We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bay Hotel

2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Pevensey B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015
Dawn K Yeovil, United Kingdom
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    15
    17
    11
    23
See reviews for
12
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (78)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Run down rooms, rude staff, unprofessional, poor showers, uncomfy beds, overall not a good place to stay. House rules dictate you have to buy food and drink from the hotel bar, you are not allowed to take anything to your room not purchased from the Hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was meant to be a lovely weekend away for me and my partner. As soon as we reached the car park it didn't feel good. We walked into a public bar with our bags - no reception area. The decor, the choking smell of stale smoke from when you could smoke in bars and the dirt of the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

On arrival at The Bay you were politely shown our reception area and you requested to see the room you had booked. Upon completion of the viewing you informed us that you were unable to stay in the room as it was above a public house, this is stated on all our websites. We politely explained to you our company... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pevensey hotels

Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

We were looking for a b&b in the Eastbourne area for one night as we were attending a funeral and had to travel a long distance. We wanted one that had free parking on site, was a reasonable price and included breakfast. The Bay Hotel had all of these. Plus lovely fresh clean white sheets and towels. The food was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

we have just spent 6 weeks at the bay , due our move from london , both val and steve made us very welcome, the food is excellent , i would like to recommend this hotel to any one, it may not be the ritz but you are treated like kings,and made to feel at home

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed at the bay hotel for one night and had a warm welcome, the room was lovely requested a bath and we got that and the manager had confirmed my request by email. She took us up to our room and showed us around nice touch. Breakfast was good and very prompt. All in all would return for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed 3 nights for a short break.Had to walk through clouds of smoke as people were smoking in the lobby,one of whom was a member of staff.Did complain about this whilst checking in.The room was very small and difficult to get round the bed.Headboard rattled as not fixed to bed properly.There was no chair to sit on and only one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, General Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy stay with us as we always stirve to make all our guests stays enjoyable. We have taken all your concerns on board and will certainly look into them. We pride ourselves on the food we serve and all our breakfasts undergo a strict check before leaving our kitchen to ensure they are piping... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

(This place gets one circle only because I couldn't give it a ZERO. Also, we were international travellers (Aussies) on a self-drive holiday. We booked in Australia, going by the photos and description online - which we now know to be totally inaccurate.) The place is a disgrace. We were greeted as though we were an inconvenience and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Valerie W, General Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us .all our guests are given a warm welcome on arrival and this was done with yourselves. We always perform a pre arrival check of our rooms and your room was fine when inspected we did give you a new portable hairdryer which we keep in stock for such unforeseen circumstances... More 

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Needed one night accommodation in the area at reasonable rate. This pub/hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Staff very welcoming, room a bit basic and could do with a good dusting but bedding was clean, plenty of towels and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, choice of toast, cereals, juice, full english or the whole set. Perhaps not for a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My lady and I had an occasion to visit Pevensey Bay for a "do" so I dec ided to book a hotel for the night. I could not have made a worse choice!! On arrival we had to climb almost perpendicular stair case carrying our bags, we are in our seventies. The Stair way was extremely dingy and very badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay with us was not an enjoyable one we strive to make this happen with all our guests. On your arrival as we do with all guests you were asked if you required help with your luggage and the gentleman that checked you in was told that you didn't have many bags and that you would... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel is in a pub but that wasn't a problem the staff were all friendly room was clean plenty of light, sea view plenty of towels, tea, coffee, milk and bottled water, had a meal in the bar that was very nice and hot. Breakfast there was a choice of 9 different cereals tea, coffee juices as well plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay