We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malanda Lodge Motel

Cnr Merragallan & Millaa Millaa Roads, Malanda, Queensland 4885, Australia
Hotel amenities
Malanda Lodge Motel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malanda
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Elly R Cairns, Australia
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    4
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
11
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (31)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (9)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We receltly spent the night at Malanda Lodge Motel. The lady at the check in seemed very rude. No information was given to us about the complex. When in our room we looked through information booklet that was provided in the room and found out they had a pool and a creek nearby with a platypus viewing platform. it would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

We stopped there to ask about having dinner at their restaurant and the owner practically threw the menu at me and said two words its al a carte, she was so unfriendly and rude we ended up leaving and not staying for dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Malanda hotels

Lowood, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

On arrival we where greated and treated by the lovely lady owner who could not have been more accommodating. The room and beds where not so good, the beds need replacing as they sunk in the middle and it was hard to get on and off, room need to have ceiling fans as well as air-conditioning that worked better and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I’ve stayed here on a number of occasions now and have always enjoyed my it. The rooms are nice a quiet, clean and comfortable. Restaurant and the service are great and I enjoy going to dinner when I’m here. I would recommend this place to anyone that wanted a nice place to sleep and a good meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

There is a lot to be said about customer service and the impact it can have on a business ??? My husband and I recently stayed at Malanda Lodge with friends on 20/5/14 at first I thought this is a nice place, 'Wrong', checked in by a very rude and arrogant man who made us feel like we were a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently stayed at the Malanda Lodge Motel, and although I was reluctant to stay we chose the Lodge as it was the closest accommodation to the venue our seminar was to be held and it was reasonably priced. I had stayed there once before in 2007 and at the time the decor appeared to be tired and very much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Peter and Robyn J, Front Office Manager at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this review

I'm a little surprised at the comments you have made about our motel. If everything you have mentioned was important enough for you to put on TripAdvisor, why didn't you mention it to management when you first arrived, so that we could actually see the "poor state" you claim our units are in? As we have only recently taken over... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This was a stop for just one night on our North Queensland trip, so I was just expecting a motel experience. We were pleasantly surprised: an edge of town location with lovely gardens and rural outlook, a comfortable, quiet room with good facilities and very friendly hosts. We walked into town and found it a bit quiet so we decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Peter and Robyn J, Manager at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit. Cheers Peter and Robyn :-) More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good place to stay. Facilities e .g. Spa looked good but we didn't use them. Owner very welcoming. 1.5k walk to town was a nice stroll. Would go again. Plenty of stuff provided in bathroom and clean towels. If you want to feel welcome give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Townsville, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

First time I have stayed here and I was pleasantly supprised. Robyn And Peter do a fantastic job. (Food was sensational) Pete is great in and out of the Kitchen. I really enjoyed my stay and its a great place to entertain customers, In which they said they would come back more often as well. I look forward to my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peter and Robyn J, Manager at Malanda Lodge Motel, responded to this review

Hi Zane, Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to your next visit and we'll attempt to make sure you get to see those platypus. More 

Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I continue to be amazed by people who complain about this motel. My wife & I have been regular patrons of this premise for several years with both past owners and the present owners. if great food & accommodation are what you are looking for with happy, smiling and very friendly customers service make a booking with these lovely people.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay