We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pigs

Certificate of Excellence
Norwich Road | Edgefield, Holt NR24 2RL , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Pigs
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This was out second stay at The Pigs and we chose the same room as before. On arrival our room was ready at 3pm and had a chocolate sponge ready and waiting which we had ordered. All staff were friendly and the amenities in the bedroom and honesty bar are great. We ate in the restaurant and opted for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowleopards89
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear Snowleopards89, Thank you for leaving a great review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the entire offering here and I am so sorry that the temperature of the room was to hot. We are currently looking into installing air conditioning in the rooms so as to help with this. Hopefully we will see you soon. Thanks, James. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have been here 3 or 4 times and it's always an extremely high standard. The rooms are lovely. The food is superb and we feel totally relaxed here. Can't wait for the new spa rooms! Thank you for another superb visit.

Helpful?
Thank Eileen H
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear Eileen H, What a wonderful review. We love it here too! The new spa rooms will hopefully be started later this year, just as soon as we have finished a couple of other bits within the group. You can sign up for the latest news via our website so as not to miss out on the updates. Hopefully we... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This Pig themed pub hotel is a great place to stay, eat and enjoy a drink. The staff are great and the accommodation is presented to a high standard. The food is good and I would recommend the rarebit for breakfast. One down side, being on one of the main roads in the area you can hear when the farm... More 

Helpful?
Thank spoony42
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear spoony42, I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for putting your thoughts into a review. We put a lot of effort into what we do and it is great that you enjoyed your experience. Unfortunately the farmers do start early and is one of the things we have no control over but, being surrounded... More 

Gorleston-on-Sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

To charge 175 on a weekday in January is criminal, especially when it claims to be a Spa room. The only Spa thing about it is a sauna no hot tub/whirl pool bath. Freeview TV not sky, It may sound picky but when your charged so much for not so much your going to be, it is nice but for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Carl L
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear Carl L, Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you didn’t feel our rooms were value for money. I will say that we do list the facilities in our rooms in their entirety during the booking process and we have never claimed to have anything we don’t. We also clearly state the price of the room and... More 

Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for one night as a Christmas present to my husband. Wonderful stay in lovely accommodation. We had a spa room which was a great treat - the semi outdoor bath was particularly good. We had a really relaxing time and really enjoyed ourselves This place could be top notch if the issues mentioned below and in previous reviews... More 

Helpful?
Thank CarolTrevski
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear CarolTrevski, Thank you for your review, I am so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for raising the points you have. The best way we can learn where we are falling short is through feedback from our customers and the issues you have raised will be passed on to the necessary departments in order to be addressed.... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

After being with my partner nearly 8 years we have never had a night away together with out the children. We had heard great reviews on this place so thought we would give it a try, needless to say we will be back. From entering the room everything was clean, warm and decorated nicely. The bathroom has a walk in... More 

Helpful?
Thank HolidaysRcoming1
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear HolidaysRcoming1, What a cracking review! I am so glad we could help you out with you’re (I assume) well earned break. It is great to hear good feedback regarding our rooms as they are something we have put a lot of thought and effort into, as we will with the new ones. The cake would have come from a... More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2016

This is the 3rd time we have stayed here and as always it was fabulous. We have always stayed in Room 2 which is in the main part of the building, the room is very spacious with a very large bed and a super bathrooms which is always very warm and cozy with under floor heating. We ate in the... More 

Helpful?
Thank uktravellerHampshire
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear uktravellerHampshire, Thank you for a second great review. It is good to hear that we can consistently hit the mark with our rooms and also our food. You will have to try one of our spa rooms next time, they are definitely worth it! Thanks, James. More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2015 via mobile

We stayed for our 3 year anniversary. Rooms were immaculate with excellent amenities. The semi-outdoor bath was lovely along with the fire pit private courtyard. We had dinner & breakfast in the bar/restaurant. Food was excellent couldn't fault. My only criticism would be there was a lot of noise from kitchen/bar area late at night & early next morning. The... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Bunn-Sollis
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear Bunn-Sollis, A belated happy anniversary! I am glad you enjoyed it with us and had a great experience in our spa rooms. I will be having a word with the staff to make sure they are quieter collecting their things if they finish late. Hopefully we will see you back soon. Thanks, James. More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

I've not come across a place like this before! The rooms were amazing and the food even better. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff (including helping my other half with his proposal when we arrived ☺️). Will be back again next year for sure! Thank you guys X

Helpful?
1 Thank louise_flavin
James W, Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review

Dear louise_flavin, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We love hearing that people have enjoyed their experience with us, especially when there is a proposal involved! Looking forward to seeing you back again. Thanks, James. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here recently for one night in one of the stunning spa rooms. Its our first ever visit but wont be our last. What a lovely place .The staff were so friendly and welcoming. The restaurant had such an inviting a relaxed feel about it.We had various starters to share and I had the sea bass for main it... More 

Helpful?
Thank AbRugs
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (24)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holt
5.3 mi away
The Pheasant Hotel
The Pheasant Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelling
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 1 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
The Norfolk Mead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Coltishall
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Lawns Hotel
The Lawns Hotel
#2 of 4 in Holt
4.5 of 5 stars 171 reviews
19.3 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hethersett
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
16.8 mi away
Sprowston Manor Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay