We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Hart Hotel

Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

224 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    61
    84
    40
    19
    20
See reviews for
52
81
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (224)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Andy at the reception was very polite and helpful. The bedroom was slightly dark in decoration but the room and bathroom were very clean with all facilities including tea and coffee making. The bed was comfortable and the bed lined was crisp and clean so a very comfortable night was had. The evening meal was taken in the bar. Slightly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here because we were going to a wedding nearby. The room was clean and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in away from home! Generally the hotel could do with updating and a lick of paint. We were in room 27 and the door to room 28 was adjacent and the people in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you had a comfortable nights sleep and in general enjoyed the service. I will speak to my breakfast team about the slow service you received to ensure this doesn't happen again. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

Maastricht
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Before leaving England we were at the White Hart for one night. Is is a pity that all Old English Inns have the same menu, but dinner was good. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Room was clean and we could park our car on the backside of the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and dinner with us, I will share your review with the chefs. I do hope when you visit England again that you choose to stay with us. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visting Chelmsford evening racing/music which was about 6 mls away. This was a good choice of hotel to stay the night. The staff were so attentive expecially Becky at checking/evening bar and then breakfast she was always smiling. Didnt have evening meal but breakfast was superb. Good choice to suit everyone. I had scrambled eggs on toast which was great.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I will be passing your lovely feedback onto Jamie, Becky and the team, who I know will appreciate the mentions. We hope to see you again for a visit. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a good experience staff where helpful and very friendly one of the best ever presented breakfast served on hot plates and with a smile from the waitress beds where comfortable the only problem was the winding staircase otherwise good the location was also good centre of town

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found every to be as it should. We do hope you will stay again very soon. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This wedding was all booked up so they were aware it was going to happen. They wasn't many of us a party of 12 Adults 6 kids. Once we got there the table wasn't ready which was fine,so we had pre dinner drinks. when we went to our table how disappointed was I for my friend who's wedding it was.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We do take all comments seriously and I am disappointed to read what you have to say. I apologise if you felt that the service was not up to the required standard. There were four team members on Front of House Duty and two were allocated specifically for your table,... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So I arrived expecting a half decent room for £50 and was pleasantly surprised. The room we stayed in was well decorated and was clean. I had requested a room with a double and two singles online but got a double and a double pull out. It worked for us but I got the impression that even if it didn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, i will look into the issue you experienced with the locks to ensure this is sorted for future guests. We do hope to see you again soon. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in at the White Hart in Braintree for lunch. Old English Inns sent me a wine voucher for my birthday so decided to use it. We were given a warm friendly welcome by Jamie, who looked after us very well throughout our meal. I ordered the lamb shank, .my husband the steak and ale pie, both were delicious. Our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We love to hear that our guests have had such a great time that they leave planning their next visit! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Me and my friends had a great evening. We had a wonderful meal, at such good priced. David served as at the bar and he was excellent! It was a great evening and I will be coming back. I have told all my family and friends about it. I am so pleased with everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you had a fantastic time with us, and we cant wait to see you again soon. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a very pleasant meal and the service was excellent. They have very good wines and good lagers..It was a great night out and excellent service by Beth. I will definitely come back soon and recommend it to my friends and family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cathy p, Guest Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you found your visit enjoyable, and we look forward to welcoming you (and your friends) back again soon. I will ensure your review is shared with Beth too. Steve and the team at The White Hart More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Braintree
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree - Freeport Village
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Braintree
5.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 1 in Halstead
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Braintree - A120
5.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coggeshall
3.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Swan
The Swan
#1 of 1 in Thaxted
3.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay