We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

3.0 of 5 Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    26
    12
    5
See reviews for
47
51
8
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (66)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (41)
All months
Exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Easy parking, efficient check in, smart room and everything sparkling clean. Hotel style is smart, glitzy 70s. rather than contemporary. Feature room with four poster was comfortable and well appointed although bottled water and real coffee would have been appreciated. Bedding was especially good - crisp, white and pristine. The quality and presentation of the food at dinner was excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that in the main you enjoyed your visit, the product and the service we offer however I would like to respond to a couple of your points. We are only a three star hotel and in many areas we exceed the requirements for this level of... More 

east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were recommended this hotel by family and were not disappointed. There are not many places to stay round ingatestone in Essex. As we couldn't get into our first choice hotel in Margereting we booked the Ivy Hill. What a lovely place to stay just outside the village of Ingatestone. Pleasant staff and very welcoming. They upgraded our room on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were well looked after by the team and enjoyed the room you were upgraded to. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in the area and maybe next time you'll have time to try our fabulous afternoon tea. Jason Bartella Managing... More 

Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
68 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely boutique style property, small and intimate with good sized, spotless clean bedrooms. We attended for a client event and the chef created an amazing bespoke menu of excellent quality food. Staff very polite, only niggle being have to look for staff in the reception coffee lounge area to request drinks. Breakfast worth a mention as cooked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and were impressed by the quality of the bedrooms and the dinner that the team prepared for you, I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team. Apologies that you had a couple of minor niggles during your... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A very pleasant dining experience as part of a corporate function. We had to pre-order the three courses but the food was very good as was the service. The starters were satisfactory, the roast pork main course was a delight and the desserts very good - plus the bottles of wine were reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed the meal you had with us and hope that if you are in the area again, for business or pleasure you might choose to visit again. Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Attended a 70 th birthday party, and it was near perfect from a guests point of view.Overnight stay in a lovely room and a stroll in the grounds before check out. Staff were welcoming and the bar tender was great, on departure the Receptionist was very helpful in phoning round to get us a Taxi. Would be a superb Wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed both the event you were attending and the accommodation, I will make sure your comments are passed on to the team. We do our very best to ensure that if people are not attending the event within the hotel they are allocated the... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped here for one night only to attending a business brief the next day. We booked both the accommodation and the Conference room at the same time. Hotel is just off the beaten track , but take it from me after my experiences of Best Western hotels, they seem to be all in need of a make over, but not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and considered us to be the best Best Western, we work hard to ensure that we exceed the targets that as a brand they set us and we recently had our annual inspection, the assessor also praised us very highly.... More 

Essex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

We booked the Ivy Hill Room at this hotel for my 60th birthday several months in advance. There was a Robbie Williams Tribute Night being held the same night and we asked on three occasions if this would interfere with our party and were told no, there would be a buffer room between us. On the afternoon of the event... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent celebration with us and I am sorry to hear that it did not meet your expectations, although it is good to know that you and your guests enjoyed the food, service and bedrooms. Your event was booked in our Ivy Suite on December 22nd, I can only apologise if someone misled you... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2015

This was a business trip for the estate of my deceased mother. The hotel was a very pleasant place to stay. The only quibble is that the communal computer was not working but the staff was helpful and allowed me to use the one at the desk

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and sorry you were not visiting us in happier circumstances. I am pleased that you were well looked after by the team and apologies that the computer was not working, this has now been fixed. We do hope to see you if you are in the area again Jason Bartella Managing Director More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

This is the fourth time i have had afternoon tea at this hotel but what has happened. We were a group of 4 and allowed to chose which table we sat at and picked one just outside the the restaurant near a window. We were on the deal and asked if we would like our proseccco while we waited for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your recent visit to Ivy Hill, which I was very disappointed to read and I am sorry that we failed you on this occasion. Having visited before you know that this isn't the standard of service I would expect any guests to be offered and I am looking in to all of the points... More 

Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2015

A group of us enjoyed good food in a very convivial banqueting suite where the staff went the extra mile to ensure an excellent time was had by all. The entertainment was ok and encouraged dancing to give the event an excellent atmosphere.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HLGroup, Owner at BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review following your visit to the hotel for New Year's Eve. I am pleased you were well looked after by the team and enjoyed the evening, it is also nice to hear you considered it to be good value. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon, remembering we are not only... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel

Address: Writtle Road | Margaretting, Chelmsford CM4 0EH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Chelmsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chelmsford
Chelmsford Best Western
BEST WESTERN Ivy Hill Hotel Chelmsford, Essex
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chelmsford
#3 Business Hotel in Chelmsford

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay