We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Hunstanton hotels

The Golden Lion Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£20 A NIGHT OFFERS!
Save Saved
You added The Golden Lion Hotel to your Saves list
The Golden Lion Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
59%
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Sims362014 Durham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    73
    31
    26
    22
See reviews for
12
127
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Hotel was generally a little tired and could do with a lick of paint and some TLC - I would say a standard 3 star. Room (number 110) was nice and clean and spacious, overlooking Hunstanton green and the sea. Unfortunately was not told at time of booking that there are no ground floor rooms overlooking the sea, which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

All that glistens is not gold--or--put another way, the Lion has lost a lot of it's lustre.. This Hotel leaves a lot to be desired, but then it is only rated 3 stars, so perhaps we were expecting too much?You pay your money and you take your chance. We arrived early and tried to park our car (for which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had our honeymoon here 40 years and returned to have a quiet celebration weekend, revisiting the church where we were married. The hotel looked much the same as it did 40 years ago. A redecoration would not go amiss! It looked tired and uncared for. The staff were friendly enough and helpful. Car parking unless you booked it in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not bad furnishings in here. The bad part was the staff. After looking over the menu i asked whether the vegetarian sausages were Vegan. The response was 'i don't know' and that was the end of it. It seemed a little out of their way to go and check with the cook. instead i just got a pint of ale... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was very shocked to read this review as normally the staff receives a number of comments about how friendly they are. Please be assured that I will investigate this as it certainly isn’t a normal occurrence. Regards, Zoe. More

Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our third visit to the Golden Lion and yet again this did not disappoint. Greeted warmly by the receptionist whose patience had just been tested by the previous clients, but still she genuinely welcomed us. Room was in a lovely position enabling us to see some gorgeous sunsets. Food was of an excellent standard as usual, and plenty of it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here 11/08/2014 to 18/08/ 2014. Very windy, hotel draughty and cold. Doors to hotel and bar kept open and made everywhere cold and uncomfortable. Bedroom windows let in a searing draught and needed some attention. Admittedly an old hotel but needed a lot of updating to decoration and modern comfort. There was a thunderstorm and rain cascaded in and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your break with us. Unfortunately on the night you mention most properties in Hunstanton were flooded. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff pleasant and food good. Regards, Zoe. More

Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

The Lion Inn is a lovely bar where you can hear yourself talk and relax with friends and family. The restaurant was also an enjoyable experience when I had Christmas dinner there. Staff are helpful and friendly. Great location. I have not stayed in the hotel so cannot comment on that side but I have previewed the rooms and they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a great review of The Lion Inn. I am pleased to hear that you like the changes that we have made. We look forward to seeing you soon. Regards, Zoe. More

norwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful couple of nights and the weather perfect, upon arrival was greeted by a lovely young man Kristian. Very polite and friendly lovely view of a breathtaking sunset food lovely and good value for money great stay and all good staff in restaurant and bar young lady called Hannah served us and again both a credit to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. It is great to hear that you had such a wonderful couple of days with us. I completely agree with you about our sunsets we are very lucky. Regards, Zoe. More

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We had a very enjoyable but very hot weekend. All the staff were very helpful nothing was too much for them. The daily Menus were very good the actual food itself being excellent. Yes you have to pay for secure parking but I would rather that than park outside.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you had a nice weekend with us. Regards, Zoe. More

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed `18th/19th/20th July 2014. canteen food,grubby plates and cutlery,far too expensive for the the general all round standard on offer very poor value. Shearings used to offer fair value for your money,would would now seem to have a policy of profit at the expense of quality. I think the shearings group are going to earn a reputation for a down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Goldenlion16, General Manager at The Golden Lion Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your break with us and that you felt on this occasion that we didn’t offer value for money. I hope that you choose to have another holiday with the group to see that this isn’t normally the case. Regards, Zoe. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Golden Lion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: The Green, Hunstanton PE36 6BQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Hunstanton
Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton
The Golden Lion Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Hunstanton with
any amenities