We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
South East England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Contrary to previous reviews we could not fault helpful and friendly staff, the service or the accommodation and facilities. The restaurant was kept open to cater for our late arrival. It's true to say that Mission Beach is very quiet which suited us but may not suit all.

Helpful?
Thank Janet T
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When we arrived in the main reception it was very pleasant and clean, we were told we had been upgraded which was a surprise. The surprise was if we had been upgraded what from as when we found our room in the Rainforest Resort Rooms, as we opened the door the smell of dampness was quite powerful and the place... More 

Helpful?
Thank stephensteve D
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Looks good, location best point as had room with walk out to pool & lawn then beach. Room comfy but tired-for money paid would expect decor to be better. Shampoo, conditioner, body lotion provided & soap but no shower gel-most important in 30 degrees plus. Minimal staff it seems-served lunch by pool but had to take tray back as got... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Medicsec
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Medicsec, Thank you for your feedback and review. I am sorry that the pool service was slow and i will be following up on this with our team, thank you for your constructive feedback on this matter. The Chicken and Crocodile pie was a special on Australia Day ( sometime reviews are slow in coming through) which will prevent... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a couple of nights in November 2015 and had a pleasant stay. We were sure to make sure we booked the main building on the beach front due to poor reviews of the rainforest rooms and we were very glad we did. The rooms were clean and modern but quite small. The restaurant was beautiful and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kate W
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kate, Thank you for your review and feedback we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Mission Beach. I very sorry that you were disappointed with the pool access from your room. You booked a hotel room,all the other rooms on the ground floor are resort rooms or family rooms all of which have balconies or direct access... More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a family in a 2 bedroom spa apartment. Unfortunately over the restaurant. We booked in for 2 nights but ended up leaving after one. The view was ok. Being above the restaurant the sails blocked our view a bit. The noise we could tolerate but with a baby and toddler, it wasn't an ideal room to... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Freqflyers31
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Freqflyers, Thank you for your review and feedback, I am sorry that you encountered the items mentioned in your review and your comments directed at me are noted. My apology if you felt i was uncaring, i can assure you this is not the case and we take constructive feedback very seriously and i will follow this up with... More 

Innisfail, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A large group of locals and interstate friends recently booked a 3 day stay at Castaways in Mission Beach. The debacle that Charlie C describes in a previous review is absolutely correct - we were also in that group! The attitude of a couple of bar / waitress staff left a lot to be desired - considering this is touted... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy L
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Mandy, Thank you for your feedback and review, i am unable at this time to make comment on your review, More 

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lets start with a positive. Room and bed was clean and comfy. Magnificent views and location, but unfortunately that is where it stopped. Recently spent a weekend at Castaways and had a number of issues mainly with the complete lack of service at the Hotel Restaurant. The night we ate their we were booked to sit down at 7.30 but... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie C
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Charlie, I am sorry but your review has been reported to trip advisor, something we have never done before. This review it is false, inaccurate and misleading. Our staff have issued formal complaints in relation to your groups behaviour during your stay. You are aware of why this is the case. I am sorry but on this occasion will... More 

South Mission Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I knew the rainforest rooms were in the old Mackay motel so is a separate property about 50-100m form Castaways main location but is only a minutes walk. I assumed they would have brought these rooms up to a reasonable standard. Sadly not, the bathrooms are old, there is a basin but no vanity, a small mirror less than 30cmx30cm... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sonia, Thank you for your feedback and review, Castaways Rainforest is our economy brand the room fit out does reflect this, however i do take on board your comments and i will be reviewing your comments in our forward planing meetings. Thank you. More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stunning location Get an ocean view room on the 2nd level. Good size clean room and bathrooms. Good Pool (I burn easy, and the pool is in the shade from 1pm onwards- so it was beautiful for a swim in the afternoon) The place is nice, quiet and relaxing. The customers service is not at luxury level- so don't go... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tash D
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tash, Thank your for your feedback and review, We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us in Mission Beach, Yes you do need to watch the sun, even on a day where we have cloud it is possible to get sun burnt. Please enjoy the rest of your travels Regards More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful views, friendly staff, great restaurant; our 1-night stay here would have been perfect if not for the air-conditioner, which we really had to have on (especially at this time of year) as there was no other way of cooling the room, i.e., no fan and no screens on the sliding doors. No problem, except - starting at around 10pm... More 

Helpful?
Thank GeoffSmith1
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Geoff, Firstly please accept my apology for your distributed nights sleep, secondly, thank you for bring this to my attention and thirdly thank you for your review and feedback. I am just looking back through our guest history to determine which room you were staying in, so i could follow on why i was not informed and to check... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

295 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (270)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
View from room (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (25)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
5.3 mi away
Taihoa Holiday Units
Taihoa Holiday Units
#1 of 3 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#8 of 9 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 3 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mission Reef Resort
Mission Reef Resort
#3 of 3 in Wongaling Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#4 of 25 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay