We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Forest Row B&Bs / inns

Chequers Inn Hotel

2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   The Square | Lewes Road, Forest Row RH18 5ES, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chequers Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Chequers Inn Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
  • Reviews (117)
  • Photos (12)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    17
    11
    19
    69
See reviews for
23
44
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Terrible breakfast, bad service, not very clean. Decor is 1970's and not been updated since. Bathroom orange with dodgey tiling. No bedside table or bedside lights, one tea bag in tea making facilities. You have to pay for wifi.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a great experience, Access at night via the back fire escape exit, not closed...open for all to access! The breakfast was awful, toast, coffee. Very dated , not really friendly. gave up trying to use Wifi access........

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

If you need an average hotel here you'll find a decent bed and hot water. But forget about even basic extras, such as a bedside table/light. One day they didn't make the room, simply tucked the sheets in. And the rooms were never cleaned. I noticed because the second day when coming back from a walk in the countryside we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Customer service non- existant, breakfast service was shocking., rroms need a good clean. If returning late access only by rear entrance. Overall i wouldn'y waste your money on this hotel pay the extra and stay elsewhere

Was this review helpful? Yes
holland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Owner inflexible: our itinerary changed and we were half a day late with cancelling (still2 days in advance). Owner did not wave (any of the) fee so we had to make the detour in the trip. Never experienced this before, Family room is old muck and right above the pub so I could actually follow conversations from guests below from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

What a joke, ok rooms are clean but no refreshment facilities,breakfast consited of a small box of cornflackes and a slce of toast, the £65 per night is paramount to theft. p.s. his beer is discuisting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Only a deeply unhappy hotel owner could work so hard to make people's stay such a misery. It can only be the shortage of local competition that keeps this dire place in business. Despite the booking confirmation saying check-in until 22.00 when I rang at 19.00 to ask about parking I was immediately attacked by the owner, Claudio, who said... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I tend to take peoples reviews with a pinch of salt and glad i did on this occassion. Cant understand why all the negative comments! This is a perfectly good little hotel, great location and one of the comfiest beds i have slept in.. Very friendly bar staff and cosy pub environment. Yes rooms are a little tired, especially the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Horsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

we went here a few years ago and nothing seems to have changed , unsafe dual wired electric points......worrying....not clean...cold breakfast and a manager still trying to charge you for what you have not had, needs investigating, bring in alex polizzi hotel inspector .....soon, very soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
70 hotel reviews
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel rooms are more or less ok. The breakfast is terrible. All stuff artificial powder coffee Cheap thea bags one piece of tosted bread no egg no ham no nothing cornflakes thats it Terrible. This owner claudio he is a greedy very greedy hotelier Be carefull when you pay with credict card. His cost of taking the credict card... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ClaudioGP, Owner at Chequers Inn Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you had a bad experience here. You should have been told on arrival that breakfast is free of charge and is continental (Tea/coffee, rolls) there never has been ham, cheese, eggs or anything else offered as part of this complimentary breakfast as all prices are 'Room Only'. If you were not told or did not read the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Chequers Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Chequers Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Inn Hotel

Address: The Square | Lewes Road, Forest Row RH18 5ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Forest Row
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chequers Inn Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Chequers Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Forest Row
Chequers Inn Hotel Forest Row, East Sussex

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 15th-century Chequers Inn is a hotel, restaurant and pub. Enjoy fresh homemade food, en suite rooms, a cosy bar, original oak beams and real log fires. The Chequers is in the Ashdown Forest, part of the High Weald area, which is classified as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The 21 bedrooms are to the quiet rear of the premises, in the 20th-century extension. Conference and banqueting facilities are available. A Payable WiFi service is available throughout the property. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer