We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Kirkoswald hotels

Staffield Hall

5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penrith, Kirkoswald, Penrith CA10 1EU, England
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (73)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (15)
  • More
Staffield Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Kirkoswald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkoswald
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    16
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just spent a week in Lady Tower and it was everything we hoped it would be. The flat was spotless, the bed comfy, all mod cons and set in the most beautiful Cumbrian landscape. Our dog was welcome and when we all got stung by wasps in a nearby wood, the owner and housekeeper Jackie were fantastically helpful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The apartment was to a very high standard and everything we could require for our stay was provided, The views were stunning. A bonus was mirrors that were positioned in good places and lower enough for me to see (just under 5' tall) and included a full length mirror. The bed was comfortable and lovely towels and bathrobes. Hope to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights in Butlers Loft and was very impressed; it definitely wasn't long enough!!!! Very clean, and set in a beautiful area. There were no staff which was actually quite nice. The place was very well equipped and the gardens were also lovely and well looked after. The shower curtain was a bit dirty and could do with replacing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have just spent the weekend at Staffield Hall,our apartment was Garden Of Eden,what can I say apart from amazing,our room was spotless it had everything in that you could need.It was very comfortable,warm and there was plenty of hot water!! The hall is absolutely stunning ang is set in the most beautiful grounds,we will most definitely visit Staffield Hall... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

Sooo pleased you enjoyed your break with us, Staffield is so very relaxing and I hope the happy memories stay with you. Best regards to you both More

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon as we wanted to be close to the lakes and to Scotland. The house is amazing and extremely well kept. We had seven nights in the lady tower which was perfect for us just big enough to meet our needs with everything we needed for our stay. The apartment was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

Its great that you choose to stay at Staffield For your honeymoon, we hope you will have lasting memories of your holiday. The house is great, lots of character which you clearly appreciated. I hope we can see you return for a break with again. With our very best wishes for your future together, Regards M&M More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We have just returned from three nights staying in Dove Cote. The apartment was well equipped, warm and cosy. It has a well equipped kitchen and extras such as bath robes. I have read recent reviews and can honestly say the location is stunning, there is plenty of hot water and it is well heated.The beds are king size and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely comments about your stay at Staffield Hall, Dove cote is a great little apartment, glad you liked it. Best wishes More

Macclesfield, Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We spent a weekend in the "king Oswald" suite at the end of March. This really is a beautiful place and we couldn't understand some of the negative comments. The property does not have staff on site, which suited us as we prefer to look after ourselves. We had contact numbers for the owners in case we needed anything but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

One of the charms I believe of a stay in the Eden Valley is, as you say, that the locals are friendly and welcoming. Being outside of the hub of the Lakes means your custom is appreciated much more. We are currently blessed with good pubs and places to eat in all of our local villages - long may this... More

Ormskirk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a long weekend in the Lady Tower as we had our Border Collie with us. It was a fabulous apartment, and the little extras like bath robes made it even better. The location is lovely and we'd definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. For us having some properties that can accept a pet is important. A pet needs a holiday sometimes too !! Thanks for your visit. More

York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed for a week in the Lady Tower apartment and were delighted with the exceptionally high standard of the accommodation. Well fitted kitchen, smart bathroom and spacious rooms. The bed was particularly comfortable. As dog owners we appreciated such a smart and well equipped apartment it's very unusual to have the best with dog in tow. Jackie the housekeeper... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

Great you all enjoyed your break - dog need holidays too! Staffield is very tranquil and a super place to recharge - When you need another break you know how to find us. Thanks for staying! More

cheshire uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I was so looking forward to this based on previous reviews.What a shame the hot water was either absent or inadequate,and the heating was also poor.The old fashioned fire in the lounge with its living flame made such a noise that we had to turn up the TV,I would love to recommend it but unfortunately I can't.We did contact the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wolfenmill, Owner at Staffield Hall, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Staffield Hall, Yes the venue is rather special. Regarding the hot water the time clock had lost its setting, we think because of a power cut the day before your arrival. You emailed us on your return home and said ' We sent you a message regarding this in the morning,thank you for your... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Staffield Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Address: Penrith, Kirkoswald, Penrith CA10 1EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Kirkoswald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Staffield Hall to your Saves list