We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Hart Hotel

Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    46
    79
    36
    18
    19
See reviews for
46
71
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (198)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Very lovely hotel comfortable bed good breakfast but parking very full had no wear to park lovely town but room on noisy street people walking past shouting but enjoyed the hotel very clean staff friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
Watford
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful hotel, fab service and fast check in from Nigel. Great location. We arrived too late for dinner, but I can highly recommend the Thai opposite. Room was very nice, with a comfy soft bed which I was more than happy with. Breakfast was served in a pretty, high ceiling'd dining room. Service was fast, but there was a mix... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear that you had a very enjoyable visit and even more so that you plan to return. I can only apologise for the mix up at breakfast and hope that this did not affect your overall enjoyment of the experience. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you here again soon. More 

essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Regular for meeting friends, drink, but second time of lunch with family.,what a poor poor time. Waited 22 mins from starter before having to go to bar to enquire where mains were at around 1.15pm Friday 4/6/15 after great waiting staff went to check, food arrived within minutes, my sons steak was well done Instead of medium rare. Food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am sorry that you had another disappointing experience. I can only reiterate my response to your previous review that you please contact me directly here at the hotel so that I can address the issues with you. Once again, I apologise that you did not enjoy your visit and I hope to hear... More 

Chipping Ongar, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

Maybe we hit a very good offer when booking for one night's stay of £50/day. We had a sizeable bedroom overlooking the Hotel's courtyard. Everything was modern and I have never come across a shower floor tray over four feet long before. The dining room was tasteful. The evening meal I had was a good cooked rib-eyed steak. I thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review - we always appreciate constructive comments from our guests. I am sorry that some of the meal was not to your liking. We always encourage you to bring any matter to the attention of the Duty Manager so that we can rectify anything that you are not entirely satisfied with. I am pleased that you... More 

Inverclyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We travelled down to Essex from Scotland for a friend of the families funeral, after a tiring journey on the A1(M1) we arrived around 7pm. A welcoming friendly face greeted us at reception and noticing we were tired gave us a room as close from reception as she could. Our Room was newly decorated and spotlessly clean even at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

We really appreciate your kind words, particularly regarding the team, and I will make sure that they are aware of your review. They do work extremely hard to satisfy our guests and to get recognition for that is great encouragement for them. Thank you for taking the time to post a review and we very much do hope that you... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

We stayed here during the Good Friday in April for one night. The service is good and friendly staff. No complaints it's everything that we expected. The room clean and comfortable and the food in the restaurant was enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the White Hart. I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable time and we very much hope that you come back to visit us soon. More 

Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2015

Myself and my wife stayed here on a midweek night recently whilst travelling in the area on business, and had a very nice time. The hotel is perfectly placed right in the heart of Braintree, with plenty of off-street parking next to the property, which is an added bonus whilst in a downtown location. The check-in is a bit confusing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a detailed review and I am extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. The majority of our rooms have walk-in showers but we do have a selection of rooms that have baths and are happy to allocate them to those who have a preference. I will pass on your lovely comments to the chefs... More 

Cornwall
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

Stayed here for work reasons, to be honest I'm not a fan of staying in pub based hotels as they are often noisy and can be cramped but the White Hart is a definite exception there are a surprising number of rooms and mine was well finished and had good wifi (free via Cloud) I went out for dinner so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to read your review and I am very grateful that you took the time to write it. We are in the town centre and close to all amenities so I am pleased that you had a relaxing stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

I originally come from Braintree and never thought I would ever stay here. When I had the opportunity to do so I was very pleased but unsure as to how it would be inside. After growing up and seeing it everyday from the outside I had often wondered what it would be like on the inside. A friendly welcome followed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to the White Hart. I am delighted that your stay was a pleasant one and that it was the best on your travels - and we are more than happy to accept your bias! I have passed on your comments to the team and we do hope... More 

bicester, oxfordshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We stayed here on a B&B basis for one night in order to visit Chelmsford City Races. The hotel has limited parking, which is free to guests. Checking in was easy and friendly. Our room was fabulous! We were lucky enough to get a room in the old part of the hotel, which had wobbly floors and walls which just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the White Hart. We are conveniently located for the new Chelmsford City Racecourse and I hope that you were lucky your visit there! We hope that you come back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay