We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bay Hotel

2-4 Eastbourne Road | Pevensey Bay, Pevensey BN24 6EJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bay Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    15
    16
    18
    11
    22
See reviews for
13
37
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (82)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Thank you Val, Steve and gang for making working away less tedious, rooms were comfy (best sleep I've had in hotels for a long time) food spot on, staff very friendly, It was a pleasure staying with you, would recommend to everyone. Hopefully be back next year. The Ryland's

Was this review helpful? Yes
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review it was our pleasure to have you stay with us and hopefully you will stay with us again. Many thanks again Regards to all More 

Luddenden Foot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Initial impression on arrival in the car park was it was in need of a bit of a refurbishment. The landlady was friendly and welcoming. When she took us to the room she explained the door security which was a brass keypad mechanism which you would normally find on security doors in retail establishments preventing you accessing the staff area.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us as this is always our aim for all our guests. We will take all your observations on board and certainly look into them. Thank you again regards More 

Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have just spent 2 days here with friends and found it very clean and the staff very helpful.. The breakfast was very very good... The only small issue we all had was there was no hooks to hang towels on, but i wouldn't say it was a criticism. Would definitely visit again 👍👍👍

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2015

This lovely, clean and friendly staffed hotel. Serves great no nonsense food cooked to perfection. It is 2 minutes from the beach- perfect is great for a short stop over or cousin days respite. Ideal local bakery for breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea.Thank you Pevensey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

We had a lovely few days here. Breakfast 5*. Everything you could possibly want. Only slight problems. Room small and cold. Was supplied with a small heater when we requested it. Made to feel very welcome

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

It was meant to be a lovely weekend away for me and my partner. As soon as we reached the car park it didn't feel good. We walked into a public bar with our bags - no reception area. The decor, the choking smell of stale smoke from when you could smoke in bars and the dirt of the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Valerie W, Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

On arrival at The Bay you were politely shown our reception area and you requested to see the room you had booked. Upon completion of the viewing you informed us that you were unable to stay in the room as it was above a public house, this is stated on all our websites. We politely explained to you our company... More 

Travelers are raving about these Pevensey hotels

East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

we have just spent 6 weeks at the bay , due our move from london , both val and steve made us very welcome, the food is excellent , i would like to recommend this hotel to any one, it may not be the ritz but you are treated like kings,and made to feel at home

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2015

We stayed at the bay hotel for one night and had a warm welcome, the room was lovely requested a bath and we got that and the manager had confirmed my request by email. She took us up to our room and showed us around nice touch. Breakfast was good and very prompt. All in all would return for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rochester Kent
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2015

Stayed 3 nights for a short break.Had to walk through clouds of smoke as people were smoking in the lobby,one of whom was a member of staff.Did complain about this whilst checking in.The room was very small and difficult to get round the bed.Headboard rattled as not fixed to bed properly.There was no chair to sit on and only one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Valerie W, General Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you did not enjoy stay with us as we always stirve to make all our guests stays enjoyable. We have taken all your concerns on board and will certainly look into them. We pride ourselves on the food we serve and all our breakfasts undergo a strict check before leaving our kitchen to ensure they are piping... More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

(This place gets one circle only because I couldn't give it a ZERO. Also, we were international travellers (Aussies) on a self-drive holiday. We booked in Australia, going by the photos and description online - which we now know to be totally inaccurate.) The place is a disgrace. We were greeted as though we were an inconvenience and had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Valerie W, General Manager at The Bay Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us .all our guests are given a warm welcome on arrival and this was done with yourselves. We always perform a pre arrival check of our rooms and your room was fine when inspected we did give you a new portable hairdryer which we keep in stock for such unforeseen circumstances... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

28 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pevensey
1.0 mi away
Priory Court Hotel
Priory Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pevensey
4.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne
Premier Inn Eastbourne
#16 of 43 in Eastbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
3.9 mi away
Shore View Hotel
Shore View Hotel
#27 of 43 in Eastbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Langham Hotel
Langham Hotel
#2 of 43 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 628 reviews
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Eastbourne - Polegate
4.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
The Grand Hotel Eastbourne
#9 of 43 in Eastbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay