We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Best Western to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

213 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    84
    82
    29
    13
    5
See reviews for
51
57
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (67)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We visited the Ivy Hill for afternoon tea after reading reviews for my mother in laws birthday. On arrival there was a ruby wedding anniversary party taking place with lots of small children running around in the bar area. Although they were not a problem they were excitable and a little loud. The staff closed off the area where they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my boyfriend stayed here 2 weeks ago (May 16th) after I booked the room (well in advance) at the beginning of August 2014. I reserved the room for the rate of £125 without breakfast back in August, assuming this would be the best rate considering how in advance I had booked. However a day or two before we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel on business it found it to be very pleasant with a full range of amenities. There is a very goose restaurant located within the hotel serving a good variety of food at a reasonable cost. The bar area is comfortable & the hotel throughout is very clean & tidy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and the facilities on offer, this week we have opened The Lounge and Bar, a new area within the hotel for relaxing with a drink or coffee, enjoying afternoon tea or a light snack. We look forward to seeing you again when... More 

London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a family wedding. It's a really pleasant little hotel. The rooms are relatively basic but clean and nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was good. Only gripe - we are a family with small children (which we explained upon booking). For some reason we were given rooms very close to a function room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to the hotel. I am pleased you liked your room although a little surprised that you considered it to be basic, we are a top end three star hotel and our rooms are well equipped and we offer free wifi. Apologies that your room was located near to the function room,... More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked the oversize room for a 2 night stay in late April and we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious and whilst it had a view of the back of the kitchen, it wasn't noisy at all. What was noisy was our next door neighbour who decided at 3.00am in the morning that he was too drunk to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked the room you were allocated and were well looked after by the team. I can only apologise for the disturbance from other guests in the early hours. This is not a problem we usually experience and our guests are usually tucked up in bed... More 

Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a family wedding. Our room was a little too warm for us, even with the radiator switched off, other than that it was a lovely room with everything needed for a short stay. The hotel itself is well presented but the entrance/exit from the road could be better. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Food was delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the wedding you attended and the rest of your stay, with the exception of the warm room, it is hard at the moment to balance the temperature with it keep changing and dropping, especially at night. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I must be honest here, for some reason the best western chain filled me with forboding, probably based on an experience many moons ago. As such I have never returned. I am now rather ashamed to admit that I have been rather hasty to hold down such a strong negative opinion. I visited the Ivy Hill out of necessity ,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Best Western Ivy Hill. Each Best Western hotel is individually owned and independently operated but has to meet certain standards to be part of the brand. This can result in varying standards across the group but we always achieve a very high score at our annual inspections and... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Spent a lovely night at the Ivy hill comfy room nice décor hotel and grounds very nice. Booked a meal in the Bartellas restaurant on site. The food was delicious and the staff very attentive. A thoroughly enjoyable stay .

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

Fleet, Hampshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

My wife and I stayed at Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel for a couple of nights while we visited RHS Garden Hyde Hall (and a couple of others). It is pretty convenient for this. The hotel was very good and the people who worked there, both the hotel's own staff and the those at Bartella's Restaurant, were excellent - friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the area and time with us at the hotel, I will pass your comments on to the team and we look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

West Midlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

Stayed for one night arriving 8.30pm on a Sunday. Reception was friendly and efficient. When I asked about food I was told the restaurant closed at 4pm on a Sunday but I could get something from a reduced menu in the lounge. Once there another member of staff told me that I could order a sandwich. After I expressed disappointment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Apologies for the confusion over the menu we offer for hotel residents on a Sunday Night, the restaurant does close at 4pm but we do have a reduced menu which operates until 9.30pm. I will ensure management look into the other points you have raised but I can assure... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay