We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Brentwood B&Bs / inns

The Kilns Hotel

Warley Street | Great Warley, Brentwood CM13 3LB, England
Hotel amenities
The Kilns Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Brentwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brentwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    14
    10
    9
See reviews for
24
37
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My sister and I took our mum for a Mother's Day treat. The staff could not have been more helpful, our waiter returned several times to check we had sufficient tea and made up doggy bags for the cakes we could not manage to eat. There was a great selection of sandwiches and cakes and all were delicious. This hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waltham Abbey, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this deal through Groupon for me and my mum. Before going I read some really bad revues. I was very apprehensive as my mum was so looking forward it. We arrived on time, the staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Champagne was lovely as we're the sandwiches and cakes were delicous too. We couldn't eat it all. A very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you for your very kind comments, it was a pleasure to have you and your mum dine with us for Afternoon Tea and we are really glad you both enjoyed it. It is unfortunate that some guests chose to use Trip Advisor to write unnecessary (and often not factual) negative comments on a public forum rather... More

London
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
49 hotel reviews
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I like to enjoy a few Afternoon Tea offers when they are available and have dined in some lovely restaurants who make a big effort on their Afternoon Tea selection. Sadly The Kilns was only "average". I attended the restaurant with my sister, her friend and my mother for afternoon tea 2.45pm on a Friday afternoon. Upon arrival the car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MiaG Thank you for taking the time and opportunity to review your experience at The Kilns hotel which was purchased via a Groupon Voucher. We are sorry to hear that you found your visit to us as ‘average’. We are surprised you felt this way as we have many non-Groupon guests who return to us on a regular basis... More

Swaffham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was looking for a hotel to stay over one or two nights a week on a regular basis. The Kilns ticks all the boxes! The room is very quiet, clean and of a high standard. The staff a so friendly and very helpful. The restaurant has a small but good quality menu A cooked breakfast is an extra charge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HevaF Thank you so very much taking the time to write such kind comments about your stay at The Kilns Hotel. We pride ourselves on providing a clean, quiet and welcoming environment for all our guests and your feedback is very encouraging for the team here who work so hard. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really not impressed with this hotel. When we told the manager that the bed we had been given was uncomfortable, he said that lots of people specifically ask for that bed because it's so lovely. Well, lovely if you like metal springs sticking through. He did give us another room though. When the wifi there did not work, he told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lynden B Thank you for taking the time to review The Kilns Hotel and we are sorry that you felt unimpressed following your stay with us. I think there may be some confusion, as you appear to have been speaking with our Head Barman rather than the Hotel Manager on the night of your stay. Our barman is correct... More

Chelmsford
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went on a Groupon deal and would have been even more disappointed to have paid the full price. The sandwiches were basic, the ham was thin sliced, and the cakes were very small. There is no choice of tea you get what they give you. The dining room was small and not very well decorated. with white china. Do yourself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Judith52 Thank you for taking the time to write feedback on Tripadvisor, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit for a Groupon Afternoon Tea. Groupon advertised very clearly the Afternoon Tea menu for customers to review prior to purchasing, however we would have wished that you bought to one of our staff’s attention during... More

Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the middle of March 2014, Alex on reception was extremely welcoming and efficient. Went for a cycle ride around some very quiet lanes, considering the location. Handy for the many golf clubs in the area. Nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Philip V Thank you so very much for taking the time to write such kind comments about your stay at The Kilns Hotel. Our team work very hard to ensure that our guests have a pleasant and relaxing stay. It is also good to hear that you enjoyed our local countryside on your bike... I hope the hill in... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

had a groupon otherwise we would have walked out, unaspiring choice of sandwiches, with some cress scattered on as decoration, the smallest pastries I have every seen, if you put a grape on top them it would have covered the surface completely, the scones where nice, the cream seemed too thick to be real clotted cream, and there was only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kilns, Manager at The Kilns Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Spirited74 Thank you for taking the time to review The Kilns on Tripadvisor following your visit to us via Groupon for your discounted afternoon tea. We are very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with some of the food featured in your Groupon offer and that for the price of your voucher it could not include unlimited tea... More

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my bridal party booked in here for the night before and night of the wedding. Staff were beyond helpful and attentive, they squeezed 10 of us in for dinner last minute and provided us with the highest standard of customer service, and I have stayed at some very impressive hotels so around the world. On the day of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Went to kilns with a friend for her birthday.The staff were very friendly esp pat the manager who couldnt do enough for us.The food was lovely and just the right amount for afternoon tea would highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Kilns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kilns Hotel

Also Known As:
The Kilns Hotel Brentwood, Essex, UK
Address: Warley Street | Great Warley, Brentwood CM13 3LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Brentwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Brentwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built Circa 16th century, The Kilns Hotel is a classical Grade II listed Queen Anne’s building having undergone many period changes over the years. A favorite with business travelers and people visiting friends or just Brentwood.The hotel retains much of its original charm and character. However, much of its period features have been lost over time but has now evolved into an extremely comfortable, modern and contemporary style petite hotel with an air of sophistication, rarely found outside central London.During your stay, you can experience our excellent food and selection of fine wines while dining at The White Napkin Restaurant and Bar (Essex Food & Drink Awards 2010/11 finalists) which can be used by our residents, and is open to non-residents. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kilns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Kilns Hotel to your Saves list