We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 139 Columbus hotels

University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3110 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
34%
Ranked #96 of 139 hotels in Columbus
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
David M Columbus
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
17
5
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Hotel had a smell that I probally will never forget. Our door didn't lock the bathroom was disgusting, and the phone & tv remote didn't work. Need I say more? I would not recommend anyone to stay at this location. I booked a room for 3 adults and 2 children and we got 2 full beds. Never Again!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Whenever you travel with 3 adults and 2 children and making a reservation on-line, please be sure the room you reserve can accommodate the number of occupants. When you brought your concern to the front desk agent he offered to give you another room that will accommodate your family. However the hotel's offer was not accepted by you. Maybe next... More

Powhatan Point, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have always stayed at this hotel when I am in town. After I booked and asked if they still had hot breakfasts and was told YES. I booked my stay and in the middle of it, they discontinued that service. I had a critical ill patient at the hospital and was thrown out of the hotel without notice because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We apologize that we could not accommodate your needs to your satisfaction. To stay competitive with room rates in this area; we decided instead of raising the prices of our rooms to eliminate the hot items of our complementary buffet. We still offer a full complementary continental breakfast that still offers a variety of choices to start your morning right.... More

Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed a 2 nights at this hotel. Staff was great. First night I didn't get to sleep that much do to the furnace making a terrible noise. The next morning I was trying to get some hot water. A gentleman was walking down the hall, and I asked if he had hot water. He replied that he had hot... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am glad that a Good Samaritan had the technical skills and goodwill to help you with what sounds to be very easy fixes in your room. For your own safety, as you travel and use hotels often, hotels want to hear your issues so they can make it right by you as their guest. All hotels are fully staffed... More

Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Would NOT recommend for business/ANY travel: Business Center-one PC computer, no printer Fitness Center-very dirty, old/broken equipment Room-paper thin towels, non-draining tub/shower Service-unfriendly, not knowledgable Shuttle-no airport transportation, shuttle to hospital on the half-hour or hour depending on location

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was less then satisfactory. I wish we had a chance to respond to your sleeping room concerns; we can bring us additional towels and help with the slow draining tub. The business center printer is replaced with a new one, when we get renovated we will have more then one... More

Newcomerstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked based on cost and free breakfast close to the Columbus Convention Center. Outstanding location. Helpful Staff. Great FREE breakfast buffett. Clean and Tidy. It made for an easy overnight stay in Columbus with a group of 20 adults/youth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for trusting your group with us. We appreciate your kind words and I will make sure I share them with our hard working staff. We would be honored to have you as our guest again. See you soon! More

Canton, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the Penn State game because it was the only place wihin walking distance of the stadium with rooms. The bathroom was dirty with hair in the corner of the floor. The bathroom toiletries were not restocked our seond day. The carpet and hallways smell. I saw the maid put what looked like clean linen on that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am sorry that you had such experience. We strive to do the best we can and take care of each guest but in this instance we droped the ball with this specific room. I wish we had known that you were in a room that obviously had cleanliness issues; we would have taken care of it immediately. If we... More

Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Reserved 3 rooms for classmates for OSU Homecoming Oct 18th in mid-August. Keys to one room did not work after 3 trips to the lobby and when we left for the football game I asked to have the door lock checked. After returning, found out that no acton was taken and 2nd shift maintenance advised moving rooms or walking thru... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

I am sorry about the misunderstanding but we had 3 rooms under your name. One of the adjoining rooms had a lock issue and we were instructed by you that you can just go in from that room to yours because you were all together and that is what we did. If you feel that this issue is not resolved... More

MN
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed there for a career fair on campus. They have a flat rate taxi fair with Orange Taxi to and from their hotel ($20 from, $23 to the hotel) which you have to ask for from the driver. I went to animal science buildings and it was a $9-$10 ride to and from the hotel. There was a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. If you are in the area again and visiting OSU don't forget to take advantage of our complementary shuttle which can take you back and forth within a 3 mile radius. It is available upon request and you must schedule your trip with the front desk. We hear there is a renovation upcoming and so... More

Clarendon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've been traveling to Columbus for medical treatment for the past few months. We've had trouble finding a decent hotel in an area we felt was safe. We gave this hotel a try and feel we have found our home away from home. I was a little concerned because the price was so low and some of the reviews made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Spyros T, General Manager at University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

We are very happy to have you as our guests every month. We apreciate the kind words you have for us and I will be sure to share with all our staff. On a personal note; we all wish you and your family speedy recovery to health. More

Been to University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center

Also Known As:
University Plaza Hotel Columbus
University Plaza Hotel
University Plaza Hotel And Conference Center Columbus, Ohio
Address: 3110 Olentangy River Road, Columbus, OH 43202
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Expedia and Venere so you can book your University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Plaza Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.