We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Roma accommodations

Big Rig Tourist Park

Save Saved
You added Big Rig Tourist Park to your Saves list
4 McDowall Street, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Overview
  • Reviews (25)
  • Photos (7)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (4)
  • Location
  • More
Big Rig Tourist Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Roma
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roma
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It was with some trepidation that we booked at The Big Rig Park after reading the reviews on this site. However we were nothing but very happy with our experience of an overnight stay on the way North. Reception staff were very helpful and the so called "grumpy" manager was lovely, helping us set up and chatting about Roma and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The park is close to town - a great feature. Our overnight stay was basically OK but the amenities need some serious maintenance, I would start with a coat of paint and replace the broken and missing hooks in the showers. The shelves in the showers are small and some are broken.In one of the men's showers the hot and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beaudesert, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the park for a few weeks for work and found the park to be clean and tidy. The toilet block was always clean and the showers were great. I didn't have any issues with the managers as described by other comments.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just stayed at this caravan park with our caravan. The manager is arrogant and could not care less about service to his customers. He regards travellers as merely a nuisance. I tried to check in at the office at 11am but nobody was interested. After waiting in the office and ringing the bell several times and hearing him... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi there, Firstly we would like to apologise for the way you felt you were treated at our park. We will certainly be bringing this matter to urgent attention and so we thank you for your comments. The full sign would go up if the sites still vacant have already been booked out, but the guests have not arrived yet... More

Bega, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This park is certainly not up to the standard we are used to with Top Tourist Parks. We were allocated a drive through site next to the road. No fence and no shrubs or trees to help reduce the road noise of the heavy vehicles using the road. It was a very open and exposed site. Amenities block was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi there and firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review - we do carefully consider all our reviews on Tripadvisor and we are sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking - We will certainly be addressing the comments you have made and will be continuing our improvements to our park. More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Big Rig Tourist Park and had a similar negative experience to many of the other reviewers here. When checking in, the lady in the front office was friendly enough but the man there was unashamedly rude. Prior to getting there, I checked the rates on the website and noted cabins to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to let us know that your stay was not to your liking - we will be addressing the issues raised in your comments and hope to make any nessceesry changes - The $10 extra fee is for a one night stay which is on the website, however, I do apologise if this was not communicated... More

Maryborough, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Big Rig Tourist Park for two weeks.. (work was our reason as well as being pet friendly). The Lady in the office was very nice, however, the Manager?? well, what can I say, he was the rudest, most belligerent individual I have every had the misfortune to meet. Others from the same work area as myself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to let us know that your stay was not to your liking - We certainly regard customer service as an integral part to our park and we will be addressing your comments with immediate effect so we can change others visitors stays with us. Although we would always like to hear good reviews,... More

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Owners were helpful; cabins were clean; conveniently placed and we were pleased to get the accommodation over the Easter weekend. Being Easter, of course, accommodation was scarce and they were full, but still fairly quiet. The downside was the cabin was small for two people and as my partner is a large man, it was cosy, side stepping around each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our park. We are glad you found our park and cabin clean and quiet. We will take into consideration anything we can do to improve our park and our guests stay and we do hope to see you next time you are in Roma More

Caloundra, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

During the Roma Show (9 and 10 May), we stayed two nights in one of the smaller 1 double bed and 1 double bunk cabins. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the whole park, and our cabin in particular. Clean and fresh towels, soap, shampoo and conditioner, aircon, easily secured with a key to the sliding door and security... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi Geoff and Lynne, Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always great to hear what our guests thought and we are all very pleased that you had such a good stay with us. Hope to see you again More

Bendigo, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We picked Big Rig as an overnight stop based on its Trip advisor reviews and even then it was a marginal call. Nowhere looked special and Big Rig has a lot of bitumen and virtually no shade. It's only a km from the centre of town and after a day in the car the walk to dinner was easy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Good Morning Rakehoe, Thankyou for taking the time to review our park. It is always good to hear from our guests. We are sorry that your welcome was not as friendly as it could of been. We do pride ourselves on the friendliness of our managers on site and so its a shame that you did not see this service.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Big Rig Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Big Rig Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Rig Tourist Park

Address: 4 McDowall Street, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Roma with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Friendliest Park in RomaBig Rig Top Tourist Park provides more than just a few nights of accommodation on your way through Roma. The Caravan Park is central to Roma's main street. 500m from the pubs and restaurants in town, it is adjacent to the Big Rig Information Centre and home to native birds. The Caravan Park has a full variety of accommodation including self-contained Villas, a range of cabins both single and double studios and 2 houses for families. Powered and Unpowered Sites offer shade and drive-thru options are available. Facilities include fantastic modern disabled amenities. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
120

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Big Rig Tourist Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer