We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Roma hotels

Motel Carnarvon

18 Northern Road, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Motel Carnarvon to your Saves list
Motel Carnarvon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
81%
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Roma
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
PhoenixSlash Tamworth, Australia
  • Overview
  • Reviews (24)
  • Photos (44)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (7)
  • More
true
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Excellent service, quality, cleanliness and easy to access/find. Has all the facilities and space of a higher price hotel but at a very good price. Stubbed my toe on the rippled wall next to the bed but that's to be expected in the dark in an unfamiliar place :D

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tamworth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in the cheapest available room, and were nothing less than impressed. It's very clean, very comfortable, and you are made to feel very welcome. Plenty of hot water. We were a little cold though during the night, but nothing too bad. Would definitely stay again if up that way.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Chose this motel because of glowing TripAdvisor comments but these must be for the apartments. We got one of the last available units. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the air-conditioner didn't work properly (with the fan cutting out after an abnormally short time) so the room was uncomfortably cool. It was a very cold night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagersDnK, Manager at Motel Carnarvon, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry that the heating in your Air Conditioner didn't heat, unfortunately we never know when these appliances can fail. Our reception hours do close at 8pm on a Sunday but regardless we wished you had of called us on your room phone, as this was definitely an emergency and we would have found you alternative heating. We... More

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This has to be one of the best motels I have stayed in, spotless inside and out. Room cleaning, maintenance etc the best it can get. I have stayed in many properties around the world and this one cannot be faulted, highly recommended and well done management and staff!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently on my 2nd visit to this town. Motel was located just north of the CBD on the Carnarvon Hwy. The Royal Hotel will pick you up and drop you off for dinner as there is no restaurant here, they will also deliver a meal to your motel door. Most restaurants in town will charge your meals back... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Few of us traveling so we got a 2 room apartment, worth every cent. Self contained cooking facilities, good size bathroom and the room is super clean. Short drive from the town centre, which is ok if you have a car or like a little walk. Will stay here again if in Roma.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagersDnK, Manager at Motel Carnarvon, responded to this review

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us & had a comfortable stay in our 2 Bedroom Apartment. Thanks for your positive review & we look forward to seeing you next time in Roma. More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here in early January 2014 on the way from Port Douglas to Melbourne. Very happy with the apartment we had and cannot fault them for all round cleanness etc. Didn't have time to check out what else was on site but judging by the room, and other reviews, I am sure it is all excellent. The motel is about... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I spent 2 nights at this motel and loved it. Friendly faces on arrival, very helpful and understanding. The room was clean and organised and very comfortable. It was nice not having a air cond blowing over a bed like many hotels. The pool was clean and enjoyable but suggest placing a umberalla or awning over the spa part of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
brisbane
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
75 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We drove from Brisbane and so were ready to relax when we arrived in Roma. The motel room was spacious and we were able to park the car under cover. In the heat, this cuts the heat and provides a sheltered place. The bed was comfortable and there was a pleasant view into a grassed area from the window as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After spending a long day on the road from Brisbane with the kids bored in the backseat, we were delighted to have an upgrade to an apartment - two bedrooms, each with a TV plus a large bathroom with bathtub and great shower. It was great to have a lovely night before our camping trip to Carnarvon Gorge. Bonus of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Motel Carnarvon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Motel Carnarvon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Carnarvon

Address: 18 Northern Road, Roma, Queensland 4455, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Roma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Motel Carnarvon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

44 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

Near Motel Carnarvon

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Motel Carnarvon is a combination of 18 x 4 Star Apartment Suites made up of Studio Apartments & 1 & 2 Bedroom Spacious Luxury Apartments and 20 x 3.5 Star Motel Units. Motel Carnarvon is just outside, but within walking distance of the centre of Roma, the Motel is in a quiet location in a garden setting on Northern Road and is the closest motel to Roma Airport. All rooms have microwaves & 80cm Flat Screen TV's with 14 Foxtel Channels including Premiere Movie. Motel Carnarvon is surrounded by lovely gardens & lawn areas. Jimojo wifi is available to all rooms- 1st hr is complimentary. In our complex we offer, a large undercover BBQ Area, with Full Size BBQ, Fridge, Sink, Tables & Chairs, Cooking Utensils & TV with Foxtel. This area is great for family or work "get togethers". Enjoy & relax in our crystal blue Pool & Spa (unheated) located at the front of the complex. We have a large guest laundry onsite with commercial coin operated Washers & Dryers. Self Serve $4 per wash & $4 per dry. Motel Carnarvon is a licensed premises & we have a "Smart Bar" located in Reception selling alcoholic beverages, drinks & snacks foods.Breakfast & Packed Lunches are available. We offer Evening Meals by way of Charge Back from many different Hotels & Restaurants in Roma, some of whom deliver.Friendly resident Managers, look forward to your arrival at Motel Carnarvon, so that your stay is memorable & comfortable each time you return. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
38

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Motel Carnarvon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer