We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

4.0 of 5 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Hotel website
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    102
    44
    37
    18
See reviews for
65
151
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (44)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently had a vowel renewal ceremony at Castaways and absolutely loved it. The Island Suites have the most beautiful views across the resort to Dunk Island and a massive spa bath. We simply could not get enough of it, so we stayed an extra night! The whole wedding side of our stay was faultless, thanks to Gemma and her... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Brilliant wedding location, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your special day, Thank you for your understanding of the IT issues we experienced but all up and running now. We are so glad you enjoyed your view of Dunk Island from your suite and that you guest also enjoyed our absolute beach front location.... More 

Wickford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a location right on the beach. Our room overlooked the beac and swimming pool. We were here for 2 nights but we wished it was more. There was not much outside the hotel but, you could get all you need in the hotel. The food in the restaurant was excellent the continental breakfast is adequate. The room was really... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Wonderful Location, Thank you for your review and comments about Castaways Resort & Spa, we are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us. The weather during your stay was very good and i am bit disappointed that you felt other activity were limited. Mission Beach has many options and activities to explore and enjoy. We may need to... More 

Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Our accommodation had a queen bed in the main room with a desk and kitchen area along with a bedroom and bathroom. Our ground floor room had table and chairs on the patio and views of the ocean. The pool was nice and it was very relaxing sitting on the sun lounger looking at the beautiful Mission Beach right in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Lovely accommodation right on the beach Thank you for your feedback, Sitting by the pool overlooking Mission Beach and the Coral Sea, is we believe one of life’s great pleasures, we are delighted that you enjoyed that too. I will review potion size in our restaurant with Chef based on your comments. Thank you More 

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I took advantage of the Luxury Escape special for 3 nights. Being a Townsville local and having my aged parents visit I decided to purchase 2 vouchers as they were coming for a 2 weeks stay in early November 2014. When I contacted the resort to book I was informed that the rooms were not available for the dates we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Few days break with southern visitors Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to the Luxury escape package, we are a provider to the Luxury Escape company and as such are bound by the terms and condition with they operate under. We are heavily booking with Luxury... More 

Townsville, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Great Service Great Food Great LocationI will be back :-) We only stayed one day but would have stayed for two to enjoy the activities more. Walked along the beach at sunset was lovely. Went to day spa and had full body massage it was very professional.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Pretty Good, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again. We will pass your comments on to our drift spa team. Thank you More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

This place looks like the perfect destination, and the stuff you see on postcards with the coconut palms and beautiful beach. But when you get there and look beyond the beauty we witnessed multiple things that made us want to leave this post. Firstly the staff were at times very unhappy or unsure of what they were doing. We also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Great location - horrible service Thank you for your feedback, you comments are all noted, feedback and customer service level are important to us and the point raised in your feedback will be discussed and reviewed. While not offering a excuse, the resort was extremely busy over the Christmas New Year period with all staff working long periods each... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful location with clever indoor-outdoor rooms overlooking the beach, but the absence of hand-rails made some stairs and the swimming pool difficult for the less mobile to access. The service was unfailingly cheerful, friendly and helpful. However, the hotel restaurant was a big disappointment, despite a varied and interesting sounding menu. But you can't offer Tempura Prawns on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Great location and service, let down by poor restaurant” Thank you for your feedback, We are delighted that you enjoyed Mission Beach, In regards to your restaurant comments, copy has been forward to our Chef for review. More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2014

We were not staying..just 5 diners for boxing day lunch. It was unquestionably the worst service i have ever experienced and while there were too many wrong things to mention here are a few standouts..like ordering two cocktails then waiting 45 minutes for one of them to arrive (which i might mention was so poorly executed we had to send... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Restaurant nightmare, We are naturally disappointed to have read your review, and a copy of this feedback is being reviewed by our restaurant manager. while not offering a excuse you will recall that boxing day was very very busy and quite hot at the resort. Our staff have always tired their very best to provide quality experience for all... More 

Tea Gardens, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

We had a room on the top level no. 310, opposite a lift. The room was large, soundproof, and it had a good silent airconditioner with a great view overlooking a large red fraginpani tree, palm trees and islands in the Coral Sea. Check time of year for best weather as there is a wet season. Soft gentle sea breezes,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear "Read some bad reviews, but I could not fault it" Thank you so much for your positive comments which are always greatly appreciated, over 90% of our in house guest comment cards and over 70% of our TripAdvisor comments state that our guest have all enjoyed visiting Castaways and Mission Beach. We are continuing to do our very best... More 

Mareeba, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We stopped in here on a long road trip looking for a quiet night with some reasonable food. We got that and more. Our two bedroom unit opened out onto a long lap pool with coconut palms on a lawn between us and the most magnificent beach. The room has been freshly decorated and is pleasing to the eye with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Quintessential tropical beach front accommodation, Thank you for your feedback and comments, we are delighted that you called in on your road trip for a break, I trust the remainder of your trip was safe. Please come and visit us again Cheers More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Address: 2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Mission Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaways Resort And Spa Mission Beach
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach Hotel Mission Beach
Castaways Hotel On Mission Beach
Castaways Resort On Mission Beach

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (128)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay