We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 16 Canton hotels

McKinley Grand Hotel

3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Hotel amenities
McKinley Grand Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added McKinley Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Canton
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Sabar3 Falls Church, Virginia
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    47
    48
    24
See reviews for
44
56
22
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (201)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
Falls Church, Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived late and was warmly greeted by the desk staff and advised where to park for free. Manager saw me wandering in the lobby and apologized that the bar was closed and offered to make me a cup of coffee. The room was in superb condition with everything in working order. Hotel was on discount through Priceline so my expectations... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Shanghai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

I was staying in Canton to visit my wife's hometown and wanted somewhere central so that we could get out and about quickly. As many people have commented the lobby, front desk and staff are all lovely but the rooms are dated and noisy. The location is generally poor and while the parking garage was now monitored I didn't feel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

gporritt Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. We wanted to thank you for your kind words regarding our newly renovated lobby and great staff. That being said, we are saddened to hear we fell short in other aspects of your time with us. I have taken your comments to our Chef and he is able to... More 

Canton, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The lobby was beautiful. Rooms were clearly a little older, but that gave it a nice "home away from home" feel. Front desk staff was helpful and efficient. It's the perfect place to just get away for the weekend. Will definitely be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

leemarie1234 Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate the mention of our lobby which was newly renovated, summer of 2014. We are so pleased that you feel at home when you stay with us, as this is the goal of our entire staff!! We look forward to seeing you again for another weekend getaway! Stop in and... More 

Riverside, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Husband and I had a two night visit on our recent trip. The lobby was nice looking and clean. From what I understand this property was formerly a Hilton hotel and it has that feel to it when you walk in. The room however had a bad smell. To me it smelled like a room that was formerly a smoking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Metawnny1- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! Thank you for mentioning our nice lobby it was renovated in Summer 2014. We are a %100 percent smoke free facility, and it is truly regretful to hear that you were in a room that had been smoked in previously. When guests disregard our policy they are... More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

I stayed at the McKinley for business. The lobby was beautiful and the staff was extremely friendly. Unfortunately once I got to my room I was very disappointed, It certainly did not live up to the entrance and staff. The decor was very dated, felt old and, although it didn't appear dirty, it certainly felt that way. The parking garage... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Donnakcrowe- Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience here at the McKinley Grand Hotel. With reviews like yours we can focus on all aspects of guest satisfaction. We appreciate the mention you made in regards to our friendly staff and our lobby that was renovated Summer of 2014. I am saddened to hear that you did... More 

Saegertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Although the place was somewhat dated we enjoyed our stay. Having read some negative reviews I wasn't sure what to expect. We got the room on Hotwire for $48 :) My wife and I feel we ended up getting a better than average value. It came with a simple but good hot breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Ramblingdutchman- Thank you so much for your kind words! I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us! We want each guest to feel as though we can be their home away from home. We are also currently phasing different upgrades and improvements to the hotel. We would love to have you back... More 

Logan OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

When we arrived Saturday evening we were greeted by a very welcoming young man. Gave us lots of information and so helpful. Enjoyed the lounge area for a drink and appetizers. Our room was very large and had the most comfortable bed and pillows. Wish I would have checked out the hotel prior to see they had a inside swimming... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Schirmer- Thank you for such a great review! Our front desk was extremely pleased to see your review! We sincerely appreciate the mention you gave to our complimentary breakfast as well as your to-go coffee. We have recently made changes to our buffet and we are always doing new and exciting things. It is our hope that we can serve... More 

Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Perhaps my expectations are too high, however this hotel left a lot to be desired. The room was decent; it was clean, just old; nothing fancy. Nice lobby which is deceiving. The breakfast was horrible, no meat, watery oatmeal, tasteless eggs, and the worst of all, the fruit had not been washed. Hash browns were disgusting. The waitresses weren't the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
McKinleyGrand_DOSM, Manager at McKinley Grand Hotel, responded to this review

Mstammicog- Thank you for taking the time out to write your review. Reviews of all kinds are greatly appreciated, as it guides us in the direction we need to take our hotel. It saddens us that you do not truly enjoy your stay with us. Ideally, we hope every guest thoroughly enjoys all aspects of our hotel. Thank you for... More 

Taylorville, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

Lobby is pretty. Rooms are average at best. They could really use some sound proofing in the door and bathroom areas. Our toilet would run intermittently that I fixed myself. The free breakfast had eggs, hash browns, fruit and oatmeal but no meat.....staff very friendly though. They aren't that far away from getting another star.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

My sister and I are checking out of the McKinley Grand today. We stayed two nights and would have checked out a nigh early but we prepaid for our room. This hotel is horrible! Our room had water stains on the ceiling. It looked like the was a water leak at one time and, instead of properly cleaning it up,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to McKinley Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McKinley Grand Hotel

Address: 320 Market Avenue South, Canton, OH 44702
Location: United States > Ohio > Canton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — McKinley Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McKinley Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Grand Canton
McKinley Grand Hotel Canton, Ohio

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay