We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Motel Carnarvon

Hotel website
18 Northern Road, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Special Offer
Book direct for best rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Carnarvon
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Motel Carnarvon
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (26)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (13)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

We have stayed at this motel often and it is always very good. We have a small truck on some trips to Roma and this motel has a large patch at the rear perfect to park a truck off road. The newer rooms are better than the old one so try and get one of the new ones. Staff are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

I recently stayed on the way through from Brisbane to Mount Isa. The couple who run the motel are lovely! So friendly and accommodating - gave us helpful tips for local restaurants, some of whom deliver to the room and the cost can be charged to the room! We decided to head out and visit the local Indian on their... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Excellent service, quality, cleanliness and easy to access/find. Has all the facilities and space of a higher price hotel but at a very good price. Stubbed my toe on the rippled wall next to the bed but that's to be expected in the dark in an unfamiliar place :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed in the cheapest available room, and were nothing less than impressed. It's very clean, very comfortable, and you are made to feel very welcome. Plenty of hot water. We were a little cold though during the night, but nothing too bad. Would definitely stay again if up that way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Chose this motel because of glowing TripAdvisor comments but these must be for the apartments. We got one of the last available units. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the air-conditioner didn't work properly (with the fan cutting out after an abnormally short time) so the room was uncomfortably cool. It was a very cold night.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagersDnK, Manager at Motel Carnarvon, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry that the heating in your Air Conditioner didn't heat, unfortunately we never know when these appliances can fail. Our reception hours do close at 8pm on a Sunday but regardless we wished you had of called us on your room phone, as this was definitely an emergency and we would have found you alternative heating. We... More 

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This has to be one of the best motels I have stayed in, spotless inside and out. Room cleaning, maintenance etc the best it can get. I have stayed in many properties around the world and this one cannot be faulted, highly recommended and well done management and staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Zilzie, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently on my 2nd visit to this town. Motel was located just north of the CBD on the Carnarvon Hwy. The Royal Hotel will pick you up and drop you off for dinner as there is no restaurant here, they will also deliver a meal to your motel door. Most restaurants in town will charge your meals back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Few of us traveling so we got a 2 room apartment, worth every cent. Self contained cooking facilities, good size bathroom and the room is super clean. Short drive from the town centre, which is ok if you have a car or like a little walk. Will stay here again if in Roma.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagersDnK, Manager at Motel Carnarvon, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & had a comfortable stay in our 2 Bedroom Apartment. Thanks for your positive review & we look forward to seeing you next time in Roma. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here in early January 2014 on the way from Port Douglas to Melbourne. Very happy with the apartment we had and cannot fault them for all round cleanness etc. Didn't have time to check out what else was on site but judging by the room, and other reviews, I am sure it is all excellent. The motel is about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent 2 nights at this motel and loved it. Friendly faces on arrival, very helpful and understanding. The room was clean and organised and very comfortable. It was nice not having a air cond blowing over a bed like many hotels. The pool was clean and enjoyable but suggest placing a umberalla or awning over the spa part of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

52 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question