We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 - 3 Shirehall Plain, Holt NR25 6BG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Byfords to your Saves list
Byfords
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
93%
Ranked #3 of 19 Holt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Jenny-Jane2013 Bedford
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    53
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
154
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (230)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (80)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (53)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Bedford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at Byfords on a number of occasions and always love the rooms- beautiful decor, the most comfortable beds ever, and good sound system (better than at home!) The food's good in a cosy restaurant, but not really a cheap bite. The staff are delightful and do everything they can to make your stay a memorable one. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for work, and it was i must say a wonderful surprise. Im not one for B&Bs but this was quite a fancy place. I had the pleasure to stay in 3 different rooms (work had not booked this properly) and therefore was able to see that all the rooms were lovely. I best enjoyed room 16 it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It is so important to be in a comfortable environment when you are staying away for work, we are so glad to read that you enjoyed your business trip here with us at Byfords. More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This place is lovely, rooms are really comfy, huge king size bed with the most amazing mattress. Lovely touches like home-made heart shaped shortbreads in the drinks cabinet and moon shaped cookies put out at nighttime. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast with home-made jam and hash browns. We didn't eat here in the evening but there is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

And we look forward to welcoming you back Paula. Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our Posh B&B. More

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at Byfords for 4 days, from the moment we stepped in we were made to feel so welcomed. The rooms are beautiful and have so much character, the bathrooms are magnificent and the food was delicious. The blonde lady on reception (Gail I think) was fabulous and took a real interest in my little boy, she was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Both Gail and Jack were so chuffed to be mentioned in your review. Thank you for your kind words. More

Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Byfords is right in the middle of Holt and styles itself as the "posh B&B". Based on our visit that tag is well justified, the staff were exceptional in their friendliness and their willingness to deal effectively with any requests. The breakfasts were superb, try the kippers best I have tasted anywhere. Not cheap but good value.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Matty, it sounds like you have really 'got' what we are all about. We really try to make an atmosphere that is both casual but luxurious. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you - Byfords Posh B&B Team More

2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Room 2 for 2 nights for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. It was a truly fantastic weekend. There are 2 things that makes Byfords stand out from everywhere else: 1) The staff: Everyone is extremely friendly, and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome and individual. Nothing is too much trouble. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Thank you very much for choosing Byfords to enjoy your 20th anniversary break away. We were thrilled to read that you had enjoyed your stay in Room 2 and that you noticed the little extras that we like to add to the Posh B&B experience. Kind regards from The Posh B&B Team at Byfords More

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed a few weeks ago with a couple of friends who rave about it. However, whilst the staff were very good, the room was at the most average. We stayed in Room 2 which was ok but as soon as you opened the window we were overcome by flies. The shower gel etc was also not replenished. Breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Byfords. We have shown a local game keeper your review, he has scheduled us in to take a look at Room 2 and see where the flies you mention may have come from. Thank you for informing us. More

Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Byfords in Holt (Norfolk) describe themselves as a 'Posh B & B' and, if they stuck to being that, they would be very good. The staff are very attentive, friendly and unfailingly polite. However, the modern trend to increase revenue income at all costs has meant that seemingly every square foot of the place is devoted to raising money. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Thank you for your really interesting feedback. We will certainly look into how we can reduce the noise travelling up the stairs into Room 14. More

norfolk, england
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Having stayed here a couple of times and really liked the location and great facilities in the rooms including the biscuits! This time however they were let down at Breakfast by poor staff..... The rooms and front reception are good but the staff in the restaurant let it down. So I think they should keep attention on the detail otherwise... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Hayley, thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have for the most part enjoyed your stay with us but concerned that you felt the team let us down at Breakfast. We would greatly welcome any further comments that you have about your experience so we can learn from this, please email us at queries@byfords.org.uk if... More

Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I had a wonderful overnight at Byfords a few weeks ago. My boyfriend and I had been to Byfords several times before for meals and to check out the produce in the deli (which we love), but staying over was a new experience and was way beyond our already high expectations. The cleverly chosen decor from quill and pen to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Rebecka W, Manager at Byfords, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We can highly recommend our Interior Designer Annie Lambert should you wish to redesign your home following your stay!!! We look forward to welcoming you and your partner back soon Harriet. Kind regards from the whole team at Byfords More

Do you own or manage Byfords?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Byfords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byfords

Address: 1 - 3 Shirehall Plain, Holt NR25 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Byfords 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Byfords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byfords Hotel Holt
Byfords Holt, Norfolk

120 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (88)
Viewed
Room/suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (33)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay