We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hampton Inn Defiance

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel deals
Hotel website
1037 Hotel Drive, Defiance, OH 43512
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn Defiance
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    33
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
43
28
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (137)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (38)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Palos Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Hampton Inn in Defiance was just what you would expect from Hampton Inn . Clean and comfortable however a bit pricey for the area. The breakfast buffet was nothing to talk about but was your average buffet fair.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice Hampton. Near the freeway. Good location. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. Ice machine worked fine. The parking lot is tight. It's next door to the Holiday Inn Express so I would price them both.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indianapolis, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great spot to stop between Toledo and Ft. Wayne. Lots of choices around to eat. Breakfast is lacking meat or gluten free cereal. Staff very helpful in advising of places to eat. Beds are always comfortable at all the Hamptons we have stayed at and this one did not disappoint.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Room was very clean and comfortable. Great quality hotel for the price charged. Wonderful breakfast options and food was delicious. Only complaint was pillow quality. The pillows could have been a bit more firm.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bridgeton, Missouri
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found this hotel by accident when we had to find a way around the closure at highway 70. When we got off the exit there were multiple hotels to choose from but we went straight to the Hampton knowing it would have an indoor pool and would most likely be clean. As expected, it was clean and modern. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called front desk to report the TV turned on, but black screen and no audio. Was told nothing could be done - No other rooms, no other TVs, no maintenance to check out and no master remote available if problem with channel programming. Complete refund was given however.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brock F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Defiance, responded to this review

I do apologize that the particular night you stayed with us the hotel was sold out and there was not another vacant room to move you to. Unfortunately, I had sent several televisions along with the master programing remote to be repaired earlier that day. Because your stay was not 100 % satisfactory you were offered Hampton's 100% Gaurntee. Again... More 

Janesville, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

I was told to go here by corporate. What a pleasant surprise! I've never seen a bathroom this large, well-kept, stocked with towels, and decorated. Modern room, large desk for work, abundant outlets -- even 2 USB ones. Great use of space: closet was behind the mirror. There was even a tray to rest on your lap to play cards... More 

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Stayed in Defiance OH during my work trip I have stayed at this hotel before and again was not disappointed this is the best place to stay in Defiance friendly staff and a clean safe hotel. Pool Is nice and the breakfast is very good.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Hope, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2015

DONT STAY HERE! OVERPRICED! I verbally check out early in the morning and the information was not communicated to billing. NO EXCUSE FOR THAT. Stayed in a Hilton property in another state the next night. They would not remove the nightly charge. Manager Brock Frazier was obstinate and unwilling to remove 1 day charge. As a Diamond member Hilton became... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brock F, General Manager at Hampton Inn Defiance, responded to this review

Dear Stan S. I'm so sorry to read about your displeasure with Hampton. As I personally explained to you on the phone sir, there is no way you could have checked out in person to someone at the front desk or you would have received a billing folio at that time, You clearly stated to me that you did not... More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

We visit Defiance every year to go mineral hunting in the quarry, outside town. We always stay at this Hampton Inn, because it is constantly clean and comfortable! We will definitely stay next year again.

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (6)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Defiance
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Defiance
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Defiance
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
22.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bryan-Montpelier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
15.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Napoleon Inn & Suites
23.0 mi away
Ramada Montpelier Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay