We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Matheran hotels

The Byke

M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Byke to your Saves list
The Byke
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
57%
Ranked #8 of 19 hotels in Matheran
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Bhaskar_10 New Delhi, India
  • Overview
  • Reviews (101)
  • Photos (73)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (30)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    36
    23
    10
    13
See reviews for
45
31
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Chk in - 15th Aug'14, Chk out - 17th Aug'14 Booked the hotel thru MMT at an exorbitant cost of INR 6500/- per night ( 2adult + 1kid) i.e. INR 13000/- for 2 nights. food was included but the taste is more suited to Gujarati and Jain customers. Being Bengali from north India we felt food should have some north... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you very much your valued feedback about the property, food and services, following your stay at The Byke Heritage -Matheran. We were humbled to hear that you liked the services and our in house games and activities. Pure Veg food is our speciality and well known for being delicious and mouth watering. If you could have... More

Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is old and badly needs to be renovated. My stay was an ordinary experience. The resort has lots of monkeys to keep you terrified for your entire stay. The management and staff does nothing about it. Sometimes you are stuck in your room for hours because so many await to welcome you outside. Though there are so many... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your feedback following you stay at The Byke Heritage - Matheran. The resort is declared as an heritage monument and therefore certain structure are preserved and they may appear to you as old. The renovation and refurbishment process is continuous process. Although, these monkeys are harmless and only come to you only if you... More

MUMBAI.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had planned a trip to Matheran after a gap of almost 20 years with my friends.We had booked 3 Luxury delauxe rooms at The Byke Heritage Matheran with very high expectations.But the very moment we reached to hotel our expectations with the hotel got dampened with the dampness in the room we were given.There was big seepage on almost... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am deeply disappointed to know that we could not meet with your expectations , however, I sure you that this is one of the very isolated instances where this happens. Matheran is one best rainforest hill station receiving torrential rains where despite of best precautions certain elements of leakages and dampness. However, these are promptly attended to.... More

Pune, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

following were Upsides: the property is well designed and sprawls over a large area... Located near the key sightseeing destinations down sides: Room smelt of dampness the telephone in one of the room was not working and it was not attended to even after multiple complaints the food was tasty but very oily.. no options for elderly Amenities were not... More

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your feedback following you stay at The Byke Heritage - Matheran. During monsoon, we do take extra precautions to prevent any dampness in the room. Although before the room is allotted all the amenities including telephones are checked, however i am surprised to note that it was not attended quickly, which is very rare.... More

Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Excellent food , good location, good service , live music , good disco , good swimming pool . overall excellent place to send your time. Ideal for families, good for couples too. Thus is very well recommended

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, its locations, ambience, services and our food. We were truly humbled to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our variety of facilities. Extremely delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a joyous and memorable holiday. We have shared your comments... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Me and my husband had visited The Byke in the month of February 2014, the super deluxe room provided to us just adjacent to the directors room was not at all value for money. Although the room was large in size the amenities were not good. The old air conditioner was noisy, the sofa cover was torn, which displeased us.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you for your feedback following you stay at The Byke Heritage - Matheran. I am deeply disappointed to know that it was Not so good experience for you, which is very rare as you could see all the reviews for the resort is very good. The super deluxe room is our base category of room meant... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good view, Excellent service, Nice rooms, good place to go with family as a lot of activities are designed to keep your family entertained all the time. But be careful of the monkeys as they are big menace. Only veg food is available.

Was this review helpful? Yes
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you very much your valued feedback about the property, food and services, following your stay at The Byke Heritage -Matheran. We were humbled to hear that you liked the rooms, its view, services and our in house games and activities. The monkeys only come to you if they find you carrying a food items, however, otherwise... More

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The resort is one of the oldest in Matheran. It is actually built around the oldest bungalow in Matheran, a heritage structure. The check-in was quick. The service so too. The resort is huge. Rooms are large, but not necessarily airy. As also, since its nestled in loads of greenery, the rooms are devoid of natural light. Another flip side... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We thank you very much for feedback about the property, ambience, services and our food, following your stay at The Byke Heritage - Matheran. We were happy to know that you like the room size, the evening snacks and the other facilities. The pool is well maintained and treated with standard dose of chlorine only. We always keep... More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

A very silent n full of nature resort.....i stayed for 2 night....n my stay was very comfortable. ....staff was very cooperative n beware monkey their they will freak u out. Other then monkeys everything is good...food is good. Pool view rooms are very good with good toilets....disco theque is also good....

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, ambience, services and our food. We were truly humbled to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed our variety of facilities. Extremely delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you with a joyous and memorable holiday. Of Course, the monkeys tend to be... More

Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

we were 2 families and were looking to spend weekend around mumbai we stayed in the byke but we did not book it before our arrival but read reviews on tripadvisor, we had a cottage with two rooms one on ground floor while another on first floor and we opted for including all meals and did not regret it, food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
THEBYKE, Director of Sales at The Byke, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We’re immensely grateful to you for your generous feedback about the property, food and services, following your stay at The Byke Heritage -Matheran. We were truly humbled to hear that you have enjoyed the room, discotheque and more specially our food, for which are famous. Our Chef is more than happy to abide by your demand. We have... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Byke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Byke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Byke

Address: M.G Road | District - Raigad, Matheran 410102, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Matheran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Byke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Byke Hotel Matheran

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Matheran with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Byke is Matheran's first dwelling place. Built in 1854 by the discoverer of Matheran, Hugh Malet, then Collector of Thane , it is a heritage building that still stands majestically in all its pristine glory, personifying a heritage unparalleled, surrounded by the inheritance of 7 sprawling acres. In this wooded estate the first luxury Resort of Matheran, The Byke- A Hotel Retreat, has been blended with nature. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Byke staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer