We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Hunstanton hotels

The Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Save Saved
You added The Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Golden Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
60%
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Hunstanton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
familytraveller481 norwich
  • Overview
  • Reviews (186)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    72
    30
    23
    23
See reviews for
12
123
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a wonderful couple of nights and the weather perfect, upon arrival was greeted by a lovely young man Kristian. Very polite and friendly lovely view of a breathtaking sunset food lovely and good value for money great stay and all good staff in restaurant and bar young lady called Hannah served us and again both a credit to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a very enjoyable but very hot weekend. All the staff were very helpful nothing was too much for them. The daily Menus were very good the actual food itself being excellent. Yes you have to pay for secure parking but I would rather that than park outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed `18th/19th/20th July 2014. canteen food,grubby plates and cutlery,far too expensive for the the general all round standard on offer very poor value. Shearings used to offer fair value for your money,would would now seem to have a policy of profit at the expense of quality. I think the shearings group are going to earn a reputation for a down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Hunstanton hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We both enjoyed our weekend at The Golden Lion , the staff were very helpful ,curtious and pleasant . Our room overlooked the green and the sea and was of very good standard , clean and tidy ( as it should be ) . Facilities provided in room were excellent , toiletries , tea and coffee , glasses etc (... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent five nights in the Golden Lion in a clean, spacious room with a sea view boasting beautiful sunsets. The staff could not be faulted as they were all able and willing and did all they could for us with smiles on their faces. However, for any out of the ordinary requests, e.g. I asked to stay an extra... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I have passed your comments regarding the food onto James our Head Chef to investigate. Regards, Zoe. More

Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We , a group of 12, spent 5 days here. In general the room are good , clean and well equipped. Staff are all helpful and courteous . I found the food good in general but a full hotel put a strain on the catering and they struggled on occasion but our table host Kieran made up for the deficiencies.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that had a nice break with us and feel that we offer good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards, Zoe. More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We had previously stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and had been looking for an excuse to return as the food and service had been so good. When we arrived the person on reception went the extra mile by finding us a car parking space even though the car park was fully booked. She also offered to get somebody... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am sorry that there were aspects of your break that you were disappointed with. I have passed all of your comments onto the relevant departments. We really do appreciate the positive and negative feedback as we are always looking at ways to improve the Hotel. Regards, Zoe. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had a 4 night stay at the Golden Lion Hunstanton. A lovely hotel in a fantastic location. Such a pity the quality and choice of food was terrible. Strange choice of menus with veg always overcooked. Gravy you could stand your knife up in it was so thick. Long waits after placing your order. 20 minutes wait for kippers at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and will not be returning. My staff usually get such glowing reports about being so friendly and helpful, I am so sorry that you did not experience this on your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto the whole team. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The restaurant service was very poor, the kitchen could not cope with large groups. Meals took a very long time. The waiting staff were friendly and did what they could, but obviously they had a very poor standard of training. Waiting between courses was very long. The food generally was of a low standard,overcooked vegetables and unpleasant. A very tired... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I have passed your comments onto the relevant department heads so that they can fully investigate your comments. Regards, Zoe. More

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We live locally and love the location of the hotel but having visited last evening and paid £4.05 for a pint of bitter - never again. Extortion!! No wonder there were so few in the bar area or outside, on what was a lovely bank holiday evening!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. As a company we review our bars prices and take the national average for our tariff. Regards, Zoe. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Golden Lion Hotel is a magnificent historic building. It is the oldest property in Hunstanton, and the oldest hotel in the area. The Golden Lion hotel overlooks a beautiful sandy beach, with sea views for most rooms. The hotel has recently been refurbished to the highest standards, and offers outstanding facilities. A limited number of parking spaces are available. The peace and serenity of the Hunstanton area offer wonderful opportunities for leisure travellers and lovers of the outdoors. Hiking, fishing, sailing and horse riding are all available nearby.The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast & Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
27

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer