We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £135
The Golden Lion Hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with HotelsClick to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
NorfolkVoice london uk
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    54
    94
    41
    33
    24
See reviews for
20
158
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (246)
  • Mar-May only
    (57)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (65)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
london uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

this should be the best hotel in Hunstanton by miles, but sadly it's just a little sad, it's okay and you may have a better experience, but it was just not good enough for how special this building is to Hunstanton....!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a long weekend at the Dragon and thoroughly enjoyed it. The hotel's main attribute is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We enjoyed the superior room with a terrific view of the sea and beautiful green. The room was huge, very clean and equipped with everything one would hope for. A complimentary fruit basket was left for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A pleasant old lady sat on the green above the seashore. We had a pleasant weekend staying at the golden lion with lovely weather and pleasant company. The food and service were good but I feel they need to modenise and update the rooms. We had a pleasant room overlooking the wheelie bins and the carpark. A little TLC in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely approach to this hotel, situated on a village green which over looks the sea. We booked on line, noticed it had reserved parking only but no where on the website to do so! We therefore 'wrongly' assumed that as we had booked a three night stay we would get parking. How wrong we were! Had to find parking in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Paid £99 to stay here was not very impressed with what i got for the exteroinate price i paid to stay here. My room 201 had problems with a blocked toilet so it took several flushes for whatever was in the bowl to go down . Plus this resulted in lots of water spilling on to the bathroom floor. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I very much appreciate you bringing to my attention the issue with your toilet as we were not aware of the problems that you encountered. I am sorry to read that you feel that your break with us was not good value for money. I was very surprised to read your comment about our housekeeping... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Level Contributor
328 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2015

This is a hotel in the Hunstanton area it is very near the beaches and all the local shops cadres tea room bars amusements andreally nice walks . The hotel is large and reception is near the bar and restaurant with helpful and friendly staff too

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe. More 

Notts. England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

We had a meal here a few years ago and said never again. This year were in Hunstanton and decided to call in for a drink (five of us including teenage grandson) Seemed more pleasant so we decided on bar snacks for lunch. Very satisfied so we booked for dinner in the restaurant that night. Very good meal in pleasant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. I have passed your comments onto the whole team but specifically Luke who was over the moon that you mentioned him. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards, Zoe. More 

Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2015

Visited the hotel bar with my son in law having just driven for over 3 hours and feeling in need of a pint. We chose the hotel bar as it looked good from the outside and was in a convenient location. There were no bar staff when we arrived, and it was a couple of minutes before someone appeared to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Lion Inn. I am sorry to read that you were kept waiting at the bar and that the table you chose to sit at was dirty. I have passed your comments onto the bar staff. Regards, Zoe. More 

Bearsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

Having read the other review I think we must have stayed in a different place. It is tatty and in need of a good clean up and make over. The dinner in with the package was so poor, we actually passed on it and ate at Chives on the last evening. We will not be recommending it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. Regards, Zoe. More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2015

We last went to this Hotel about 18 months ago. We felt it had gone down slightly. Staff were all friendly. It does need updating though and the bed was rather hard. The TV's were still the same (very small screens) - all Hotels now seem to be installing ones with larger screens. We paid extra for a sea view... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that your experience at breakfast was not a positive one. I have passed your comments onto both the Kitchen and the Restaurant to investigate. Regards, Zoe. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hunstanton
1.1 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hunstanton
4.0 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richmond House B&B and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Shellbrooke
The Shellbrooke
#17 of 24 in Hunstanton
4.5 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay