We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Pevensey B&Bs / inns

The Bay Hotel

3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Bay Hotel to your Saves list
The Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
31%
Ranked #3 of 4 Pevensey B&B and Inns
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    14
    8
    19
See reviews for
11
25
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we were desperate to find a hotel for the night due to a change in our plans. The bay hotel were able to accomodate us at a very very reasonable price, and bent over backwards to help us. The rooms were good, and the breakfast excellent value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After reading some of the reviews we were a little apprehensive about staying at the bay, however i am pleased to say we were pleasantly suprised to say the least. A warm welcome, check in no problem, and a nice clean room , perfect size with all the little extras , decent tv , tea/coffee, soap, shampoo and even a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us .Here at The Bay we strive to make all our customers stay a pleasurable one and we are pleased we accomplished this with yourselves. We hope you would consider staying with us again should you ever be in the area many thanks again . More

Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to hold my friends child's 1st birthday party, we needed somewhere that had a play area for the 6 yrs olds to be able to play, the okay area is fabulous all the kids had a great time, food was lovely and reasonably priced, service was great would hight recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your party held at The Bay and that all the children had a good time .At the Bay we do strive and work to make our customers experience a pleasurable one and e are pleased we achieved this with yourself thank you very much for your feedback. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We only stayed one night, but from that we can say that it was a very comfortable and pleasant stay after a long day of travelling. The atmosphere of the pub downstairs was warm and inviting, the food was very good too. It was a Tuesday night that we were there so it was quiet for a pub, all the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Here at The Bay Hotel we always strive to make our customers stay a pleasurable one and are pleased we achieved this with yourselves. Thank you very much for your feedback More

brighton, england
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were meeting far flung family members for a meal in Pevensey Bay, and when I searched for a last minute room in Pevensey, this was the only hotel that came up with a vacancy. Well Pevensey is a very small place. The website I booked on stated that there was only a family room left so that is what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stopped overnight in this hotel and did not have a bad experience. Yes the decor is dated and not to my taste but so what ... it was clean. The Staff were helpful and pleasant, the bed linen was clean as were the bathroom facilities, what more could you want. We didn't sample the food or the beer as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Its an old pub with rooms. Cant expect much but my room was tiny, the windows didnt close properly, the thermostat for the radiator was broken off in the on position and when i woke up the celing aboth the window was leaking. Needs a LOT of renovation. The tap beer tasted wierd too, stick to bottles...

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you dint enjoy your stay but on check out we did explain about the leak that happened that we couldn't predict and as for our beer we, pride ourselves on our cellar management and have a vast amount of people in our pub everyday who comment that our beer is good. As you would have noticed the... More

Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very tired looking hotel which is really just a basic pub with rooms. My room had the stained bedding mentioned in one of the other reviews, ripped net curtains with some very questionable stains on them, no bedside lamp, one small towel holder in the bathroom and (strangely annoyingly) no soap dish in the shower (think about it: it's really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear your stay was not a pleasurable one. We have taken your concerns on board and will act on them asap but had you voiced your concerns whilst staying here we would have tried our best to rectify them but as everyone on departure said their stay was nice we thought everyone was pleased .We have... More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Contrary to the poor reviews given of this hotel, apart from noticing that there were many spelling mistakes, I have stayed in all manner of hotels all over the world, both on business and for pleasure , I can safely say that for me and my two sons, the Bay Hotel has been very friendly indeed and most accommodating of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed there because it was such a cheap hotel for the night and thought that it would be okay. But no. The staff were impolite and aggressive when i wanted to make a complain about the bedding. I didnt expect to go to the hotel to find stains on the bed covers and sheets, Hairs in the bathroom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Having read your comments we are sorry your stay was not to your liking but had you raised the issues whilst staying we would have addressed them immediately. We did not receive any complaints concerning your bedding if we had we would have acted on it. We always strive to give our customers a warm welcome and a comfortable stay... More

Been to The Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Hotel

Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Pevensey, East Sussex, England
Address: 2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Pevensey
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Pevensey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.