We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Southwold hotels

The Swan Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
71%
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Anne S McMurdo Station, null, Antarctica
  • Overview
  • Reviews (316)
  • Photos (85)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (74)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

316 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    98
    67
    26
    9
See reviews for
42
200
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McMurdo Station, null, Antarctica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After many trips to Southwold we had never visited the Swan hotel, which always looks so inviting from the outside, and surely must be one of the main stays in Southwold. We decided to 'treat' ourselves to Afternoon Tea. We arrived just after 5pm and sat in a lovely window seat.There were two other couples in the room who were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We have stayed at The Swan several times and love its old-fashioned feel combined with modern levels of comfort. It's a lovely old building, perfectly situated on the market square, just a hundred yards from the sea. Inside it's a rabbit warren of corridors and short flights of steps up and down, and creaking floorboards. The dining room is large... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cambridge
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have eaten here in the past, both in the restaurant and for afternoon tea where both were fabulous! We decided to squeeze a quick holiday in at Southwold and stay at The Swan overnight. We were given room 8, a large airey room at the rear of the hotel. The bed was super kingsize and so comfortable I hardly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Margate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From the age of seven The Swan has been deeply engrained into my memory and experience and is part of the warp of life.Lovely public rooms overseeing the Market Square,a sizeable dining room and quaint rooms in the old building and en suite rooms around the old Bowling Green make this a very special place.The cuisine is bespoke and daily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a lovely suite in the Swan, overlooking the market place. There was plenty of room to unpack all our things, although not so much space to unpack in the bathroom. The bath was huge, with plenty of very hot water and an excellent shower over. We were very comfortable here, spending time watching the tennis when it rained,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I shall be sure to add Quirky to our list of adjectives used to describe us here at The Swan! We hope to see you back soon More

Norfolk
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hoped to be a nice evening meal with family and an overnight stay but disappointed. In the bar no customer choice of Gin just Adnams gin or no Gin, which indicated that the customer was less valued. Meal was average and wine was too expensive for ordinary wine. The bedroom was small and simply furnished, bathroom toilet had stain which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with aspects of your room and when dining with us. We welcome all feedback and if you had raised this during your stay we would have sort to rectify the issues you had. Please do not hesitate to contact us if you wish to discuss this further. More

Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It is about ten years since we last stayed at the Swan. Originally from Suffolk,Southwold is one of our favourite places so I thought I would take my husband there for his 75 th birthday. We arrived early and were told our room was not available till 2.30 but we parked the car and as it was raining sat in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

A lovely review, thank you very much. Having received feedback lately regarding our dress code we have updated our hotel literature to reemphasise this. More

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at The Swan last weekend (28th & 29th June) - we booked the Bed, Breakfast and Dinner rate and were delighted with our choice of hotel. We were in a standard double room - which was light and airy, warm and comfortable and although not huge, not small either. We ate in the restaurant and were pleasantly surprised with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words and I am glad that we helped to make your anniversary memorable. More

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First impression is always the reception and all the staff were wonderful and so helpful. We didn't have a booking as the hotel we were supposed to stay was so awful we didn't stay. The Swan staff found us a room (bearing in mind it was a bank holiday I was really impressed). The room was lovely, the bed comfortable... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Booked dinner, bed & breakfast as a surprise stay for our 45th wedding anniversary telling wife at the last minute, after being prompted all week on where and if i had booked anywhere !! Calling reception i found the staff very helpful making the booking as this was to be our first stay at this Hotel having admired it on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased that you were delighted with your stay here at The Swan and hope to see you again very soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: Market Place, Southwold IP18 6EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Southwold
Swan Hotel Southwold
Hotel Southwold Swan
The Swan Hotel Southwold, Suffolk

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (40)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just yards from the Adnams Brewery the hotel has been awarded 4 Stars by The AA and two Rosettes for the food in the restaurant. A short stroll from the hotel is the beach at Southwold with its rows of colourful beach huts and the town has a wide selection of individual boutique shops to browse. Our Garden Rooms are Dog Friendly and wheelchair accessible.Brewery and Distillery tours can be arranged for guests and there are plenty of Adnams pubs within walking distance to enjoy a taste of our beer. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
42

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer