We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Hunstanton hotels

The Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Save Saved
You added The Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Golden Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hunstanton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Khimothy Liphook, United Kingdom
  • Reviews (182)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (55)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    70
    30
    22
    23
See reviews for
12
120
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I spent five nights in the Golden Lion in a clean, spacious room with a sea view boasting beautiful sunsets. The staff could not be faulted as they were all able and willing and did all they could for us with smiles on their faces. However, for any out of the ordinary requests, e.g. I asked to stay an extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We , a group of 12, spent 5 days here. In general the room are good , clean and well equipped. Staff are all helpful and courteous . I found the food good in general but a full hotel put a strain on the catering and they struggled on occasion but our table host Kieran made up for the deficiencies.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had previously stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and had been looking for an excuse to return as the food and service had been so good. When we arrived the person on reception went the extra mile by finding us a car parking space even though the car park was fully booked. She also offered to get somebody... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a 4 night stay at the Golden Lion Hunstanton. A lovely hotel in a fantastic location. Such a pity the quality and choice of food was terrible. Strange choice of menus with veg always overcooked. Gravy you could stand your knife up in it was so thick. Long waits after placing your order. 20 minutes wait for kippers at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant service was very poor, the kitchen could not cope with large groups. Meals took a very long time. The waiting staff were friendly and did what they could, but obviously they had a very poor standard of training. Waiting between courses was very long. The food generally was of a low standard,overcooked vegetables and unpleasant. A very tired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3

Travelers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We live locally and love the location of the hotel but having visited last evening and paid £4.05 for a pint of bitter - never again. Extortion!! No wonder there were so few in the bar area or outside, on what was a lovely bank holiday evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotel central for town and Norfolk coast, overlooks the green and The Wash. Hotel comfortable and clean, Staff very helpful and friendly. Food good but portion control is resulting in portions being on the small side. Check out--Scrambled egg, bacon and sausage at breakfast. Overall value for money. Would recommend for a short break.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you had a nice break with us & would recommend the Hotel. I completely agree with you we are so very lucky to have such a great location. Regards, Zoe. More

Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Booked a 2 day break first problem parking make sure you book a space but why charge come on! Rroom nice clean but overall the hotel is tired needs decorating. Food was very average veg overcooked and unpalatable would have preferred b and b and gone out for dinner..High point great staff very attentive and fabulous sea views.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I have passed your comments onto the relevant departments. We have ongoing refurbishment programmed so I hope you visit us again to see the changes that are happening. Regards, Zoe. More

Kings lynn
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Myself and my fiancée decided to go to the lion inn for a drink on Sunday night. It was pretty empty, and there were two male members off staff on. In the hour we were there, the table next to us was full of glasses until we left. The attitude of the bar staff was terrible. At one point they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Halstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited the venue for a function and were frankly disappointed.Staff were marvellous but the food was poor.We had to wait for our main courses and some had finished before the others main courses arrived Veg was cold and we had to have it re heated.salmon was in a sauce that was indexable. We will not return

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your visit. I have passed on your compliments to the waiting staff & spoken with the Kitchen staff regarding the sauce the Salmon is served with. Once again I am sorry that we didn't meet or exceed your expectations on this visit. Regards, Zoe. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer