as well as a shower which suited us fine and was a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were invited to Friends 50th and declined the use of their floor (we are too old!) and found Southend an expensive place to stay. We used reward points so booked The holiday The receptionist Katie was friendly and helpful. Our room (336) was clean apart from the stains on the wall, coffee, tea, vomit or worse. One wipe and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right at the South End On Sea airport. Has it's own car park. This is a reasonably new property and is convenient if you are traveling to/from South End on Sea. Our room was on the opposite side from the airport reasonably quiet. The breakfast had a good selection only thing missing was a Gluten free bread selection. The view... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Southend on Sea, Essex, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After an initial hic-cup regarding our booking which was overcome by the excellent reception and duty managerial staff our stay went from strength to strength. After a minor issue with our first room which was totally out of the control of the hotel we were re-allocated for the remainder of our four night stay after the first night. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear AuPaddy, Thank you for your brilliant feedback following your recent 5 nights stay with us at Holiday Inn Southend. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you would recommend our bright, airy hotel with stunning view. I am certain that the team will be extremely pleased to hear your fantastic review. It is through such wonderful feedback that truly... More

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last night whilst on business! This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the hotel and cannot fault it! Decor lovely, staff very friendly and very clean! Would def recommend! I forgot to bring some toiletries and reception provided these free of charge :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Cheryl666, Thank you for recommending us and taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. I look forward to welcoming you again. Regards Rohit Singh More

Walmer, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location, next to Southend airport, good sized car park with overnight charge for guests for £5, which is good compared to other hotels. We had an upgraded room with runway view and king sized bed. Room was very good, with flat screen TV, Fridge, tea & coffee facilities, hairdryer etc and the bed was very comfortable. The soundproofing in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear Simmo31, We appreciate your fantastic comments and your time to post them publicly. As you mentioned our hotel has an excellent location and it is really a unique feature for people flying from Southend airport. All our guests enjoy for different reasons, like the ones you kindly mentioned especially our unique soundproofing. Please do not hesitate to contact us... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here because we were flying early the next morning and the hotel is only 400m from the terminal. The staff were very helpful and the meal in the restaurant was good. However, the mattress was as hard as a plank with the result that we didn't get a good night's sleep. I've never stayed at a hotel where... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear NKCole, I would like to thank you personally for taking the time to give us your positive and constructive feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for the overall disappointments you experienced. We have changed our entire bed and mattress almost 3 months ago and they are the recommended Holiday Inn brand standard by IHG. In regards to our state... More

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Positive thing was customer service - pleasant and helpful staff Nice location Negatives: Shower gel was used stained not replaced Ordered cheese pickle sandwich which only had cheese no pickle Breakfast was replaced as it had hair in it No mini bar in room No complimentary water to drink TV has no batteries in remote control Child unfriendly menu at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
StevenJBrazil, Manager at Holiday Inn Southend, responded to this review

Dear EjazTrips, Thank you for your honest and constructive review. I really appreciate your comments, because it is through these reviews that we can meet our challenges head on. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our customer service. I will personally look into the issues that you have outlined, meet with our department managers and reinforce our company... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Southend, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Southend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southend

Address: 77 Eastwoodbury Crescent, Southend-on-Sea SS2 6XG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southend 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Southend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southend Southend-On-Sea, Essex

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Southend-on-Sea with
any amenities