We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Laurels

953 Maleny-Montville Road, Maleny, Queensland 4552, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Laurels
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

34 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2015

We stayed 4 enjoyable and memorable nights in 'Possums Tail', which was situated in a beautiful, peaceful location. The accommodation was pleasant, kitchen facilities modern and clean, bathroom has been renovated and clean and linen excellent quality. We stayed using 2 Cudo vouchers which was very good value. As we had 2 vouchers, we received 2 very generous and enjoyable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Janice J
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2015

we have just stayed for one week in one of their cottages & rate it excellent. After many years of travel both here & overseas we now prefer self contained units & consider it one of the best! our cottage was open plan good furniture & fittings with an outside area that overlooks lush acres & is entirely separated from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry T
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

We recently visited Maleny to attend a wedding with a group of friends, With most venues booked out months in advance, we opted to stay at Peacock Meadows at the House of Laurels, which was still available. It was definitely not a modern venue. There was no insulation (upstairs was very hot) and you could hear everything that was going... More 

Helpful?
Thank R13117
ipsofacto75, Manager at The Laurels, responded to this review

In response to your stay in Peacock Meadows, our country cottage can be viewed on line and photo’s clearly shows a more country ambience as appose to modern, which we imagine booking guests view prior and have had great reviews towards the cottage. Being a A frame cottage, insulation is not possible, but it has air-conditioning/reverse cycle to control temperature... More 

Travelers are raving about these Maleny hotels

Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2015

Had our wedding at house of laurels in July'15 and had multiple guests stay in the accommodation possums tail/ badgers wood and the main house. The venue was great, people were telling us it was the best food they've ever had at a wedding. The accommodation was clean, tidy and very comfortable. Defiantly opt for the breakfast the next day!... More 

Helpful?
Thank voodoomagic1
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

Have just returned from a two night stay at Possums Nest with friends. We could not have asked for more. The house is very roomy with two double bedrooms and the availability of two more double beds made up from couches. A nice verandah area with a BBQ. A fireplace that we just loved even though the evenings weren't terribly... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank quitosmum
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

We just had a two-night stay in Badger's Wood cottage and it was lovely! It was simple to book and travel to from Brisbane. Our cottage was romantic, cosy, and warm. The fireplace and spa were definite highlights! The location is gorgeous - very quiet, private, and comfortable. Close to both Maleny and Montville. We enjoyed every part of our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank a_green94
Richmond, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015 via mobile

House of Laurels has a nice venue. Unfortunately, as attested to by other reviews, the customer service leaves a lot to be desired. From failing to be available when arranged and only attending to other prospective clients on the day of the wedding, to failing to respond to immediate and multiple attempts to notify of guests' illness and then being... More 

Helpful?
7 Thank Ryan F
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2015

My wife and I attended a wedding at House of Laurels. The wedding was very nice and the area is great. Unfortunately, half of the guests got food poisoning or something similar at breakfast the next day.

Helpful?
3 Thank Lucky_Hawley
ipsofacto75, General Manager at The Laurels, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. As with the other review that was posted a week ago regarding the same function please see below the same response. It's a good idea before you write a review you should always make sure you have your facts straight as for everyone getting ill you will read that it was proven not to be... More 

Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

My wife and I went to a good friend's wedding at the House of Laurels. The food at the dinner was very ordinary - a main course of tough roast beef. My wife also attended a breakfast there the following morning and she (along with many others) suffered a case of food poisioning. Rather than addressing this issue House of... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank BeerMan2013
ipsofacto75, General Manager at The Laurels, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We can appreciate it is important to you to lodge your dishearten complaint 8 and a half months later and would like to address your concerns. We don’t like unhappy customers and we aid to please. We received a original complaint from the lovely couple only after 3 and a half weeks after their function... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2015 via mobile

House of Laurels hosted my 30th birthday and I could not have been happier with the whole weekend! Amanda and Chris were amazing hosts that went above and beyond! Amanda's flare at decorating the venue and ensuring everything was ready to go was outstanding and Chris' ability to keep the party going (he even helped as DJ for a while!)... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracy R
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleny
4.0 mi away
Clouds of Montville
Clouds of Montville
#1 of 2 in Montville
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
6.5 mi away
Kondalilla Eco Resort
Kondalilla Eco Resort
#2 of 2 in Montville
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maleny Lodge
Maleny Lodge
#1 of 6 in Maleny
4.5 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Maleny Tropical Retreat
2.4 mi away
Egyptian Dream Retreat
7.9 mi away
Maleny Luxury Cottages
Maleny Luxury Cottages
#6 of 15 in Maleny
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay