We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5
Hotel website
The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £129
The Golden Lion Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
hazdaz Barnsley, United Kingdom
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    89
    37
    31
    24
See reviews for
17
152
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (232)
  • Mar-May only
    (54)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (62)
All months
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Went for Sunday lunch but maybe the menu which was 2 weeks out of date should have been a warning. This used to be one of the best but the lunch was mediocre to say the least. The reception area was grim to say the least but the garden which had new benches could have saved this but for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ely, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On several visits to Hunstanton with friends we've made the Golden Lion our "watering hole". Normally try to sit out side (weather permitting) on one of the many picnic benches so that we can see the world go by and look at the sea view. Have used the inside bar area which is warm and comfortable. There is a very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Golden Lion is perhaps not so golden. A group of us stayed here last weekend from Friday until Monday staff are very helpful and friendly. Hotel needs a makeover the rooms we had a bit on the small size and was up on the 2nd floor even though we upgraded to a sea view. Food was not good only... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 3 x nights and our experience was similar to review from Robert C. The location is superb. The sea on one side and the town centre on the other. Yes the food choices were really good - we also ate a main course from the a la carte menu and were not disappointed. All the staff we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Upper Beeding, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is part of the Coast and Country group and are always offering deals. We had a half board deal for 3 nights over the weekend that cost £300. The hotel is perfectly adequate although not 5 star. The choice of meals for the 3 nights was very good but you also have the option to choose from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We decided that we wanted a short break and managed to book a room at the Golden Lion. Have always stayed at another Hotel in the area before but as our last visit there was disappointing we wanted to try an alternative. We were really pleased with our choice. The standard room still had a sea view and breakfast was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to read that you were pleased with the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the near future. Thank you for your review. Regards, Zoe. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

Unfortunately we must have picked the coldest time to stay in this hotel, the radiator in our room did not work properly but the staff did their best they brought us electric radiators. Th food as usual for was very good and staff were very helpful. all in all a good stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am sorry to read that your radiator was not working during your stay. I am pleased to read that you had a good break with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

We went to Golden Lion today with a view to booking a long weekend away in July, wanted to have lunch to try it out. We only ordered sandwiches & tea but was appalled. Tuna & red onion came with huge chunks of white onion & when I explained that I could not eat it, was told they had no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you had such a bad experience with us. I hope that you return to see that this is not our usual standard. Regards, Zoe. More 

Travelers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
499 helpful votes 499 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

The Golden Lion was a very good B&B experience on our road trip around the coast - the food and value for money was excellent - quirky booking in procedure that could be improved, but the whole visit was worth it as the hotel has great views over the sea and minutes walk to all that Victorian seaside experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Hotel. I am pleased to read that you had a very good experience with us. I hope that you decide to stay with us again. Regards, Zoe. More 

cambridge
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Have just returned from a five day stay at the coast and country hotel.The deal was excellent value for money .Wepaid extra for a sea view room .As the hotel has a stunning position opposite the sea with just the cliff gardens between you and the beach it is well worth it.The downstairs is nicely decorated but our spacious and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am pleased to read that you feel that your break was excellent value for money. We are always looking at ways to improve on what we offer and since your review we have changed the selection on our salads. I hope that you return to see the difference. Regards,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay