We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

White Hart Hotel

3.0 of 5
Bocking End, Braintree CM7 6AB, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    73
    35
    18
    18
See reviews for
44
65
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (48)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (36)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (44)
All months
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at this hotel twice now and both times have really liked it. Its a historic building so appeals to me much more than the clinical newer hotels. OK so everything isn't brand new, but so what, everything is good quality and clean! On both visits the management and all of the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

The team at the White Hart would like to thank you for your review, your comments are very important to us. It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations and gave great value for money. I will pass on your positive comments about our professional staff and management... More 

New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located close to city centre, Small but decent rooms, Good Breakfast. The issue is the Hotel closes at 10 pm and check-in is not possible thereafter. if you have checked in earlier, you are given main gate key to access the hotel during late hours.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Your review of the White Hart is very important for us to maintain and improve our standards and we thank you for taking the time in writing one. I am very glad that you feel the hotel is very comfortable and our inclusive breakfast to a very good standard. We do have a check in policy of before 10pm, however... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for our wedding night. The superior room was amazing. Wish it was my room at home. But due to no heating. The room was freezing and my husband was so cold all night. It did come with electric heater but didn't heat the room up. Would need another heating or 2 to keep the large room warm. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review on your recent stay for your wedding night. I am so very glad that you have such a memorable stay on such a special occasion and that you thought our superior room is amazing. Just to inform you that the problems with our heating system have now been resolved. I do hope we have the pleasure... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten here a couple of times whilst house hunting. Pleasant dining area and good selection of drinks and well kept beer. Eating area is extensive and there is a good selection on the menu. Efficient service and well presented food but slightly corporate in nature and lacking in any wow factor which precludes a five. Good value and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is very important to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time in giving us vital feedback. I am very glad that you find our food, wine and beer of an excellent quality and that our service is efficient. We do hope that we can exceed your expectations on future visits. More 

Herne bay
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

stayed for one night as we attended a wedding nearby. Staff were friendly, food was nice and good value for money, and room was nice, clean, spacious and well worth the price we paid. Free wifi was a bonus, together with free parking and lovely breakfast before we left. Would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I am very pleased that your experience on your stay with us at the White Hart was excellent and would like to thank you writing a review. I will pass on your comments to the team about their friendly attitude. The excellent food, great value for money and excellent service that you mention is our goal and therefore motivates us... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family get together , food great when it arrives but short staffed long queues at the bar, but cosy clean rooms although only 6 of the 7 rooms had been booked although all had been confirmed , staff rather unapologetic and not really bothered sadly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Your review is greatly appreciated and all your comments are used to help us improve. We are very glad that you enjoyed the food and accommodation at the White Hart. The wait at the bar is unfortunate and does happen on busy nights and is always a challenge for us that we are constantly reviewing. Thank you again and we... More 

Essex
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay here for one night whilst visiting family and we booked their Superior Double ~ the room was freezing cold with no heating coming from the radiator and although there was a small electric heater provided it didn't warm the room at all. There was lots of noise from the bar until closing time (midnight) and then... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and comments on your recent stay with us. I would sincerely like to apologise for the food being to the standard that you expected. I will be reviewing all your comments with the Kitchen Manager so we can take action to improve the standards. Concerning your very valid comments on the heating, it gives me... More 

Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Been here a few times with friends and family. Love the food and the menu. I've also been to a wedding reception that was held here and it was very well organised. Will be definitely be returning. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

It gives me great pleasure to read your positive comments about our food and service. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to continue welcoming you back to the White Hart in Braintree. More 

braintree essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a lovely place to meet friends family etc for a coffee or a meal and a great location.the food is good when you finally get it.unfortunately it is always short staffed and turn over of staff is high. I have never stayed so cannot comment on rooms etc The manager is also very rude

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, Public Relations Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review your comments are always welcome and allows us to constantly improve our standards. Firstly, we are very glad that you enjoy the quality of food that we offer, and that the location and facilities are to your liking. I am very sorry to hear that you have received slow service and would like to... More 

Perth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you need to be in Braintree this hotel is in a excellent location right smack centre of town. Did not eat their apart from breakfast which was fine so cannot comment on evening food. Room was great and so was the service. Would have no issues choosing to stay their again if back in Braintree. Similar price to travel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Steve B, General Manager at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and hope that you come back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (44)
Viewed
Room/suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question