We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ticehurst B&Bs / inns

Bell Inn Ticehurst

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bell Inn Ticehurst to your Saves list
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
82%
Ranked #2 of 3 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
James F Rochester, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (98)
  • Photos (57)
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    32
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
67
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My partner and I had a two night stay here on 11th and 12th August...although we would have happily moved into this gorgeous place for the rest of our lives. We had the "Hush of the Trees" room, which like the rest of the building is quirkily perfect in every way...the tiny details in the room from furniture to incredible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindfield, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here on 29th July 2014. When we arrived we were met with the lovely Sam who kindly told us we'd been upgraded to their best room.....hoorah! He wasn't wrong! The room was huge - on two levels. The decor was fab: vintage & classy. The dinner we had that night in the restaurant was delicious... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank for taking the time to post such a fantastic review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day. We wish you both every happiness with your new bundle of joy! More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay here. Room was top quality with some very quirky features. The way the room was decorated as well as the some of the unusual furniture made the room a bit of a talking point which doesn't normally happen when staying in a hotel! Despite being above a pub the room was also very quiet. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Dear Kelvin Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for such glowing praise. We look forward to welcoming you back in November - and yes, you're right, it is very cosy in the colder months. Best wishes More

Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband treated me to a fantastic stay at The Bell for my birthday and what a treat it was! He had arranged through the hotel for me to have a massage in the room which was sheer bliss! The room itself was spacious and extremely comfortable - I have never slept in such an amazing bed! We loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back! More

Surrey, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A very nice, quirky pub with accommodation. The room was very nice, a good size, and with a good size, clean bathroom. A very comfy bed too. We stayed in the room 'Anything is Possible'. A few nagatives though; The noise from the downstairs bar at the end of the evening was quite annoying, especially when fairly loud music was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Dear Yvieh Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. With regard to the issues you encountered with the room, housekeeping have been taken to task – there should always be toiletries in the room and everything should be working. We do have fans if guests wish to borrow them and I’m sorry you were not informed of... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We spent a Sunday night here. A great deal of money has been well spent on this large traditional pub with rooms - and more is being spent on a function room etc. It is full of character - the gents loo has a very original musical theme -but comfortable and with a very warm welcome. We had the smiles... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi David Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again! Best wishes More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having attended a wedding locally to Ticehurst we stayed at the bell and are so happy this beautiful venue was recommended to us! We stayed in 'benefit of the doubt' room which is beautiful,overlooking the village centre. The original features have been peppered with eclectic touches all over including a tree through the main part of the room, forks and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi Sophie What a lovely review! Glad that Helen helped with the hangover! Thank you for taking the time to post. Hope to see you again. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely property, the owner has obviously put a lot of thought into the design of the rooms- from the top notch toiletries to the filter coffee, quirky art work and very comfortable bed linen. However the evening meal we had in the restaurant left a lot to be desired, in fact it was awful. We did complain on the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post. We’re glad you were happy with your room but are disappointed with the feedback regarding your evening meal. I can only apologise again and assure you that all feedback is addressed with the team to ensure continual reassessment of our offering. More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having searched on the internet for a different and relaxing place to eat lunch, we ended up at The Bell in Ticehurst. We were not disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious and service exceptional. The prices were slightly more expensive than the average 'corporate pub' - we paid £55.00 - for four soft drinks, one starter, two main meals, one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thank you for taking the time to post and for such a lovely review. Hope to welcome you back soon! More

Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have our wedding here last May and it was truly magical. Having stayed there on a whim we completely and instantly fell in love with the venue, the decor was just us and although we were engaged but had no imminent plans for a wedding yet we decided this was where we had to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi Paul and Kaela Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love a good wedding and enjoyed being part of yours. We are very proud of our team here and I will pass on your kind words. And we are always delighted to see you and hope to welcome you one day soon when our new lodges will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bell Inn Ticehurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bell Inn Ticehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Ticehurst

Address: High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Ticehurst 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Bell Inn Ticehurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Ticehurst East Sussex

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Bell Inn Ticehurst and other travelers.
1 question
Questions? Get answers from Bell Inn Ticehurst staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer