We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilpena Pound Resort

Hotel website
Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilpena Pound Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wilpena Pound Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

227 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    53
    111
    43
    16
    4
See reviews for
55
115
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (65)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (50)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
There are newer reviews for Wilpena Pound Resort
See the most recent reviews
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
104 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed three nights in a small van. Good size sites, nice setting in native bush and gardens, and good amenities block. Easy walk to the resort complex with nice meals at the Poddy Dodgers bar, caravanners and campers can also use the pool if they wish. Easy access to good walks to Wilpena Pound and the Hills Homestead. Also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi GACASydney_Australia, W are rally glad that you had a great stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. It sounds like you got to see some amazing sights and wildlife. We look forward to seeing you back again sometime soon. Kind Regards, Jason Purton Wilpena Pound Resort & Ikara Safari Camp More 

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2015

We recently stayed for two nights in deluxe family accommodation and everything was great - comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, nice quiet airconditioner which is always appreciated, in a great location. It was quiet at least for one day. We were a little put out that we were ousted from the main restaurant to make way for a tour group. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks TravelNanny2510, It is great that you enjoyed your stay at Wilpena Pound Resort. In relation to the Restaurant and meals we will address this with our departments and aim to ensure that our guests are communicated to about possible tour group disruptions. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review for Wilpena Pound Resort. Kind regards, Jason... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2015

We love the Flinders Ranges, especially out of the school holiday season, and May is wonderful for sunny days, cool nights and few flies. We stayed 2 nights in a motel room, which was fine, as motel rooms go. The complex itself has been there for 20 or more years. It is a perfect base for going forth, either doing... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Angela H, It seems that you may even love the Flinders as much as we do. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, the meals and the region. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kind regards, Jason Purton More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
75 hotel reviews
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

We stayed here for a night before the Arkaba Walk in one of the safari tents - lovely location and the tents are well equipped with bathroom, lots of hot water, a/c unit, comfortable beds and extra blankets in the wardrobe area. Tea and coffee are provided.The tents did get cold at night. The big tent behind us just serves... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Go55,, Thanks for your review. We are really glad that you enjoyed the Ikara Safari Camp. We would like to let you know that there is plans to put in a full kitchen at the safari camp, which will allow us to serve dinner. Additionally we have also noticed the cold and will be installing heaters to warm up... More 

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stayed there 6 days with my family (two young boys). YOu have plenty of space at your powered sites and it was very quiet all day and night. Facilities are clean and all in walking distance. The laundry appliances do need repair. One washing machine was not working and 2 out 3 driers were out of order which were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Coupeborgward, We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Wilpena Pound Campground. Thanks for letting us know about the Laundry issues. We will address this so that it does not affect future travellers. Thanks and we hope to see you back sometime soon. Kind regards, Jason Purton More 

Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Overall the infrastructure was good. Buildings, paths and rooms were all in good condition. We stayed in a 4 bed room with a good bush outlook. Management of the place is obviously lacking: one day our room was serviced at 6.30pm; breakfast was basic but OK because we served ourselves, although every morning 1 or 2 items ran out; dinner... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Anne M, Thanks for taking the time to write a review of Wilpena Pound Resort. We are disappointed that you had some issues during your stay and please be assured that the requirements of every guest is a priority for us. The team at the resort has been made aware of the concerns that you had and are working... More 

Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

Overall a great trip with many positives. Wilpena Pound is gorgeous and Wilpena Pound Resort is in a great location. We stayed in the Ikara safari tent and the tent was amazing. It was part hotel room part tent so definitely glamorous camping. Only constructive feedback I have is about the breakfast service. One staff member serving and cooking breakfasts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Jessica D, Thanks for your review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Ikara Safari Camp. It is definitely a glamping experience. Thanks for your comments in relation to your breakfast experience. We will absolutely look ways that we can adjust the offering to improve. There is always something that we can do. Thanks again... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015

We stopped in the permanent tents on a couple of cold Autumn days. They were very comfortable with large beds, plenty of room and very adequate ensuite. Didn't hurt that we could have a glass of wine and talk to the emus and wallaby's a few metres away. Breakfast basic but adequate and main bar very good. Service was friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Indigenous_Tourism, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Ozmatho, We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Permanent Tents at the Wilpena Pound Resort Campground. Couldn't think of anything better than having an nice glass of wine and watching the wildlife wander by. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. Regards, Jason Wilpena Pound Resort & Ikara Safari Camp More 

Ballarat
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2015

Stayed in the unpowered area of the resort. Good amenities and after a couple of days bush camping the hot showers were just what was required. No bargains in the store but had very good food at the Poddy Dodgers bar. Fires if you bring your own wood.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Idreher, Thanks for coming and staying at the Wilpena Pound Campground. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay. It is definitely great sitting around a fire (Just remember that during the Summer there are "Total Fire Bans" in the Narional Park). We look forward to seeing you back again soon. Hi Stuart M, Thanks for your time... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015

We had a 2 night stay in an Ikara Safari Tent, we loved everything about it! The bed was comfy and the heater made the tent was snug. The en-suite was brilliant and loved the gas heated shower!! We had breakfast both mornings and loved the fresh cooked brekky made to order, such a friendly chef! Great to mingle with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jason P, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Stuart M, Thanks for your time in letting us know about your experience in the Safari Tents. The Safari Camp is just over a year old and with more people enjoying we are happy to learn how things can improve. Your information about the lighting and towels is great and we will look into how we can improve these... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

75 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay