We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ticehurst B&Bs / inns

Bell Inn Ticehurst

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bell Inn Ticehurst to your Saves list
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
81%
Ranked #2 of 3 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Ralphus2704 Kent, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (95)
  • Photos (57)
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    32
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
64
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband treated me to a fantastic stay at The Bell for my birthday and what a treat it was! He had arranged through the hotel for me to have a massage in the room which was sheer bliss! The room itself was spacious and extremely comfortable - I have never slept in such an amazing bed! We loved the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A very nice, quirky pub with accommodation. The room was very nice, a good size, and with a good size, clean bathroom. A very comfy bed too. We stayed in the room 'Anything is Possible'. A few nagatives though; The noise from the downstairs bar at the end of the evening was quite annoying, especially when fairly loud music was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Dear Yvieh Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. With regard to the issues you encountered with the room, housekeeping have been taken to task – there should always be toiletries in the room and everything should be working. We do have fans if guests wish to borrow them and I’m sorry you were not informed of... More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a Sunday night here. A great deal of money has been well spent on this large traditional pub with rooms - and more is being spent on a function room etc. It is full of character - the gents loo has a very original musical theme -but comfortable and with a very warm welcome. We had the smiles... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi David Thank you for your kind comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again! Best wishes More

Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having attended a wedding locally to Ticehurst we stayed at the bell and are so happy this beautiful venue was recommended to us! We stayed in 'benefit of the doubt' room which is beautiful,overlooking the village centre. The original features have been peppered with eclectic touches all over including a tree through the main part of the room, forks and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi Sophie What a lovely review! Glad that Helen helped with the hangover! Thank you for taking the time to post. Hope to see you again. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Lovely property, the owner has obviously put a lot of thought into the design of the rooms- from the top notch toiletries to the filter coffee, quirky art work and very comfortable bed linen. However the evening meal we had in the restaurant left a lot to be desired, in fact it was awful. We did complain on the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post. We’re glad you were happy with your room but are disappointed with the feedback regarding your evening meal. I can only apologise again and assure you that all feedback is addressed with the team to ensure continual reassessment of our offering. More

Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Having searched on the internet for a different and relaxing place to eat lunch, we ended up at The Bell in Ticehurst. We were not disappointed. The food was absolutely delicious and service exceptional. The prices were slightly more expensive than the average 'corporate pub' - we paid £55.00 - for four soft drinks, one starter, two main meals, one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi Sue Thank you for taking the time to post and for such a lovely review. Hope to welcome you back soon! More

Bexhill, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky enough to have our wedding here last May and it was truly magical. Having stayed there on a whim we completely and instantly fell in love with the venue, the decor was just us and although we were engaged but had no imminent plans for a wedding yet we decided this was where we had to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Hi Paul and Kaela Thank you so much for your glowing review. We love a good wedding and enjoyed being part of yours. We are very proud of our team here and I will pass on your kind words. And we are always delighted to see you and hope to welcome you one day soon when our new lodges will... More

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Recently stayed here for one night. It was truly amazing. Our room was so well decorated with little touches to add interest. Bed was so comfortable it was a struggle to get up in the morning. We ate at The Bell in the evening and had breakfast the following day the food was brilliant we couldn't fault it. All the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon! More

Burwash, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table for four on Easter Sunday, the food was ok. I do think its a little mean to just give 7 chips with a home made burger! I was looking forward to a lamb roast but, unfortunately they did not have lamb on the menu it was haggot, not quite mutton but in the way. My other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to post. We're sorry you were disappointed with your Sunday lunch. The chips are hand cut and triple cooked which we feel gives a better quality of chip. The chips are larger than you would receive in many other pubs and are not taken from the freezer, so as far as potato content goes you... More

York, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Attended a wedding here,although "quirky" I found it very dark and gloomy. Floors pretty uneven and rather too many steps, several trip hazards if you aren't careful. Wedding breakfast not great . Staff very helpful and polite.Rooms, once again dark and no mirrors in convenient places.Bathroom fine but again very dark.Bed big and comfortable. The owners have tried to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. You raise some valid points. The Bell is quirky and different to most venues, intentionally so. We do have a number of older guests who just love the place but we do appreciate that it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. Your kind comments about... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bell Inn Ticehurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bell Inn Ticehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Ticehurst

Address: High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Ticehurst 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Bell Inn Ticehurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Inn Ticehurst East Sussex

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

See which rooms travelers prefer