We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown House

Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford CB10 1NY , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Crown House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    65
    36
    15
    6
    14
See reviews for
30
55
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (136)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (44)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very conveniently situated just down the road from Duxford and not far from Cambridge. A beautiful old house with a lovely garden. Excellent breakfast. Very friendly and helpful staff. Our only disappointment was the double bed, which was not really a double bed at all - more like a three quarter bed - and neither of us slept very well.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dagenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

If you're the type of traveller that needs everything perfect and brand spanking new then this hotel probably isn't for you. If, like us, you appreciate personal effort, charming personal touches and the look and feel of an old building then I think you'll enjoy this hotel too. Lovely location in a very nice village, within the sound of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Highly recommended. Beautiful decor and architecture. The landlady is very kind. Located in a nice little town of Great Chesterford just off M11. The outdoor and indoor has good characters. Your stay will be all the more pleasant when you're greeted with a smile. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Enjoyed an excellent lunch with friends here today - good choice of dishes and well cooked - but most noteworthy was the excellent service we received far and away the best we have experienced in a restaurant since moving to Walden four years ago. Staff were friendly but not intrusive,knowledgeable about the menu and did everything they could to make... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have relations who live near by and always stay here even though there is a travel lodge not too far away.we stay here because we love the higgledy piggledy strange shaped rooms friendly staff and beautiful surroundings.by comparison a travel lodge is adequate yes but it's a box on a industrial estate. No brainer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for writing your review of The Crown House Hotel. We are really happy that people come back and stay with time and time again. We love our hotel and its historic quirkiness, its always lovely to hear that other people appreciate it too. we look forward to seeing you again next time. More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading other reviews I was expecting a type of countryside inn, which also had rooms. I thought there would be a focus around the dining. My room itself was in an adjacent annexe and was comparatively small. There was no adequate workspace, and I would not regard this as any kind of hotel for a businessman. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Firstly, we are truly sorry that you found your stay with us so disappointing, I have tried to contact you to find out when you stayed, so that we could investigate further. We are genuinely sorry that your dining experience was so appalling, as I said I would have liked to have been able to find out who was on... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

The Crown House is a surprising find in a small village, and has great charm. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are very friendly. I was most impressed by the full English breakfast which was really first class. Mind the low ceilings in some of the corridors if you are tall! Our ancestors were shorter than we are.

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your breakfast. We do love this old listed building. You are right there are a couple of areas where ,if you are very tall you may have to be careful,but most of the hotel is fine. If you were very tall it may be worth being in The... More 

Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

Crown House is a pleasant family run hotel. It avoids corporate uniformity, and as such comes across as a little erratic, but they try hard and I found it charming. Check-in was informal. My room was reasonably spacious and very nicely decorated and well equipped (bath and separate shower, and a bidet for washing my socks). There are a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really do appreciate customer reviews,so thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We are very lucky to have a wide selection of rooms, we do have ground floor rooms, but it is as you say, a good idea to check when making your reservation with us, especially if mobility is an issue. The plates... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Stayed for one night. Wasn't my first choice, but when my original hotel was fully booked, stayed here instead. Very pleasantly surprised. Nice staff, reasonably priced, clean and relatively comfortable. Room a bit cramped, so wouldn't recommend for a long stay; but, for one or two nights, it's fine. A bit rural, but good walking trails in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Crown House, I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you when your other hotel was fully booked, and that you had a pleasant stay. We have various room sizes, if people want a bigger room and we can move guests we are happy to do so. We do allocate the larger... More 

UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

we stayed here for one night found it on my apple map by chance very nice hotel friendly staff the room was nice the double bed was a bit small dinner was ok lovely cheese board tho the breakfast was great (buffet) couldn't fault it i would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really value customer reviews,thank you for taking the time to post this one on The Crown House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food and liked your room. We have a variety of bed sizes, perhaps if you return you might like to try one of our super king size beds. Our Four Poster beds are antique and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
8.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
3.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Sheene Mill Hotel
The Sheene Mill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Melbourn
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
3.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay