We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Randolph Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
3.0 of 5
41 Wangford Rd | Reydon, Southwold IP18 6PZ, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Randolph Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Randolph Hotel
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    55
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
119
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
288 reviews 288 reviews
46 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Pulled up outside The Randolph and instantly could tell this was an old and historic building. The Interior tells this story too. Entered the hotel through the rear side door to walk to the small reception desk. Greeting was ok and functional and our room was not ready so we left our bags in the car. Sat waiting in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Domidge Thank you for your lovely review of room 11, we loved your intriguing review! We also have passed on your comments to the team who are also grateful. We hope to see you again soon (for a Kronenburg or two!) best wishes David and Donna More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a lovely stay at the Randolph this weekend. We wanted to escape the city for the weekend and stay somewhere nice by the sea, and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in room 10 which was immaculately cleaned, nicely decorated with pretty cushions and a throw, with a spacious bathroom and a little balcony. We were both big fans... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katylovesholidays We were delighted to read your review of room 10, one of our kingsize doubles and thank you for taking the time to write it - glad you liked the Harry Sparrow from Aspalls! we do too! Look forward to welcoming you back David and Donna More 

London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Randolph during the Easter long weekend, we were very pleasantly surprised by it. Obviously we'd seen from other reviews on TripAdvisor that this was a great place but it's always good when you see it in person! We arrived early, but they were still able to accommodate us. I'm gluten intolerant and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ladymuck5 We really appreciate it when guests acknowledge how hard we work on our offer and on our customer service, we were therefore delighted to read your review. Thank you so much David and Donna More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife and I just drove to Southwold without booking anything; and came across this hotel through Tripadvisor. We ate in the restaurant and both ordered a ribeye steak cooked medium rare. It was cooked perfectly, which is a bit of a rarity these days. Great breakfast and really nice to see poached smoked haddock and fresh kippers, which we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RobinMelley Thank you so much for your lovely review, I was disappointed to read your other review of how your day panned out in Essex. We hope you can stay longer with us next time. Hope to see you again David and Donna More 

Nw England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

An overnight stop while touring the Suffolk Coast. Warm, clean, friendly. Unpretentious menu with good portions and attentive service. Entrance from rear car park isa little dowdy but don't be deterred - things look up as soon as you're inside!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 45378 Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Our car park area has been tidied up immensely with all new gravel - we couldn't afford to tarmac the entire site, but pleased that you liked the inside of the hotel once you had arrived. Best wishes David and Donna More 

Stanford-le-hope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights in March on arrival we were greeted by a old historic looking building and unsure what to expect. But ...... from the polite and pleasant lady on reception and spying a defibrillator on the wall yes a defibrillator we new it would be a enjoyable and relaxing stay. The Room was exceptionally clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stefan A "As a Hotel and B and B should be!" I need say no more apart from 'Thank you!' your wonderful comments are very valued. Best wishes David and Donna More 

Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at the Randolph Hotel for 2 nights.What a nice place to stay. We were warmly greeted and all the staff were very attentive and friendly.Great food particularly their full breakfast. We had room 12 which is on the top floor and was spacious and modern with a lovely large walk in shower.Central position for Southwold and Minsmere.Would not hesitate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear TerenceL Thank you for your review of room 12, the only room with no bath, but large walk in shower. We are delighted that you enjoyed it. with thanks David and Donna More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
32 hotel reviews
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great historic hotel - ideal for us on a B&B tour around the coast - good value for money - excellent food and right in the heart of Southwold, close to everything you would need for an enjoyable short break stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GRAHAMMCFARLANE Thank you for your lovely review, 5 out of 5 - Very pleased with that, and glad you were too! Best wishes David and Donna More 

Sandwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We stayed here on the recommendation of another Southwold hotelier who was fully booked. The Randolph has a long history (detailed in the hotel brochure) having originally been an Adnams brewery hotel and is now leased to the couple that run it. We got the last room (5) described by the management as being their smallest - however it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dr C Mike P Thank you for your review, we were delighted to be able to look after you when one of the hotels in Southwold couldn't. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our small double room ensuite. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our food, I will pass these on. Glad you liked the reassurance of... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015

Stayed at the Randolph (originally built by the Adnams Brewery) on business. It's a combination Hotel, Conference Venue, restaurant and Pub. It's a good place to stay - the food was good, the beer is Adnams, breakfast was excellent (kippers always a treat). My only (small) gripe is that the sound proofing between rooms isn't up to modern hotel standards... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
David S, Owner at Randolph Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason M Thank you for your lovely review, we don't get many babies staying at the Hotel, but on this occasion we obviously did, apologies if it disturbed you, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay all the same Best wishes David and Donna More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question