We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Ticehurst B&Bs / inns

Bell Inn Ticehurst

3.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bell Inn Ticehurst to your Saves list
Bell Inn Ticehurst
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
82%
Ranked #2 of 3 Ticehurst B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014
toneshirl York, United Kingdom
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    30
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
57
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Attended a wedding here,although "quirky" I found it very dark and gloomy. Floors pretty uneven and rather too many steps, several trip hazards if you aren't careful. Wedding breakfast not great . Staff very helpful and polite.Rooms, once again dark and no mirrors in convenient places.Bathroom fine but again very dark.Bed big and comfortable. The owners have tried to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your views with us. You raise some valid points. The Bell is quirky and different to most venues, intentionally so. We do have a number of older guests who just love the place but we do appreciate that it is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. Your kind comments about... More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

It's a shame I have to give this an average rating. It could be top of the list. We booked all 7 rooms for 2 nights during the Aug heat wave 2013. As a result, with windows open, the rooms at the front were very noisy from traffic. However, everyone was very happy with the standard and cleanliness of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post, Terry, and for the lovely remarks about our staff, especially James. We have a new Rooms and Events Manager, Zoe, who has put systems in place that make the booking experience a much better one now – we can only apologise for the problems you encountered last year. With regard to the... More

Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

What a truly wonderful place to get married, I am a photographer who has been to hundreds of venues, The Bell Inn was brilliant, wonderful food, staff, atmosphere and cosy, nothing was to much trouble and the time turnaround of the room in-between the couple getting married and the reception was incredible, the registrar performing the service was truly fantastic......... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

From someone who sees a lot of wedding venues, your review means a lot to us. Thank you for taking the time to post and for letting us have a sneak preview of a couple of the wedding pics! More

London
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Bell Inn has to now be my favourite pub in Britain. My boyfriend and I recently stayed as a late Valentine's escape and didn't want to leave! Not only was our room enchanting and cozy, but also spotlessly clean and well kept. The staff clearly take great pride in working here, either by making guests feel extremely welcome or... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay so much that you want to return - we look forward to welcoming you back soon! More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited The Bell on Valentine's night albeit for my sister's and her husband's birthdays and we were seated in the "Stable with the table"! Lovely place, the food was really good, good wine and our waitress was extremely attentive. Really excellent service and would love to visit again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post and for such a lovely review. We’re glad you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon! More

Canterbury, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

What a wonderful place, with great character. The upstairs function room is brilliant with a great atmosphere. We didn't stay overnight so can't comment on the. rooms. There is plenty of parking available.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. Hope you can come and stay soon! More

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a very nice 1 night stay here last weekend. The hotel is fun, without coming across like a themed pub/hotel. Staff were very friendly. The room was clean, really nicely designed and the bed was super comfy! The pub was warm and welcoming and the meal in the restaurant area was tasty and service very good. My only... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

We are delighted you had a good stay, clearly our investment in fabulous beds is worthwhile. Thank you for taking the time to post such a good review, it means the world to us. Point taken on the children front. There is no law against children being in pubs these days but we will try and diplomatically handle this issue. More

London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were treated to a stay here by our daughter and we had The Moon Wild room. If you are a person who likes to go to bed early this probably is not the ideal room for you being directly above the bar area with the entrance door slamming constantly until midnight. I would describe the decor as shabby chic... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

We are delighted you had such a lovely treat and thank you for highlighting the water issue in the room. The bottled water is free but it is kept in the mini bar fridge, we need to make that clearer. More

Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I remember reading how much it cost the owner to refurb this place, and it is stunning inside. It was actually the first venue I wanted to get married at, or at least have the reception in. They clearly did not want our money as they never replied to our numerous emails, and we could never speak to anyone with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

I am really concerned to read this review. If you sent your email to reservations@thebellinticehurst.com I have every confidence that Zoe our rooms and events manager would have responded. If you sent your email via the website then clearly we have a problem with our technology which I am taking up with our webmaster. Rest assured all walks of society... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We decided to escape London for an evening and spent the night in Ticehurst at the Bell Inn. It was gastro pub meets roaring fire country pub meets funky and well designed bedrooms. The combination worked. As a Londoner heading to the country for a weekend I think I tend to look for 3 things: an expanse of green space,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jhonnie D, General Manager at Bell Inn Ticehurst, responded to this review

Praise indeed, thank you. Perhaps next time order whatever he is having! We look forward to welcoming you back again when you need respite from London. More

Been to Bell Inn Ticehurst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Inn Ticehurst

Also Known As:
Bell Inn Ticehurst East Sussex
Address: High Street, Ticehurst TN5 7AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Ticehurst
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ticehurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell Inn Ticehurst 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Bell Inn Ticehurst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bell Inn Ticehurst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.