We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Hart Hotel

3.0 of 5 Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    61
    33
    16
    17
See reviews for
39
58
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (35)
All months
Wethersfield, null, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel has much improved with the relatively new management. Good accommodation and a breakfast to die for. Central to Braintree this old coach house is steeped in history and a venue I have used since 1974.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

I go here fairly frequently for drinks and a catch up with friends. I like the White Hart because although the prices are higher than the other bars in the area, the atmosphere is lovely and homely. The staff are friendly and efficient and seem to be very knowledgeable and the seats are comfy. It doesn't normally get too busy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Almeria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Good service. Excellent choice for breakfast. Food good in restaurant. Good facilities in room. Parking. Location in the middle of town. Friendly staff. Great value. Quaint town and hotel. We had a room with beams.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Well the title says it all, we booked this hotel as it apparently has under gone refurbishment recently. Firstly when we drove in to the town our hotel was over to our right and as we did not know where the parking was we turned left and parked up. My wife ran back to the hotel and guess what we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Room was quite loud, staff was helpful with arranging breakfast outside of regular time due to odd arrival and departure times. Was disappointed to be lodged near main stair for stay between two night shifts as it made it difficult to sleep.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Bit of a surprise this one...... The rooms were clean and comfortable, the food was excellent and the beer was well kept. Only down side was the smell coming from the glass washer. ....CLEAN THE PIPES. I would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Didn't stay at the hotel; but ate having had a disaster at an alternative venue. Having not booked they made our party of 9 feell wlecomed and immediately offered great service for dinrkns and tkaing orders. The food was delivered quicky and efficiently and a good time was had by all. The standout dishes were the chocalte brownie and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We chose here as it was close to the people we were visiting Rooms are clean and comfortable however our room was on top of a very busy bar and overlooked the car park where people were smoking. A noisy experience Breakfast wasnt great if i'm honest, pretty average When checking out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here overnight recently. We have stayed with this chain before and have always been satisfied. We have a few observations to share with management about the room we stayed in (room 1). Firstly, shower curtains are a no no - along the hem at the bottom, there was a build up of grime which we feared harboured germs.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the White Hart. We appreciate your comments regarding the items in your room. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to Old English Inns soon. More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The White Hart. We have stayed with the Old English Inn chain before and once again they didn't disappoint! The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding area or even having a relaxing day at Frinton beach. The rooms are clean, spacious and really comfortable, shower was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The White Hart and that you had a fantastic holiday. We hope that you return to Old English Inns soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Room/suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay