We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach

Hotel website
2 Pacific Parade, Mission Beach, Queensland 4852, Australia
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach
Add Photo Write a Review

352 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    124
    115
    53
    38
    22
See reviews for
76
176
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (352)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (104)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (79)
All months
Forrest Beach, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were excited and looking forward to having a girls time away, very disappointed with our pokey outdated room, the pool was full of leaves and the gardens unkept, our room was quite a walk from the restaurant where we dined, it took around 1hr from ordering to receiving our meal, the eye fillet steak was lovely but not a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
712 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Castaways is probably as good as it gets in Mission Beach. it has a great location with a view to Dunk Island and a good garden area on the beach. The rooms are fairly standard and do not have heating in a cold period. The breakfast was just OK. The internet which is free is not very reliable and needs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Jack, Thank you for your review and your feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Mission Beach, We are currently working with our internet provider to establish a better facility for all, however we are finding this a challenge in Mission Beach. More 

Aucka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

don't ' believe all the negative reviews - specially those about the breakfast and rooms close to the restaurant. The breakfasts were really nice - all you could want for continental with pastries, Bircher muesli, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meats etc as well as cereal and toast. We were directly above the seating area of the restaurant and we not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you so much for your positive review and comments we are delighted you found the resort “Fantastic location, great beach, friendly staff” and in particular your comments about breakfast, we have done some work and added a few extra items to the inclusive light continental breakfast and we were very happy to see your comments. Please enjoy... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at Castaways resort just for a night as part of our trip in northern Queensland. When we arrived we were given a free upgrade. The staff was very friendly both at the reception desk and the restaurant. The hotel is located on a very beautiful beach facing the ocean. The beach was one of best we've ever seen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Zdravko Thank yo for your review and positive feedback we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Mission Beach, I will pass on your comments to our staff. Cheers More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived before check-in time and were welcomed with a friendly manner. Offered to sit down and have a drink and relax whilst we waited for the room to be ready. Perfect setting, restaurant overlooked beach and ocean - nice food, good service. Rooms a little tired from the outside. Inside clean and tidy- small; 1 TV, Bathrooms appeared to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Veronica, Thank you for your feed back and your comments we are delighted that you found the resort to be “Perfect position, nice restaurant, friendly service” I will pass this feedback on to our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castaways and Mission Beach Cheers More 

Townsville, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was great, however was not impressed about being quoted one price per nite and then being billed another price. The receptionist told me it was my mistake and because I had already paid nothing could be done??? Be sure on check in that the price you expect to pay is what you are quoted. I confirmed on the phone... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kel, Thank you for your feed back we are delighted that you found “The resort was great , everything was great.” we are however concerned about your comment regarding the quoted price and the price paid. I would like to follow this up with you in order to understand what has occurred on this occasion. I am unable to... More 

Aartselaar, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel itself is a more trendy place. Not exactly what I was looking for in Australia, but it turned out to be a nice moment of relaxing. we saw the most beautiful sunset ever. When you stay there, it's an absolute must to visit Dunk Island. Of our 21 day stay in Australia, Dunk really stood out. the resort... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Kevin Thank for your review of Castaways Resort & Spa, we are so glad you enjoyed the Sunset over Dunk Island and your visit to the Island. Thank you for the comments about our staff which i will pass on. We look forward to welcoming you to Mission Beach again one day soon. More 

Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We experienced a wonderful couple of days at Castaways. Our room was excellent and the view superb. Even though it was raining, we were provided with a list of activities that were appropriate for the weather and suggested places to visit. The food was so good we sidetracked on our return trip from Atherton, just to pop in and have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Ann W, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Mission Beach and at Castaways resort & Spa, There are many activities available in Mission Beach and the surround areas and we are delighted that the list of activities was of assistance to you. I trust you will visit us again... More 

Mt Tamborine, Queensland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had wanted to stay at Castaways long before cyclone Yasi wiped out so much of the coastline and damaged this property so that it had to be closed. With it open again and an opportunity to stay for a reduced rate courtesy of Luxury Escapes, I booked for a few days before and after my birthday. Our room looked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Delle_11, Thank you for your feedback and observations. We are delighted that you found your room overlooking coconut palms and the ocean - idyllic. Yasi did have a considerable effect of our region, Mission Beach and our property, but we in fact did not close down after the cyclone, we were open and providing services to the community and... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked into Mackays Motel which had great reviews and free wifi which was essential for my husbands work and sons research assignment on some days of our holiday. We arrived to find a note at reception that the motel was closed and now managed by Castaways which was down the road. We had to go over there to checkin.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, General Manager at Castaways Resort & Spa Mission Beach, responded to this review

Dear Tracey, Thank you for your feedback, i am sorry we were unable to meet your expectations on this occasion. We do accept that you were inconvenienced; however, i would like to correct a few points. 1. The Restaurant and Bar was closed down by the previous owners some 4 months ago and i believe their responsibility to have informed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (149)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (24)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (30)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
View from room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (35)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mission Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sanctuary Retreat
Sanctuary Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bingil Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
5.4 mi away
Taihoa Holiday Units
Taihoa Holiday Units
#1 of 4 in Mission Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mackays Mission Beach
Mackays Mission Beach
#3 of 4 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mission Beach Resort
Mission Beach Resort
#8 of 8 in Mission Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boutique Bungalows
Boutique Bungalows
#1 of 3 in Wongaling Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
Eco Village Resort Mission Beach
#4 of 26 in Mission Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay