We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

3.0 of 5 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    70
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
33
47
18
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It's really unfortunate that this Marriott is in such bad condition. It's an incredible location and an old historic Bank building. Half the lobby for some reason is quarantined off from gas. I don't know why the hotel isn't utilizing that space. There was absolutely no one here in the hotel I was here. I went to visit the bar... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jason C, I appreciate you noting our kind and helpful associates. I’m sorry that our accommodations were not to your liking. Guest satisfaction is our highest priority and I regret that we left you with a poor impression. Your feedback is welcomed as it encourages change for future stays. Thank you for taking the time to share your review... More 

Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As a Marriott "Gold" customer, I've stayed here a few times over the last two years. I do business downtown and the location is great. However, this property is trending in the wrong direction and is no longer a "Marriott quality" experience. The property needs work and the atmosphere is almost depressing. When checking in, the desk clerk was clueless... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JTSomers, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry for the lapses in service during your stay. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.... More 

Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

this is our favorite hotel in Columbus. We love the ambiance of its prior life as a bank. The valet people are friendly and fast. I love that I can send them a text to bring my car around. The front desk people are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, including the beds. We think that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Mikeshy, Welcomes back! Thank you for sharing your experience. Your review serves as encouragement towards achieving our goal of providing the best accommodations and service. Your kind words let us know the efforts across all departments are being noticed. We are humbled by your recognition and hope to be your hotel of choice. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More 

Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are big fans of The Residence Inn, mainly for the extra room they provide. This is a below average Residence Inn. It could do with refurbishment. the decor is looking tired. The staff at Marriott are fabulous, well trained and responsive. No complaints there. So how could it be better? It is a converted old style bank, and has... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dryrun, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you acknowledging that our great location and friendly staff. I apologize for your disappointment in our room decor. Your valuable feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and continually improve our property. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When you first walk into the lobby, look up. The building was formerly a bank with huge decorative ceiling. The hotel itself is typical of the newer Residence Inn format - modern fixtures and furniture. Adequate little kitchenette. Comfortable chairs and bed. Free Wi-Fi. The valet parking is a bit pricey, but inline with other downtown hotels. We were visiting... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Writerjeff, We're happy to hear from you! It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our great location. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More 

Ravenna, Ohio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Gay Street is about half mile safe walk to either convention center or arena so you can park your car for $20 valet overnight and leave it. The property was an old bank. Furnishings were clean and functional. Over 30 TV channels, good breakfast, quiet rooms. Water pressure in shower was a little low for my taste but the shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Leslie C, We appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service, modern accommodations and central location. Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. Your words serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More 

Land of Pleasant Living
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times since it has opened, most for 4-5 day stays. I am writing this review while I am still in the room. The bed was horrible - poor night's sleep. My wife just took a shower and there was hardly any pressure and the water wasn't even warm. I will not be taking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cz75guy, Thank you for sharing a review with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark due to the water pressure and the comfort of your bed. Your feedback provides us... More 

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding and the staff was GREAT! I only had a reservation or one night, but they were able to extend it- which aided me in not having to switch hotels an hour before the night. Additionally, the valet(only option) was ran by excellent staff! Very nice and worked quickly. One even helped me put my luggage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jessica S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. It is sincere feedback like yours which allows us to monitor and enhance our guest experience. We’re pleased to hear our , friendly staff and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay while in town for a wedding. There is no better compliment than a... More 

San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

Stayed here for a business trip and read all the reviews. Yes, it's a historical building and so for some has it's charm. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff friendly and very accommodating. the hotel has a lot of potential but could use a refresh. As a female business traveler there really weren't many options within a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Pearlllama, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your compliments which highlight what we are doing well and your recommendations for areas of improvement. Your review is valuable because it is how we monitor and improve our guest experience. Thanks again and we humbly request... More 

Blue Ash
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

We have now stayed at the Residence Inn in Columbus twice. Each time it has been a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff are all very nice, and knowledgable. Parking is $20 per night, only valet is available-but it is worth it. You can text to have your car available for you in a very quick amount of time! We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear daisy7465, Welcome back! It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We thank you for your compliments. Each member of our team strives daily to provide positive guest experiences. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Columbus
#32 Family Hotel in Columbus
#35 Business Hotel in Columbus

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay