We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bush Bunks

2.5 of 5 The BogieRiver Bush House | 284 Normanby Road, Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bush Bunks
Management photos View all
Bush Bunks
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    5
    0
    1
    9
See reviews for
2
6
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (32)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (4)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (8)
All months
Bowen, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My work colleagues and I have just had our Christmas Party at the Bush House and it was agreed by all that it was fabulous. From the moment we arrived our hosts Terry, John and Adrian and also the lovely Sarah couldn't have done more to make our visit memorable. There were 10 of us for an overnight stay, which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

So this review may be a little out of date: we stayed with Ernie and Glenda for two of the 12 months we spent in Australia in 2002/2003 and are really pleased to hear that their business is still thriving. My, now husband and I travelled around the whole of Australia during our gap year and these two month are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gladstone, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here on my way home from Cairns to Gladstone and will now make this my halfway stop every time I do the drive between Gladstone and Cairns. I was running late so they thoughfully tried to call me to see if I was ok. I tell you what, it was a welcome sight to pull up to this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

So good to have people that drop in on a referral and great when you enjoy your stay with us,it was a pleasure to meet you, thanks for the encouragement,hope to see you again one day when your travel passes this way More 

Bowen, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

what a great place food was fantastic service was friendly staff very helpful kangaroos friendly good selection of beer and spirits very neat clean and tidy all in all a very pleasant experience was enjoyed by us all thank you very much

Was this review helpful? Yes
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your lunch time experience with us, we are glad that you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again one day More 

Liege Province, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

I was in the Bogie River for farm work for a few weeks which felt like a lifetime! Alot of backpackers staying there call it the bogie prison and to be fair they are not far off! First off the accommodation is awful! 20 people 1 shower, 1 toilet, 2 gas rings, no tv, Internet that never works and is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, sadly it would have been more constructive to air your views whilst here working and using the facilities which are not charged for to assit travellers to save as much as possible. After a few short weeks our internet has been upgraded, we are busy getting ready for the next season, building something up takes... More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Was here on my travels, mainly due to work. accomodation is below average and poorly maintained, owners attitude sucks. You never know what mood she'll be in. Very remote, wifi is tempermental along with the owner. Since leaving and having spoken to other travellers and hostel staff this place is very well known for mistreating its guests. Animal sanctuary is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, constructive criticism is always looked at but better said at the time and not found out later with embellishments. After a few short weeks we are working to address any issues. More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

we went to bogie river house and it is a fantastic place, beautiful tidy accomodation, gorgeous grounds, very australian experience...loved it...fabulous hosts, Terry & John. they are very proud of the hard work they put into the property and are obviously endeavouring to raise standards beyond backpackers who don't abide by australian customs and rules....well done to bogie river staff....we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Thankyou for staying with us in our ealry stages, it was wonderful to meet new people and share expereinces and ideas. we hope to see you again one day More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights, at first the owner Terri was nothing short of helpful. That soon changed once we were in the door and she had our passports as a "security deposit". I worked on a nearby farm and my travel partner worked in the Bogie River Bush Bunks to cover both our accommodation costs. Slowly Terri's attitude... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
glendascharli, Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

We have many backpackers who work from here and save their money for their travels and this years have been great BUT there are a small minority that don't come on the same agenda. Kevin C obtained work within one day but was sacked by his employer after one week, he left owing a fellow backpacker money, he signed an... More 

cannonvale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from an unusual experience - the Bogie River Bush House. It is a 'b 'n' b' full of character run by delightfully hospitable Glenda and Erni plus an equally delightful Terri who is taking over the reins shortly. Pretty rooms, comfy beds, immaculate shared bathroom in such interesting surroundings. The 'wild but tame' kangaroos and wallabies... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
John V, Guest Relations Manager at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Having guests that are looking for something just a little different and in turn take the time to share their travels and experiences is what a break away is all about, its always a pleasure to look after like minded people. More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this place in June 2013 and were very disappointed with the standard of accommodation, the lack of amenities and the very unfriendly attitude of Glenda, the host. The room was the smallest I had ever stayed in, it was only possible to have one person moving around the room at a time and was expensive. Glenda was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
glendascharli, Owner at Bush Bunks, responded to this review

Sadly one can only try to be accommodating and advise people before they stay, this guest was advised of room size, cost and that we were booked out for the weekend, On offering breakfast or evening meal which I do for all my guests because of the location I was rebuffed...... I couldn't do any more More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bush Bunks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bush Bunks

Address: The BogieRiver Bush House | 284 Normanby Road, Bowen, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Bowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bush Bunks 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bush Bunks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bogie River Bush House Hotel Bowen

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Near Bush Bunks

Top-rated Attractions Nearby
Top-rated Restaurants Nearby