We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 142 Columbus hotels

Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Columbus Downtown to your Saves list
Ranked #23 of 142 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Writerjeff
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
31
47
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (197)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (53)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (57)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

When you first walk into the lobby, look up. The building was formerly a bank with huge decorative ceiling. The hotel itself is typical of the newer Residence Inn format - modern fixtures and furniture. Adequate little kitchenette. Comfortable chairs and bed. Free Wi-Fi. The valet parking is a bit pricey, but inline with other downtown hotels. We were visiting... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Writerjeff, We're happy to hear from you! It's great to know that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms as well as our great location. Please plan to visit us again the next time you travel to the area. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More

Ravenna, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Gay Street is about half mile safe walk to either convention center or arena so you can park your car for $20 valet overnight and leave it. The property was an old bank. Furnishings were clean and functional. Over 30 TV channels, good breakfast, quiet rooms. Water pressure in shower was a little low for my taste but the shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Leslie C, We appreciate you sharing your kind recommendation. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service, modern accommodations and central location. Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. Your words serve as encouragement to our associates who strive to provide a pleasant stay. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More

Land of Pleasant Living
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times since it has opened, most for 4-5 day stays. I am writing this review while I am still in the room. The bed was horrible - poor night's sleep. My wife just took a shower and there was hardly any pressure and the water wasn't even warm. I will not be taking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cz75guy, Thank you for sharing a review with us. We sincerely apologize that we were unable to provide you with the exceptional stay you've come to expect from us. The little details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark due to the water pressure and the comfort of your bed. Your feedback provides us... More

New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a wedding and the staff was GREAT! I only had a reservation or one night, but they were able to extend it- which aided me in not having to switch hotels an hour before the night. Additionally, the valet(only option) was ran by excellent staff! Very nice and worked quickly. One even helped me put my luggage... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Jessica S, Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. It is sincere feedback like yours which allows us to monitor and enhance our guest experience. We’re pleased to hear our , friendly staff and convenient location made for an enjoyable stay while in town for a wedding. There is no better compliment than a... More

San Francisco
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a business trip and read all the reviews. Yes, it's a historical building and so for some has it's charm. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and the staff friendly and very accommodating. the hotel has a lot of potential but could use a refresh. As a female business traveler there really weren't many options within a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Pearlllama, We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased to learn that your stay was enjoyable. We appreciate your compliments which highlight what we are doing well and your recommendations for areas of improvement. Your review is valuable because it is how we monitor and improve our guest experience. Thanks again and we humbly request... More

Blue Ash
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have now stayed at the Residence Inn in Columbus twice. Each time it has been a pleasant and comfortable stay. The staff are all very nice, and knowledgable. Parking is $20 per night, only valet is available-but it is worth it. You can text to have your car available for you in a very quick amount of time! We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear daisy7465, Welcome back! It is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We thank you for your compliments. Each member of our team strives daily to provide positive guest experiences. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really enjoyed staying here, the room was spacious and very clean so we were very happy with it. The staff at reception were very friendly and were kind enough to point us in the direction of some of the local bars (only a short walk up the road). The breakfast was basic and I think they could do with a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Dan J, Thank you for sharing your kind review with us and other travelers. I’m glad you enjoyed our well-equipped suites, friendly service and central location. It’s encouraging to hear that our hard work is affecting the guest experience. Please visit us again upon your return to the area. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More

Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
46 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

My wife and I checked in here after having to leave the poor Residence Inn in Worthington. Maybe anything would've been better after my experience there, but no doubt, this stands on its own. Standard comforts of the Residence Inn, but having stayed in a number of Residence Inns the last few months, it's easily the best one I've been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear R W, Your feedback assists us in our mission to continuously improve our offerings and guest satisfaction, so we thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. I’m happy to hear of the comfort you experienced due to our modern accommodations and central location. On behalf of our entire team, I thank you for your kind remarks. Please... More

Florence, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

Staff was very nice and helpful. The room was nice but not great. We were there the Columbus Marathon which began at 7 am. The complimentary breakfast buffet was not ready until 7 am even though many runners were staying at the hotel. I would stay again if in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ralph L, We are delighted that you took the time to write. Your review, which highlights strengths and areas for improvement, allows us to monitor and enhance our guest experience. Our team works hard to provide a pleasant stay, so we appreciate knowing you felt comfortable while in-town for the marathon. I have take note of your comments regarding... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

Went for a OHACEP Emergency Medicine Review course for Boards. Got a group discount even when the course was at a nearby Marriott. The breakfast at the residence inn was great, period. All the staff were very helpful and on top the coin laundry service helped me go back home with clean laundry. They even got me a $15 flat... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ConcordHospitality, General Manager at Residence Inn Columbus Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ivancitopr, We appreciate having the opportunity to host you. We aim to provide every guest with a comfortable visit, so it’s wonderful to hear of the comfort you experienced while staying with us. I thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. We hope to host you again soon. Best, Robert Kennedy General Manager More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Residence Inn Columbus Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Columbus Downtown

Address: 36 East Gay Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Location: United States > Ohio > Columbus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Columbus Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Columbus Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Hotel Columbus
Columbus Residence Inn
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown Ohio

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay