We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aerodene Cottage

Certificate of Excellence
Lower Cleve Colony | Stoneylands, Shillong 793003, India
Aerodene Cottage
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
20
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (73)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (22)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (17)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very warm staff, cozy-comfortable-clean rooms and a beautiful garden. This is an ideal place for a holiday- away from the maddening crowd- just a 5 minute walk away from a forest as well and very conveniently accessible. You can order for their lunch / dinner in advance- homely food of rice, veggies, chicken. The breakfast is complimentary and very well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Located in Shillong, this elegant cozy cottage is a true delight. Clean, well maintained, cute and cozy rooms are the highlights of this beautifully designed cottage.It has a nice big garden area having lots of pretty flowers to admire. The facilities provided match that of a 5 star at prices of a 3 star. Yummy breakfast included too in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2015

Excellent location and really quaint beautiful house! The furniture and the crockery is old world delicate, and the garden is just a lovely place to kill your morning. Excellent location and walking distance from Jadoh, cafe shillong and other eating places. Very helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2015

Absolutely loved my stay at the cottage which maintains its old world charm reminiscent of the old Shillong, at a time when most of the city is covered with ugly concrete buildings. The cozy rooms, with wooden floors and tasteful decor and views of the garden were a pleasure to be in, Comfortable beds, clean rooms and bathrooms and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

This places takes you to old English times as much of the decor is in those lines. All rooms are named after flowers and we picked up the first room after reception on the left side of corridor. It was a nice choice. Room was done beautifully yet simple. Clean linen, neat bathrooms and running hot water made it a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aerodene, Owner at Aerodene Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you all for your kind words of appreciation for Aerodene Cottage. In 2010 we decided to preserve our old home which now falls into the category of being a heritage building, as we did not have the heart to pull it down and build a large concrete structure. A way forward was to turn it into a... More 

New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Beautifully done up rooms with basic amenities intact to give you a cosy feeling. Took a room on the ground floor wiht a nice common sitting area outside the room. Linen was neat and tidy and had good running hot water in the bathrooms. Electric kettle with tea/ coffee sachets to help yourself is available along with room heater. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Culiacán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

I had the pleasure of staying at Aerodene Cottage off and on for several months while I was working in Shillong. Sharlene and her staff delivered excellent personal service and comfort. I particularly enjoyed the convience of onsite yoga and massage. The garden is fantastic! The food Delish. The company top-notch. I highly recommend this as the best accommodation in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

"Charming" is the best word to sum up our experience at Aerodene. We spent 2 nights here in Feb 2015 after a few tough days of hiking near Cherra. We were hoping for a comfy space to put our feet up and get some R&R before heading home and Aerodene was just what the doctor ordered. Overall, it wasn't any... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
bangalore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

Aerodene came with a recommendation & rave reviews on Tripadvisor. I was most disappointed, let me list the pros & cons. PROS : 1. The room was spotless & done up everyday to perfection. Beds made well, fresh water in the kettle, loo cleaned & fresh / dry towels. 2. Accomodation for drivers- at a very reasonable 300/- per day... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Aerodene, Owner at Aerodene Cottage, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your candid feedback. I am always concerned when any guest meets with disappointment and at the outset would like to sincerely apologise for any inconvenience you faced. Usually either Rukma or myself are always present at Aerodene but this time due to certain circumstances it was not possible for a few days. Unfortunately the kitchen... More 

New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2015

We had such a pleasant stay in Aerodene in 2013 and returned in 2014 because of the exceptional personal service we received from Sharlene, Rukma and the very friendly staff. Our rooms were very neat, clean and comfortable. We were made to feel so welcome. We cannot fault it in anyway - even when we were out late nights we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities