We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wilpena Pound Resort

Hotel website
Wilpena Road | Via Hawker, Flinders Ranges National Park, South Australia 5434, Australia
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wilpena Pound Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Wilpena Pound Resort
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    93
    35
    14
    4
See reviews for
46
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (190)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
East Anglia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
107 hotel reviews
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Wilpena Resort was pretty much empty when we stayed for three nights in hot February weather – but not quite hot enough to close the trails as they had done a week or so earlier. We picked the Ikara Safari camp for something a bit different, and because it was being heavily discounted. It’s not clear how long this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tarves
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to come to Wilpena Pound and don't want to camp this is it basically. So given its a captive market its pretty decent. Rooms are modern motel style, good buffet breakfast hot and cold. The staff in the bar restaurant are helpful but could have better training, as they didn't seem to know what wine they had.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Derek L, We appreciate you spending the time to write review. Thanks for the great feedback. We are always looking to improve the service and products that we are offering. Thanks again, Jason Purton More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Couldn't get over how friendly the staff and all the workers were never been so well looked after. Highly recommend resort great walking trails and very nice peaceful and relaxing with great native life. As for the food at the restraint it was absolutely superb. My wife and I will definitely be goin back. 😀

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Matnicky, Thanks for your wonderful review. Your comments about the staff have been forwarded to them and I am sure that they will be really happy to know that their efforts have been noticed. Kind regards, Jason Purton More 

Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had 3 night stay at the Safari tents and loved it. The moon was quite bright each night and when I woke up in the middle of the night, the view out of the mesh screens was beautiful. Wilpena were booked out for flight and tours but gave us the phone number of Rawnsley and advised us that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Hick_12, The Ikara Safari Tents are definitely worth a try. We are so glad that you had a great time and were able to get onto a flight. Kind Regards, Jason Purton More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is set in a great location inside the National park with access to flights around Wilpena Pound and Lake Eyre - definitely worth doing. We decided to upgrade to a Heysen Deluxe room. These are set back a little bit from the bar/reception area so less noise and more bushland, which we preferred. Good sized room and clean. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Keith1504, Your review is very Much appreciated. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time at Wilpena Pound Resort and especially the Heysen Room. We are glad that you mention the pool furniture as that is on order as I write this and there should be some shiny new items around the pool in the next week or... More 

Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have camped here on several occasions and just can't help being seduced by the environment. Although you have your pick of accommodation options, tent or swag amongst the trees with your own fire pit for warmth / cooking / yacking is the way to go. The onsite shop sells everything you may have forgotten to bring, including firewood. Abundant natural... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks Bertie S, We are so glad to hear that you not only enjoy Wilpena Pound as much as we do but you have been many times. Thanks for the great review and we hope to see you back again soon. Kind regards, Jason Purton More 

Riffa, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay at Wilpena Pound Camping ground. We booked for one night only and then couldn't get a Wilpena pound scenic flight until the next day. Unfortunately they couldn't arrange for us to stay on our campsite for another night so we moved on. The young man on the reception was ever so helpful - just didn't work out.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi Trishb2302, Thanks for coming ad spending some time at Wilpena Pound Resort. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Ensuring our planes are maintained at the highest standard is important, and we are very glad that you did not miss out on this opportunity to see such an amazing natural feature from the air. Kind Regards, Jason... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Ikara Safari Camp at the end of February. After having read some of the reviews, and stayed in other rural accommodation in Australia, we were realistic with our expectations. But wow, what a wonderful surprise. The photos on the website do not do this accommodation justice. We arrived late on Friday and did struggle to find our tents... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Thanks OOOAlliOOO, We are exceptionally happy that you enjoyed your stay and thank you very much for the great review. We are constantly working to improve the services and experience at the Ikara Safari Camp and it is great that you have had the chance to enjoy it. Thanks again, Jason Purton More 

West Quantoxhead UK
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

Expensive resort but well equipped. Fantastic rural surroundings. We stayed outside the National park but had to pay the entry fee to come in and walk up to the rim of Wilpena Pound. Few tourists around and appeared well run.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi HeidiSomersetUK, Thanks for spending the time to write a review. We agree that the surroundings are truly fantastic. The National Park Fee is is unfortunately out of our control, but is one of the things that we have to deal with being inside the Flinders Ranges National Park. It helps to maintain the walking trails and Visitor Centre so... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Based on what happened after we stayed laye Jan 2015 I've decided to edit my review. Absolutely beautiful location and surrounds, couldn't get enough of it! And that's where it stops. * Room - When we walked in there was a sewerage smell coming from the bathroom, there was a hole left in the wall from where the aircon had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Anthology-Team, Director of Sales at Wilpena Pound Resort, responded to this review

Hi S P, Thanks for your review. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your stay. It is also a shame that as per your request for a refund, we happily obliged, and that this was not sufficient compensation. As we have previously mentioned personally, we apologise for the shortcomings of the service provided. On a positive note, you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

83 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question