We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Bexhill-on-Sea hotels

The Cooden Beach Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cooden Beach, Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Hotel amenities
The Cooden Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cooden Beach Hotel to your Saves list
61%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bexhill-on-Sea
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
brian s Southport, United Kingdom
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    83
    76
    31
    22
See reviews for
65
116
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (309)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (124)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (71)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A very impressive and convenient location, the majority of staff were efficient , very helpful, friendly and polite, hotel appeared well maintained and run by professionals, all rooms both public and bedrooms were clean, though why oh why did they choose to paint the closest staircase to the rear car park at such a busy time, we we're forced to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry you were inconvenienced by the staircase being out of order for decorating, the hotel has an on-going programme of maintenance and decorating and as the winter months are almost as busy as the peak summer time it is necessary to carry out work throughout the year and hopefully cause as little disruption... More

uk
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have stayed here on and off for a few years now. It has always been good value. We stayed again in September 14. This was a family birthday celebration. We had booked a number of rooms. The service was good but most meals had something missing and some were sent back as not cooked. Plates were cleared quickly, even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to learn of your disappointment with your celebration meal, our Restaurant Manager is keen to have dirty plates cleared from guests at the earliest opportunity - in this case it would seem he was a little eager for which we do apologise, he has been made aware of your comments and will... More

Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot comment on the hotel facilities as we didn't actually stay there but what we did do was have a cream tea which cost us £33.00 which was abysmal. We were so disappointed. The coffee was far too strong, we had to ask for tea, everything was brought out at once. The sandwiches were dry, the cakes I could... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with our Afternoon Tea, I can assure you that none of the items we serve were from Iceland, a choice is given of a slice of handmade cake or a selection of mini cakes. If the sandwiches and coffee were not satisfactory a quick word with... More

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as a treat for my birthday a couple of years ago I visit bexhill frequently and visit the hotel often on sunny days. It is in the most lovely setting right on the beach and the train stops outside (no noise) I had the honeymoon suite to myself which was fun huge 4poster bed and a huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate the time you have taken to post a review. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My Mum and Dad love the Cooden Beach and so we stayed in Bexhill to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. We went for the carvery on Sunday - the meat was cooked to perfection and there was a great choice of vegetables. I am diabetic and so I asked that my starter which was a selection of melons could be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you all enjoyed the Anniversary celebrations with us. We are always happy to cater for those with particular dietary requirements. More

Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My whole family love to go to the Cooden Beach Hotel and we even had our wedding anniversary party here for family and friends. The food is outstanding and the service perfect. Our celebration was great, couldn't think of a nicer place to have it. This is by far the best hotel around for food, afternoon tea, spa treatments and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your super review, we are delighted you chose to have your Anniversary celebrations with us and they were enjoyed by all. We appreciate the time you have taken to post your review. More

Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

At the end of July, my wife and I travelled to Bexhill, from the north, for the funeral of my mother. We stayed overnight at the Cooden Beach Hotel, in Bexhill on Sea. Over the years, whilst visiting family, I had often passed by the hotel, but never stayed there. We had a long, slow and difficult journey down to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, your visit to us was for a rather sad reason so to have a warm welcome and positive experience clearly made a difficult trip so much easier to bear and we are delighted to have been a part of that for you. We do appreciate the time your have taken to post your review. More

Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A super location nice hotel friendly staff. Went for a event last night dinner + cabaret, nice food friendly staff a really good night. I have been here many times and never disappointed (only for meals & drinks)

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you always have a good time with us. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beds are very comfortable and room is a good size. The bathroom, however, is shabby and the grouting needs cleaning and the shower soap dish was falling off the wall. Don't bother having a bath because the hot water is very slow and you will end up with an inch of water if you're lucky. The shower was ok however.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to learn you found issues with your bathroom, we do have it in hand to replace the soap dishes in the showers and deep clean the grouting. We are sorry this issue spoilt your stay with us. More

Bromley, Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My niece got married in the Cooden Beach Hotel on 26th July and it was an absolutely superb wedding. The outdoor setting for the wedding was amazing. We stayed in the hotel the night before and our room was brilliant - overlooking the sea. The food at the wedding was wonderful and the suite which was booked was brilliantly set... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CoodenBeach36, Manager at The Cooden Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your terrific review, we are delighted the wedding went so well and was clearly thoroughly enjoyed by all. The time you have taken to post your review and share your experience with others is appreciated. More

Do you own or manage The Cooden Beach Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Cooden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cooden Beach Hotel

Address: Cooden Beach, Cooden Sea Road, Bexhill-on-Sea TN39 4TT, England (Formerly Jarvis Cooden Beach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Bexhill-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cooden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cooden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cooden Beach
The Cooden Beach Hotel Bexhill-On-Sea, East Sussex

67 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Cooden Beach Hotel