We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Hotel website
2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Review This Hotel

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    102
    44
    37
    18
See reviews for
65
153
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (312)
  • Mar-May only
    (46)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are extremely happy with this holiday venue. Location is superb. Staff are more than welcoming. Food is good. Wine prices are up there though. Would definitely return when I have saved up again to pay bar prices.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Great Holiday, Thank you for your review and your positive comments about our resort and our staff, we think both are very special. We very much like the 2 photos which you have posted, the morning sunrises can be very spectacular ! We are disappointed that you found the prices in the bar high than you expected, we constantly... More 

Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent 3 nights at Castaways. This hotel is gorgeous & the location is a dream. When I opened the door to our room for the 1st time the view took my breath away. The rooms were spacious and excellent comfortable beds. A good size bathroom & balcony also. The pool area is a lovely place to relax. Just one... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Take your breath away, Thank you for your feedback we are delighted you enjoyed your experience in Mission Beach and at Castaways Resort & Spa. Warm sunny days, wind or no wind even if we has some cloud around sunscreen is a must ! We do have sunscreen available at reception, but perhaps we should include a "Slip Slop... More 

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015

I recently had a vowel renewal ceremony at Castaways and absolutely loved it. The Island Suites have the most beautiful views across the resort to Dunk Island and a massive spa bath. We simply could not get enough of it, so we stayed an extra night! The whole wedding side of our stay was faultless, thanks to Gemma and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Brilliant wedding location, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your special day, Thank you for your understanding of the IT issues we experienced but all up and running now. We are so glad you enjoyed your view of Dunk Island from your suite and that you guest also enjoyed our absolute beach front location.... More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015 via mobile

What a location right on the beach. Our room overlooked the beac and swimming pool. We were here for 2 nights but we wished it was more. There was not much outside the hotel but, you could get all you need in the hotel. The food in the restaurant was excellent the continental breakfast is adequate. The room was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Wonderful Location, Thank you for your review and comments about Castaways Resort & Spa, we are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us. The weather during your stay was very good and i am bit disappointed that you felt other activity were limited. Mission Beach has many options and activities to explore and enjoy. We may need to... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Our accommodation had a queen bed in the main room with a desk and kitchen area along with a bedroom and bathroom. Our ground floor room had table and chairs on the patio and views of the ocean. The pool was nice and it was very relaxing sitting on the sun lounger looking at the beautiful Mission Beach right in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Lovely accommodation right on the beach Thank you for your feedback, Sitting by the pool overlooking Mission Beach and the Coral Sea, is we believe one of life’s great pleasures, we are delighted that you enjoyed that too. I will review potion size in our restaurant with Chef based on your comments. Thank you More 

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I took advantage of the Luxury Escape special for 3 nights. Being a Townsville local and having my aged parents visit I decided to purchase 2 vouchers as they were coming for a 2 weeks stay in early November 2014. When I contacted the resort to book I was informed that the rooms were not available for the dates we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Few days break with southern visitors Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the Luxury escape package, we are a provider to the Luxury Escape company and as such are bound by the terms and condition with they operate under. We are heavily booking with Luxury... More 

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Great Service Great Food Great LocationI will be back :-) We only stayed one day but would have stayed for two to enjoy the activities more. Walked along the beach at sunset was lovely. Went to day spa and had full body massage it was very professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pretty Good, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again. We will pass your comments on to our drift spa team. Thank you More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This place looks like the perfect destination, and the stuff you see on postcards with the coconut palms and beautiful beach. But when you get there and look beyond the beauty we witnessed multiple things that made us want to leave this post. Firstly the staff were at times very unhappy or unsure of what they were doing. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Great location - horrible service Thank you for your feedback, you comments are all noted, feedback and customer service level are important to us and the point raised in your feedback will be discussed and reviewed. While not offering a excuse, the resort was extremely busy over the Christmas New Year period with all staff working long periods each... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful location with clever indoor-outdoor rooms overlooking the beach, but the absence of hand-rails made some stairs and the swimming pool difficult for the less mobile to access. The service was unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful. However, the hotel restaurant was a big disappointment, despite a varied and interesting sounding menu. But you can't offer Tempura Prawns on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Great location and service, let down by poor restaurant” Thank you for your feedback, We are delighted that you enjoyed Mission Beach, In regards to your restaurant comments, copy has been forward to our Chef for review. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We were not staying..just 5 diners for boxing day lunch. It was unquestionably the worst service i have ever experienced and while there were too many wrong things to mention here are a few standouts..like ordering two cocktails then waiting 45 minutes for one of them to arrive (which i might mention was so poorly executed we had to send... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Restaurant nightmare, We are naturally disappointed to have read your review, and a copy of this feedback is being reviewed by our restaurant manager. while not offering a excuse you will recall that boxing day was very very busy and quite hot at the resort. Our staff have always tired their very best to provide quality experience for all... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

173 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (129)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question