We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 4 Cooktown hotels

Seaview Motel

178 Charlotte Street, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia
Hotel amenities
  • Reviews (71)
  • Photos (37)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
Seaview Motel
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Cooktown
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooktown
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
33
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great spot to watch all the boats coming and going, view is magnificent. Fish and chips down the road is also awesome. Take back to your room and enjoy on your private balcony with a glass of wine. We stayed in the deluxe room and it is very roomy, even the bathroom. Noise is not an issue as you cant... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The views are amazing! We stayed in a standard room, which I gather are the older rooms. Our room had a spectacular view of the inlet, as do all the rooms. The room itself was basic, but a typical 3 star. Clean and practical with an ok bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review. Glad you enjoyed the spectacular views from the Seaview Motel. and your stay with us. More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a Standard room on the ground floor. The view of the Endeavour River was great, but the room was quite basic although reasonably priced and clean. We found the bed hard and nowhere comfortable to sit in the evening. The Basic rooms are cheaper and smaller, but have a sink and microwave and arguably a better view from... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Glad that you enjoyed the lovely view, and your stay in Cooktown. More

Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

All I ever want out of a motel is that it is spotlessly clean, well maintained, well located and offers value for money. This motel comes up trumps. The room is basic but a reasonable size and everything works But its location is what makes this place unique. We sat on the well manicured lawns outside our room and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We glad you enjoyed your stay at the Seaview Motel, and hope to see you again. More

Cooktown, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Old motel in need of renovation. Standard room is very basic, for $. only jug & toaster supplied. Lots of small ants swarming the room. Was hot & stuffy. Suites backpacker type. Smoke detector went off when having a shower & other guest could hang out side of room smoking etc. This was very annoying. When brought to the attention... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

After reading your review, we apologise that our Motel did not meet your expectations. However, we did our best to attend to the complaint that was brought to our attention, and it would have been appreciated if reception had been made aware of other issues before your premature departure, so that the problems could have been resolved. The Motel prides... More

Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We love staying here when we come to Cooktown as it has the best views in town, rooms are comfortable and the lovcation is very central! Staff are always very helpful and were more than happy to accommodate our needs and even gave me some dish washing liquid! Home away from home :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. And glad that you once again enjoyed your stay at the Seaview motel, and look forward to your next visit. More

Sydney
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for the first time and will definitely come back. Our receptionist was very friendly and we were able to check in at 10am, giving us extra time to swim, enjoy the lovely gardens and the great view of the Endeavour River. Both children continued to comment on the view at all hours of the day...to me that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very kind words. Glad we made you and your family's stay enjoyable. It is always nice to get good feedback. Thank you once again. More

Southport.Lancashire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Very good motel with a super view over the river. Comfortable bed, serviced daily. Tea and coffee supplies topped up daily Clean and comfortable. Lovely pool and gardens Would definitely return and do recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We are from NZ and have stayed at this motel on three previous occasions in the past ten years, The views from the upstairs deluxe room that we pre booked are still as spectacular as we remembered with views over the Endeavour river (not the sea as the title of the property would indicate) and the room with its en... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
CooktownSeaviewMotel, Manager at Seaview Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review feedback. We do hope our guests feel welcome on arrival. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with your check-in time experience on this visit. In the busier season, though, a check-in of 2pm is standard, with more flexibility possible in quieter times. In reference to inactivity around wings/rooms, it should be mentioned that... More

Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This motel was recommended to us so we were looking forward to our stay there; unfortunately the gentleman at reception was not friendly or professional at all. We took a partially self contained unit at the top of the steep entrance - the linen looked as though it had not been changed as we found lipstick on one of the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Seaview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Seaview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Motel

Address: 178 Charlotte Street, Cooktown, Queensland 4895, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cooktown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Cooktown
Seaview Motel Cooktown, Queensland

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Free Parking Swimming Pool
Number of rooms
43

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Seaview Motel to your Saves list