We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Hunstanton hotels

The Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM ONLY £129
Save Saved
You added The Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Golden Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
60%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hunstanton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Nevortricky Beccles, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (190)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

190 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    72
    30
    25
    23
See reviews for
12
126
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Not bad furnishings in here. The bad part was the staff. After looking over the menu i asked whether the vegetarian sausages were Vegan. The response was 'i don't know' and that was the end of it. It seemed a little out of their way to go and check with the cook. instead i just got a pint of ale... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our third visit to the Golden Lion and yet again this did not disappoint. Greeted warmly by the receptionist whose patience had just been tested by the previous clients, but still she genuinely welcomed us. Room was in a lovely position enabling us to see some gorgeous sunsets. Food was of an excellent standard as usual, and plenty of it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here 11/08/2014 to 18/08/ 2014. Very windy, hotel draughty and cold. Doors to hotel and bar kept open and made everywhere cold and uncomfortable. Bedroom windows let in a searing draught and needed some attention. Admittedly an old hotel but needed a lot of updating to decoration and modern comfort. There was a thunderstorm and rain cascaded in and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Lion Inn is a lovely bar where you can hear yourself talk and relax with friends and family. The restaurant was also an enjoyable experience when I had Christmas dinner there. Staff are helpful and friendly. Great location. I have not stayed in the hotel so cannot comment on that side but I have previewed the rooms and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
norwich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful couple of nights and the weather perfect, upon arrival was greeted by a lovely young man Kristian. Very polite and friendly lovely view of a breathtaking sunset food lovely and good value for money great stay and all good staff in restaurant and bar young lady called Hannah served us and again both a credit to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a very enjoyable but very hot weekend. All the staff were very helpful nothing was too much for them. The daily Menus were very good the actual food itself being excellent. Yes you have to pay for secure parking but I would rather that than park outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed `18th/19th/20th July 2014. canteen food,grubby plates and cutlery,far too expensive for the the general all round standard on offer very poor value. Shearings used to offer fair value for your money,would would now seem to have a policy of profit at the expense of quality. I think the shearings group are going to earn a reputation for a down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We both enjoyed our weekend at The Golden Lion , the staff were very helpful ,curtious and pleasant . Our room overlooked the green and the sea and was of very good standard , clean and tidy ( as it should be ) . Facilities provided in room were excellent , toiletries , tea and coffee , glasses etc (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your breakfast I have passed your comments onto our Breakfast Chefs. I am very pleased to hear that you were happy with your room and the staff. I am sorry that you didn't like our car parking arrangements but we only have... More

Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I spent five nights in the Golden Lion in a clean, spacious room with a sea view boasting beautiful sunsets. The staff could not be faulted as they were all able and willing and did all they could for us with smiles on their faces. However, for any out of the ordinary requests, e.g. I asked to stay an extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I have passed your comments regarding the food onto James our Head Chef to investigate. Regards, Zoe. More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

We , a group of 12, spent 5 days here. In general the room are good , clean and well equipped. Staff are all helpful and courteous . I found the food good in general but a full hotel put a strain on the catering and they struggled on occasion but our table host Kieran made up for the deficiencies.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that had a nice break with us and feel that we offer good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Golden Lion Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer