We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bay Hotel

2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Bay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #2 of 3 Pevensey B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
carrost1 East Sussex, United Kingdom
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    17
    11
    21
See reviews for
12
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (75)
  • Mar-May only
    (14)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have just spent 6 weeks at the bay , due our move from london , both val and steve made us very welcome, the food is excellent , i would like to recommend this hotel to any one, it may not be the ritz but you are treated like kings,and made to feel at home

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the bay hotel for one night and had a warm welcome, the room was lovely requested a bath and we got that and the manager had confirmed my request by email. She took us up to our room and showed us around nice touch. Breakfast was good and very prompt. All in all would return for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed 3 nights for a short break.Had to walk through clouds of smoke as people were smoking in the lobby,one of whom was a member of staff.Did complain about this whilst checking in.The room was very small and difficult to get round the bed.Headboard rattled as not fixed to bed properly.There was no chair to sit on and only one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valerie W, General Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy stay with us as we always stirve to make all our guests stays enjoyable. We have taken all your concerns on board and will certainly look into them. We pride ourselves on the food we serve and all our breakfasts undergo a strict check before leaving our kitchen to ensure they are piping... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

(This place gets one circle only because I couldn't give it a ZERO. Also, we were international travellers (Aussies) on a self-drive holiday. We booked in Australia, going by the photos and description online - which we now know to be totally inaccurate.) The place is a disgrace. We were greeted as though we were an inconvenience and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Valerie W, General Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us .all our guests are given a warm welcome on arrival and this was done with yourselves. We always perform a pre arrival check of our rooms and your room was fine when inspected we did give you a new portable hairdryer which we keep in stock for such unforeseen circumstances... More 

Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

Needed one night accommodation in the area at reasonable rate. This pub/hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Staff very welcoming, room a bit basic and could do with a good dusting but bedding was clean, plenty of towels and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, choice of toast, cereals, juice, full english or the whole set. Perhaps not for a family... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Betchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

My lady and I had an occasion to visit Pevensey Bay for a "do" so I dec ided to book a hotel for the night. I could not have made a worse choice!! On arrival we had to climb almost perpendicular stair case carrying our bags, we are in our seventies. The Stair way was extremely dingy and very badly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay with us was not an enjoyable one we strive to make this happen with all our guests. On your arrival as we do with all guests you were asked if you required help with your luggage and the gentleman that checked you in was told that you didn't have many bags and that you would... More 

Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

The hotel is in a pub but that wasn't a problem the staff were all friendly room was clean plenty of light, sea view plenty of towels, tea, coffee, milk and bottled water, had a meal in the bar that was very nice and hot. Breakfast there was a choice of 9 different cereals tea, coffee juices as well plus... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

Knew this place was getting on abit so wasn't too surprised with the overall condition. The bathroom looked like it had been updated ie tiles but there was no towel rail ,hang wet towels on shower/door . The shower had black mould around the edges and I wiped off the mould on the hose with wet wipes. The room itself... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Dover, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

I must make clear that my rating refers to booking.com not the hotel. Yesterday my husband booked a room for Tuesday night on Booking.com. Today we needed to change that booking and have been charged the full room cost for that night. Do NOT use this company. This is NOT made clear in the booking information. I repeat, please avoid... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014 via mobile

Great for the price, nice big breakfast and a nice sized menu with good sized portions Great location, lots to see and do within a short drive Friendly staff, warm welcome and able to have a nice chat with staff while being served Enjoyed our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question