We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center

#29 of 141 Hotels in Columbus
Certificate of Excellence
111 East Nationwide Blvd, Columbus, OH 43215
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

431 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    200
    154
    42
    15
    20
See reviews for
52
70
41
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (431)
  • Mar-May only
    (103)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (131)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (115)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (82)
All months
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is great. I went with some friends to a con at the Hyatt and it is maybe a three minute walk to the convention center. I was blown away by how friendly and helpful the staff was. The rooms were clean and a decent size. The pillows weren't too comfy, but the beds were. Our shower did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for telling us about your stay and how much you enjoyed our team's friendly service. We greatly appreciate your very positive comments. It sounds like our location worked very well for your con; and you experienced how easy it is to walk to so many things happening in downtown Columbus. Our rooms are very spacious and every room... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my stay at the Red Roof Plus. The hotel and rooms were spacious, tastefully decorated and squeaky clean. The RRP is conveniently located across the street from the Convention Center. The staff were friendly and helpful. Denny, the Front Desk attendant was the best of all! He went the extra mile whenever I needed help. When I arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thanks for telling us how much you liked your stay in our seven story Red Roof Plus+ in downtown Columbus, OH. As you said, right across the street from the Greater Columbus Convention Center. Our hotel is so fortunate to be in such an excellent location, within walking distance to so many things to do and see. Our team appreciates... More 

Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was perfect: clean, neat and a great view of the city. The location was very convenient to everything. The hotel staff were all very pleasant, extremely helpful and made us feel that they really wanted to make our stay comfortable. J J was over the top helpful! I rate this stay a 10+!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel with a 10+ rating. Our team is very glad you enjoyed your stay and J.J. is especially pleased that you singled him out for his customer service skills. J.J. has worked here for many, many years, taking good care of our guests. I hope you sampled our free continental breakfast... More 

Wooster, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arriving in our room, I noticed one of the two beds was broke down on one side. The room was warm and humid and I discovered the air conditioner was not working properly. Deciding to call the front desk about this, I found that the phone did not work and I had to fix the connection myself. I also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

We appreciate your review to let us know about your stay. Feedback good or bad only makes us a stronger team and a better hotel. I am very sorry that we failed to deliver a clean and comfortable guest experience for you. It is our main focus. We never want to provide less than great accommodations for our guests. Please... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a good experience overall! We were here for a convention and we got the premium room. It was nice and spacious and they provided snacks in the mini fridge. We missed housekeeping one morning and Denny at the front desk was really helpful getting us the stuff we needed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us know how you liked your stay in one of our Premium rooms. Larger flat screen TV, enhanced bedding package with more pillows, multi flow shower head and the food snack box in the mini-fridge. My apologies for the missed cleaning service. It is good to know that Denny took care of your requests. He does... More 

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in around 4pm in a king size room on the 1st floor, Denny the man at the front desk kindly called me to check in and make sure things were satisfactory. It was a bit noisy while I was napping from all the guests from the comic convention going on down the street. He upgraded me to a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us. Denny also thanks you for complimenting him on his attention to your needs. I hope you had an opportunity to sample our free continental breakfast and use our complimentary Wi-Fi service. Please return for another visit whenever you are coming back to Columbus. More 

Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Amazing staff. Rooms were clean. Great price. Great location. You cannot go wrong staying here for an event in the arena district. From the moment we were greeted by Denny at the front desk, we felt right at home. Free local and long distance nationwide in the US, great continental breakfast. Clean rooms, HBO...what more could you want? Hats off... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

It is great to know you had a comfortable stay at our seven story Red Roof Plus+ in Downtown Columbus. There is so much to do in the Arena District and it is all within easy walking distance from our hotel. Denny will appreciate knowing that his greeting at your check-in was the start of a very enjoyable visit for... More 

southcentral wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

3 1/2 stars. above average for the price and location. Clean environment and pleasant staff. No hassles. Little run down (towel hook off wall, broken ice machine, funky smell in hallway, AC on/off every 10 minutes) but these are kinda picky things. Continental breakfast very limited. Columbus is a great city and we don't spend a lot of time in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your overnight visit. We always like to know what our guests think or our staff, our hotel and the area. We appreciate your comments. Please come back for another visit and consider trying one of our Premium King or Double-Double rooms. They come with an enhanced bedding package, more pillows, food... More 

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First, I will say, the staff is very, very nice and helpful. Everyone we encountered greeted us, was kind, and pleasant. That is the best part of this hotel. It is low cost to stay there so you probably should expect what you pay for even though the presentation tries to appear to be something it is not. Never really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. Glad you felt that you received good customer service from our team. I am sorry that you did not feel you received good value and that our hotel was not to your liking. We never like to disappoint our guests and I am sorry we did in your case. Your... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a truly awful stay last year at the Hampton, VA, Red Roof Inn (see my review), I was loathe to stay at any Red Roof Inn again. My trip this year to Columbus coincided with multiple events and conventions in the city and I could not find a room near the convention centre regardless of price other than at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ken S, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus Downtown-Convention Center, responded to this review

Thank you so much for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit with us. Your detailed review is much appreciated. We try to be a good value option in the downtown lodging market. Our continental breakfast (vs. full breakfast) is one way we try to keep our room rates competitive and generally lower than most hotels in our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (39)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Columbus hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Columbus Downtown
0.1 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Columbus Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Hilton Columbus Downtown
Hilton Columbus Downtown
#3 of 141 in Columbus
4.5 of 5 stars 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Columbus Downtown
3.7 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Columbus-The Ohio State University
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Columbus
Hyatt Regency Columbus
#30 of 141 in Columbus
4.0 of 5 stars 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay