We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Bexhill-on-Sea B&Bs / inns

The Sussex Hotel

92 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4AE, England (Formerly The York Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Sussex Hotel to your Saves list
The Sussex Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    5
    9
    10
See reviews for
4
18
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Please this place must close down, room had not been cleaned for ages, electric socket hanging of wall, no towels , one milk provided, no spoon, no shower pressure. 22.00 hrs went down to bar for towels disco was deafening with only 4 patrons. Breakfast was fair but no toast was provided.this hotel is completely run down, no wonder it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for two nites one was fine second was bad very bad. Had live music in the bar, music it was not,two people who thought they could sing but was out of tune and just shouted. Room was cheap and cheerful and basic. Breakfast was good and plenty of it. Won't stay again and won't tell anybody else to. Please... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband & I stayed 2 nights at this hotel. We were greeted quite politely. Our room was quite spacious, comfy bed, but think the cleaner could do with a lesson in proper dusting. Overall the room was comfortable. The first night was nice & quiet but the second night(sun) had live music which was very loud (in all fairness,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

Midhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for one night in August and can only say I was pleased to leave the following day. Check in was pleasant ... but that was about the only thing pleasant about this hotel. Mattress on bed was badly stained and so uncomfortable. Shower recess was filthy and the back entrance to enable guests to get in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Saw this hotel on offer via groupon, only wished we had read the reviews before we booked. From the outside it all looked rather promising, but once inside the pub it looked rather shabby. We were able to check into our room an hour early which we thought was a bit of a result. The barman told us that they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

As a member of a band we stay at many hotels, b&b's etc. On arrival you could be fooled into thinking this seems Ok or even nice. Room was clean to be fair. The on a Friday evening at 10:47pm we go to the bar due to very loud music. We have just finished a gig n think a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Having read previous comments, we were dubious about staying here but our room was large and clean, there was loads of hot water, free WiFi and we were pleased we had given it a try. After a good night's sleep in the comfortable bed we headed down to the bar for breakfast. However, all of the entrances were locked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

If you were passing you probably wouldn't stop, but that would be your loss. Above the pub but no noise from below. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great, hosts were friendly and for a budget priced hotel it was excellent. Would definitely stay again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bexhill-on-Sea, England
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival at the Sussex around six in the evening we was greeted by who I can only asume was a group of the local who insulted my partner when trying to get past them at the entrance unfortunately it did not get any better inside the manager was very busy on her laptop, when she did finally show us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

booked a double room over the phone, only to be told on arrival, that there was only 1 double room. We were put into a twin room and told to shove the beds together! advertised as a 10 bedroom hotel, there are only 7 rooms. The windows are rotten and rattle when windy. The tv didnt work. There was no... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
sussexhotel, Manager at The Sussex Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us however if your concerns were raised with us while you were here we could have dealt with it efficiently and accordingly. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Sussex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Sussex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sussex Hotel

Address: 92 London Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4AE, England (Formerly The York Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Sussex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sussex Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)