We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Braintree hotels

White Hart Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Hotel amenities
White Hart Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added White Hart Hotel to your Saves list
60%
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Braintree
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
thorpe47 London
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    59
    31
    16
    17
See reviews for
39
56
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (161)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (31)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Didn't stay at the hotel; but ate having had a disaster at an alternative venue. Having not booked they made our party of 9 feell wlecomed and immediately offered great service for dinrkns and tkaing orders. The food was delivered quicky and efficiently and a good time was had by all. The standout dishes were the chocalte brownie and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose here as it was close to the people we were visiting Rooms are clean and comfortable however our room was on top of a very busy bar and overlooked the car park where people were smoking. A noisy experience Breakfast wasnt great if i'm honest, pretty average When checking out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed here overnight recently. We have stayed with this chain before and have always been satisfied. We have a few observations to share with management about the room we stayed in (room 1). Firstly, shower curtains are a no no - along the hem at the bottom, there was a build up of grime which we feared harboured germs.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay here at the White Hart. We appreciate your comments regarding the items in your room. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return to Old English Inns soon. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at The White Hart. We have stayed with the Old English Inn chain before and once again they didn't disappoint! The location is perfect for exploring the surrounding area or even having a relaxing day at Frinton beach. The rooms are clean, spacious and really comfortable, shower was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The White Hart and that you had a fantastic holiday. We hope that you return to Old English Inns soon. More

Algoz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our first experience was in the car park when we arrived to see an elderly gentleman trying to get out of the parking,he hit two cars, then reverse into the wall, his passenger went into report to the manager who was not at all interested. Our room was pleasant, nice big bathroom, which had windows that opened. The bedroom area... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit here. It can on occasions get very warm in the dining room and I am sorry that you and your party suffered the high temperatures on that particular weekend. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and that Nigel was able to assist you. More

Chorley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Very friendly first impressions in this pub/hotel by the staff. Easy check in and were given a superior room with a quirky ceiling and not a straight wall in sight! Even the wardrobe appeared to be leaning back against the wall! Lovely bathroom, seemed to have been upgraded recently? The pub also seems to have been refurbished and really lovely,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shona, I really appreciate your lovely comments about your recent stay here at the White Hart. I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you return soon. More

Essex
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
24 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked an executive room which was in the old part of the building, it is in central Braintree and when we arrived we found a car parking space easily enough in the hotel car park which although is small, does the job. We were met at reception by a charming gentlemen who made us feel welcome and helped us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Where possible we will try to accommodate requests for early check ins if guests are attending a function elsewhere. We are usually able to get keys issued and guests into their rooms but we cannot guarantee that they will be serviced at that particular point... More

Braintree, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Thought we would try the white hart again as since it's been revamped the food has not been upto what it should be, but sadly ,still no change, meat over cooked, and most of our meals , where warm , the staff are still very friendly and do try their best but the food lets it all down , the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lesley I do appreciate your comments and will always take them seriously. I am obviously sorry that you did not enjoy your experience and would like to speak to you directly about it. Could you please contact me at the hotel? I do not like to disappoint regular customers so would like the opportunity to talk to you. More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room, which was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting outside in the sunshine in the early evening having a drink, and had a lovely meal later on. The breakfast was great - cereal and fruit to start with, then a good old English breakfast. Our only problem was finding the car park,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. The one way system in Braintree can be a little tricky so for anyone using satnav, the best postcode to use is CM7 9BZ and this will bring you directly to the car park. We... More

Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from a night at this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the owners and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. There was a good selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and above average biscuits in the room and the bathroom was equipped with plenty of soft, white towels, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay (and the cheeseboard!) and hope that do return to visit us soon. Thank you for your kind words and for writing a review. More

Do you own or manage White Hart Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Braintree
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Braintree
White Hart Hotel Braintree, Essex

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay