We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crown

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
High St, Southwold IP18 6DP, England
Hotel amenities
The Crown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Southwold
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
MikeLeicester Leicester
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    82
    32
    16
    5
See reviews for
33
136
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (225)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (49)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (53)
All months
Leicester
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
39 hotel reviews
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Disappointing start. No-one in Reception (arrived Sunday afternoon) and took sometime to find anyone. When being checked-in, I asked for a map of the area but the ones they had had been removed and they were waiting for the new ones. Was given a glossy map of various towns, including Southwold that included a basic map. Room 11 very nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely large room nicely appointed with good size bathroom. Bit of a corporate feel - lacking in individuality in terms of the decor. Nice meal in the evening and really lovely breakfast - great sausages - would recommend for a weekend away.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you. More 

Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We came here in a day trip to Southwold. It was lovely, and we had booked earlier that morning- glad we did because it was quite busy and it sounded as if they were turning customers away due to this so I would recommend to book first! The food was presented nicely, deceptively small-looking I think. My boyfriend had the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Hopefully on your next visit it will be great rather than just nice! Thanks for your review. More 

Deal
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Stayed in March for 2 nights on a good bed, breakfast and evening meal deal. Had a lovely large room at the top of the hotel overlooking the car park. Room was very well decorated and had everything required for our stay. Bath robes and good quality toiletries provided. Everywhere was very clean and the bed was big and comfortable,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

A lovely review all round, and I am pleased you highlighted our green policies – Thank you More 

Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in room 1 , up a couple of flights of stairs and over looking the high st . Spotless room and bathroom with modern decor and lots of space , big comfortable bed . Had inclusive breakfast deal and food was good and plentiful despite a little wait but all seems cooked fresh so worth... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Great to hear that the staff contributed to your perfect stay. Thank you. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

It was our second time here and we had another lovely evening. Our room was comfortable, if a little on the warm side, and our restaurant meal excellent, particularly the steak and chips. Southwold is a beautiful town with lots of great walks nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Welcome back! Glad you enjoyed your stay once again, see you again. More 

Harwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

A good deal on dinner, bed and breakfast. We were meant to be in room 5 but the extractor in the kitchen was noisy, moved to another room very efficently. Food good, not exceptional. Service lacking a little in that we were not asked if we would like any condiments and at breakfast we did not receive toast until we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Thank for your review. Good tip about the sugar – I will get the team to think of this in future. More 

Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Enjoyed an overnight stay in Room 3 at the front of the building which was spacious and clean. Unfortunately the windows are single glazed sash style so early Monday morning when the drayman arrived to deliver the barrels we were rudely awaken. However, other than this we couldn't complain. Evening meal was very good and I recommend you try the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Glad you had a lovely time overall. The draymen also deliver the Adnams Gin, so perhaps can be forgiven on this occasion?! More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015 via mobile

Very disappointing couldn't fault the rooms and location but Not the place to go if you are in a hurry to eat ie as we had a distillery tour time scheduled The waiter -had even basic skills lacking - following up giving someone a menu seemed beyond him - no eye contact so rather than feel special as there brochure... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AdnamsSouthwold, Manager at The Crown, responded to this review

Apologies if service wasn’t speedy enough, but I do hope that what you did have you enjoyed, as well as the Distillery Tour. More 

Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2015

We had a one night stay in The Crown for my wife's Birthday booking a Superior Room at the Front of the Hotel with the Dinner Bed & Breakfast Package. Check in is from 2.00pm and check out is at 11.00am latest. We arrived at 2.15pm on a Friday to check in having been told there would be on-site parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

50 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities