We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Roma accommodations

Big Rig Tourist Park

Save Saved
You added Big Rig Tourist Park to your Saves list
4 McDowall Street, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Hotel amenities
Big Rig Tourist Park
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Roma
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Roma
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
3
14
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed 3 nights at this park, great experience, amenities might be older styled but always very clean. Don't know where the grumpy manager was hiding as we had no experiencing of him in our three days, in fact the management team, were very friendly, chatty and helpful.Would definitely recommend to others as a place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Geelong, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

It was with some trepidation that we booked at The Big Rig Park after reading the reviews on this site. However we were nothing but very happy with our experience of an overnight stay on the way North. Reception staff were very helpful and the so called "grumpy" manager was lovely, helping us set up and chatting about Roma and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi Kristine, Thank you for your lovely review about our park - as others are aware some negative reviews can damage our reputation and we are pleased that you still felt ok to come and see for yourself. We are very pleased that you did not have the same experience as a couple of previous guests have had in the... More

Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The park is close to town - a great feature. Our overnight stay was basically OK but the amenities need some serious maintenance, I would start with a coat of paint and replace the broken and missing hooks in the showers. The shelves in the showers are small and some are broken.In one of the men's showers the hot and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thanks Betty for taking the time to review our park, We will certainly look into rectifying the maintenance issues you raised, thank you for informing us of these. We do hope you has a pleasant stayand you enjoyed the town of Roma. Hope to see you again. More

Beaudesert, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I recently stayed at the park for a few weeks for work and found the park to be clean and tidy. The toilet block was always clean and the showers were great. I didn't have any issues with the managers as described by other comments.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi Brian, Thankyou for taking the time to let us know you were happy with your stay and that you found our park a clean and pleasant place to be. Hope to see you again More

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have just stayed at this caravan park with our caravan. The manager is arrogant and could not care less about service to his customers. He regards travellers as merely a nuisance. I tried to check in at the office at 11am but nobody was interested. After waiting in the office and ringing the bell several times and hearing him... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi there, Firstly we would like to apologise for the way you felt you were treated at our park. We will certainly be bringing this matter to urgent attention and so we thank you for your comments. The full sign would go up if the sites still vacant have already been booked out, but the guests have not arrived yet... More

Bega, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This park is certainly not up to the standard we are used to with Top Tourist Parks. We were allocated a drive through site next to the road. No fence and no shrubs or trees to help reduce the road noise of the heavy vehicles using the road. It was a very open and exposed site. Amenities block was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi there and firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review - we do carefully consider all our reviews on Tripadvisor and we are sorry that your stay with us was not to your liking - We will certainly be addressing the comments you have made and will be continuing our improvements to our park. More

Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed at the Big Rig Tourist Park and had a similar negative experience to many of the other reviewers here. When checking in, the lady in the front office was friendly enough but the man there was unashamedly rude. Prior to getting there, I checked the rates on the website and noted cabins to be... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to let us know that your stay was not to your liking - we will be addressing the issues raised in your comments and hope to make any nessceesry changes - The $10 extra fee is for a one night stay which is on the website, however, I do apologise if this was not communicated... More

Maryborough, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed at the Big Rig Tourist Park for two weeks.. (work was our reason as well as being pet friendly). The Lady in the office was very nice, however, the Manager?? well, what can I say, he was the rudest, most belligerent individual I have every had the misfortune to meet. Others from the same work area as myself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to let us know that your stay was not to your liking - We certainly regard customer service as an integral part to our park and we will be addressing your comments with immediate effect so we can change others visitors stays with us. Although we would always like to hear good reviews,... More

Brisbane
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Owners were helpful; cabins were clean; conveniently placed and we were pleased to get the accommodation over the Easter weekend. Being Easter, of course, accommodation was scarce and they were full, but still fairly quiet. The downside was the cabin was small for two people and as my partner is a large man, it was cosy, side stepping around each... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our park. We are glad you found our park and cabin clean and quiet. We will take into consideration anything we can do to improve our park and our guests stay and we do hope to see you next time you are in Roma More

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

During the Roma Show (9 and 10 May), we stayed two nights in one of the smaller 1 double bed and 1 double bunk cabins. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the whole park, and our cabin in particular. Clean and fresh towels, soap, shampoo and conditioner, aircon, easily secured with a key to the sliding door and security... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lucy M, Guest Relations Manager at Big Rig Tourist Park, responded to this review

Hi Geoff and Lynne, Thankyou so much for taking the time to write a review. It is always great to hear what our guests thought and we are all very pleased that you had such a good stay with us. Hope to see you again More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Big Rig Tourist Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Big Rig Tourist Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Rig Tourist Park

Address: 4 McDowall Street, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma

7 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Roma with
any amenities