We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Flinders Ranges National Park hotels

Wilpena Pound Resort

3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Wilpena Pound Resort to your Saves list
Wilpena Pound Resort
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
73%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013
LAS2212 Wellington, New Zealand
  • Overview
  • Reviews (129)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (58)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (26)
  • More
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
32
65
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Wilpena Pound Resort
See the most recent reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had two nights at Wilpena and enjoyed them. Its a great drive there and worth it, A nice room clean, and quiet. Maybe because of quite neighbors? Great walks - for example up to and overlooking the pound. Good reception and we had a nice meal in the bar, As non-aussies (from NZ) this gave us a great look... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear LAS2212, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the great drive here, which was once listed in the top 10 drives in Australia by the ‘Weekend Australian”. Happy to read the room was nice and clean – will pass your comments onto our... More

Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Have very much enjoyed staying here in Sept 2012, July 2013, and Sept 2013. The self contained kitchen facilities in the Edeowie rooms are excellent for our young family. I was very proud to see toiletries made in Australia for the previous two trips, however, this time I found shampoo produced in China. Please keep using Australian products! All staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear John W, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wilpena Pound Resort. Happy to read you enjoyed the Edeowie self-contained rooms. We have recently purchased guest room amenities through Indigiearth which is an Australian company, however we are waiting on the first shipment to arrive. A refreshing drink at the end of the... More

Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Spend 2 nights here... it was amazing... the wildlife is right outside the front door. It is in the middle of no where... Yes it not cheap,,,, the room have been refreshen up.... the building look average however your open the room door and pleasantly surprised it was clean and fresh. The pool was clean... and the restaurant over price... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Otagopete, Thank you for your feedback about Wilpena Pound Resort. Our guests do love the wildlife around the Resort. The emus and kangaroos are quite happy to graze around the property. I am glad you found your room clean and comfortable and will pass on your comments to the housekeeping team. Also pleasing to read you enjoyed the restaurant... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Well where do we begin, at nearly 300 dollars for a room I must say our expectations were higher. I wish we stayed somewhere else on our last impression of south Australia . Our first impressions of being checked in by staff wearing a sons on anarchy jumper, well it really didn't get any better after that! Surroundings were nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear further65, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Wilpena Pound Resort. I was very concerned to read all your points raised and have since discussed these in length with the whole team to ensure these are improved on immediately. I am very sorry that your stay here did not meet the... More

melbourne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After a long trip from Darwin to Adelaide via caravan we decided to make a last stop off at Wilpena Pound park . Since most of our trip had been self catered and since the helpful visitor shop staff informed us of resort restaurants and discounted meals we decided to treat ourselves and splurge at the dining facility's nearby. After... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear sand k, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. I must apologise that our Food and Beverage staff did not meet the high standard we strive to achieve. This is very out of character as they usually receive praise daily, for their friendly, helpful service and positive attitude. We will use... More

Baradine, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed in one of the self contained 2 roomed units at the lodge & found it excellent for our needs. It had a well equipped kitchen with all cooking facilities, 2 rooms , one with a Queen bed, & one with 2 single beds & the bathroom had a shower/bath combination & loo which was very roomy.It also had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear gypsy039, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Wilpena Pound Resort. It’s pleasing to read you enjoyed the Edeowie rooms which have the kitchenette as these have proven to be popular. Glad to see you enjoyed the range of facilities across the property including the well-stocked store. I agree, sunset from... More

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Once again we are staying at the campground , this time on a powered site. Level site which is great for our tent. Not far from amenities which are kept very clean. Showers are hot and have good pressure. Fantastic walks nearby with fantastic wildlife to see. Good store with basic supplies. Good cappuccino too. Will be coming again

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lib54, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at Wilpena Pound Resort campground. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your time here experiencing the numerous walking trails available. Hot showers are very important and we take pride in keeping these facilities clean – your comments have been passed onto the team that look after... More

adelaide
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Unfortunately the magnificent location was spoilt by incompetence in their booking management. They lost our booking, found it again, canceled it and finally gave it to us in the wrong rooms. Unfortunately this also happened to other members of our group. Markus tried to solve the problem but we finished up with downgraded rooms at opposite ends of the resort.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear helloAdelaide, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Wilpena Pound Resort. I am sorry the booking process has failed on this occasion during such a busy weekend. I understand Markus did what he could to try and resolve the issue at the time however the end result did not suit your... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a great place to stay, very close proximity to good hikes and 4 wheel drive courses. The room we had was very clean, comfortable and spacious. We woke up to kangaroos on the porch which was a very nice surprise! We ate in the restaurant one night, and in the bistro 2 nights, the last night we went... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Dear Heatherxlrish, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Wilpena Pound Resort. It is pleasing to read the room was very clean, comfortable and spacious. Kangaroos directly outside are certainly a nice experience to wake up to. I’m sorry the food did not meet your expectations. We have since redeveloped the menus... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights at the resort with a 92 year old family friend. The resort was comfortable and clean. An electric blanket would have been good on the cold nights but there is a reverse cycle air conditioner.. Lighting was not good in the motel type room and some were not on when walking the paths to the restaurant.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnthologyTravel, General Manager at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at Wilpena Pound Resort. Its pleasing to read you enjoyed your experience here in a safe, comfortable, clean and ideal location. I’m sorry the outdoor lighting was not working to its full capacity during your stay, and can advise this has now been resolved. I must... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Wilpena Pound Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilpena Pound Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilpena Pound Resort

Address: Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Flinders Ranges > Flinders Ranges National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilpena Pound Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Wilpena Pound Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilpena Pound Hotel
Wilpena Pound Resort Flinders Ranges National Park, Australia - South Australia

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wilpena Pound Resort has 60 rooms. Every room was refurbished in 2009 and upgraded to a 4-star category. Brachina and Aroona Rooms suit individuals and couples travelling together, whereas the Heysen and Edeowie Suites are larger with more extensive facilities suitable for families or people needing a little more space than a traditional hotel room. All rooms have Austar satellite television providing a wide selection of channels free of charge. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer