We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown House

Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket Road, Great Chesterford CB10 1NY , England
Hotel amenities
The Crown House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Kevin G Doncaster, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    63
    34
    15
    6
    14
See reviews for
29
54
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (132)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (39)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have relations who live near by and always stay here even though there is a travel lodge not too far away.we stay here because we love the higgledy piggledy strange shaped rooms friendly staff and beautiful surroundings.by comparison a travel lodge is adequate yes but it's a box on a industrial estate. No brainer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After reading other reviews I was expecting a type of countryside inn, which also had rooms. I thought there would be a focus around the dining. My room itself was in an adjacent annexe and was comparatively small. There was no adequate workspace, and I would not regard this as any kind of hotel for a businessman. The bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Crown House is a surprising find in a small village, and has great charm. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are very friendly. I was most impressed by the full English breakfast which was really first class. Mind the low ceilings in some of the corridors if you are tall! Our ancestors were shorter than we are.

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially your breakfast. We do love this old listed building. You are right there are a couple of areas where ,if you are very tall you may have to be careful,but most of the hotel is fine. If you were very tall it may be worth being in The... More 

Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Crown House is a pleasant family run hotel. It avoids corporate uniformity, and as such comes across as a little erratic, but they try hard and I found it charming. Check-in was informal. My room was reasonably spacious and very nicely decorated and well equipped (bath and separate shower, and a bidet for washing my socks). There are a few... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really do appreciate customer reviews,so thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We are very lucky to have a wide selection of rooms, we do have ground floor rooms, but it is as you say, a good idea to check when making your reservation with us, especially if mobility is an issue. The plates... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. Wasn't my first choice, but when my original hotel was fully booked, stayed here instead. Very pleasantly surprised. Nice staff, reasonably priced, clean and relatively comfortable. Room a bit cramped, so wouldn't recommend for a long stay; but, for one or two nights, it's fine. A bit rural, but good walking trails in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Crown House, I am pleased that we were able to accommodate you when your other hotel was fully booked, and that you had a pleasant stay. We have various room sizes, if people want a bigger room and we can move guests we are happy to do so. We do allocate the larger... More 

UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2015

we stayed here for one night found it on my apple map by chance very nice hotel friendly staff the room was nice the double bed was a bit small dinner was ok lovely cheese board tho the breakfast was great (buffet) couldn't fault it i would stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We really value customer reviews,thank you for taking the time to post this one on The Crown House. We are pleased that you enjoyed your food and liked your room. We have a variety of bed sizes, perhaps if you return you might like to try one of our super king size beds. Our Four Poster beds are antique and... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2015

Pleasant hotel, nice room, good powerful shower. Room was in the block across the courtyard. It was up a spiral staircase, which was fine for us but if your mobility isn't great you could check that you don't have to negotiate that. Quiet at night. Staff very helpful and human. Food fine, maybe a little overpriced for what it was,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Crown House,we are really pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us. The Crown House is a very old hotel, we do have rooms on the ground floor for people with mobility issues, and yes it is a good idea to check with us where your room is, especially if booked on line. we... More 

Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Near to Cambridge 10 minutes by train, station nearby. Lovely hotel, great food, nice ambience, helpful friendly staff. Set in a lovely quiet village. We stayed in the main building, grounds beautifully kept. We are already planning our next visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are very lucky at The Crown House, being both tucked away in a pretty village and yet so well placed, to be, as you say convenient for the train to Cambridge or London. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us More 

Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2015

We stayed in the courtyard across from the main hotel. The room was clean and nicely decorated.. Liked the exterior of the hotel – very pretty. Good value stay. The staff were very friendly. If we are in the area again, we would stay here. Would recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing The Crown House Hotel, it is appreciated, especially from an experienced reviewer such as yourselves.We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

First I would like to say after reading the reviews before staying at this Hotel on arriving I wondered if it was the same place. On arrival in reception the floor looked like it could do with a good sweep, but we had a warm welcome from the lady on reception and she gave us a choice of two room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
twicksy, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown House, responded to this review

We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We, as a team, work really hard and genuinely care about our guests. We would have found it helpful if you had spoken to us at the time of your stay as we are unable to identify some of your photographs, they have been taken at very... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Chesterford
8.2 mi away
The Cricketers' Arms
The Cricketers' Arms
#1 of 3 in Saffron Walden
4.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cambridge Duxford M11 Jct 10
2.4 mi away
Duxford Lodge
Duxford Lodge
#1 of 1 in Duxford
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Saffron Hotel
The Saffron Hotel
#2 of 3 in Saffron Walden
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Sheene Mill Hotel
The Sheene Mill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Royston
4.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
3.5 of 5 stars 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay