We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Atherton B&Bs / inns

Atherton Blue Gum B & B

4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   36 Twelfth Avenue, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Atherton Blue Gum B & B to your Saves list
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
68%
Ranked #4 of 5 Atherton B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012
Jan H Bourne End, United Kingdom
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ADELAIDE
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nothing about this B & B matched the description on the booking website, from the photos to the description. Perhaps if you were lucky enough to stay at the Summit it would be a different story as the photo's shown and description provided were obviously of that premises and not the little spare room situated under the family's main house... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Atherton Blue Gum B & B, it is a traditional bed and breakfast, purpose built and not a spare room in the house as you stated, but 3 private rooms with private entrances on their own level. The Summit is non-hosted and self contained so offers something completely different. We... More

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have just spent two nights here. The room was simple but comfortable, everything clean. The breakfasts were fine. The thing that made it so special for us were Helen and John. They were so welcoming, and all the information that they gave us, especially John, was invaluable. We got much more out of our stay, and subsequent journey to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Helen, the owner of BlueGums, upgraded us to this amazing building. It comprises 3 bedrooms, 2 of them with a common bathroom, the other with an en-suite. Also a common cooking/dining area, laundry and attached common lounge area, and parking for 3 cars below. Access to accommodation is by steps. It had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean, airy and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

My husband and I decided 2 weeks before Easter that we wanted to get away and visit the Tablelands and because it was last minute, we thought we wouldn't have many accommodation options to choose from. Another B&B passed my details onto Atherton B&B and Helen was very prompt in her reply to me and then also kept up the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The room was quite small and the TV miniscule. It was quiet enough and a little out of the way which some may prefer. Everything was clean and tidy. The access to the accomodation is not suitable for people with disabilities. Would have had a good view but the smoke haze killed that, but I'm sure it would normally have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

We can understand your frustration/annoyance when you hit that large rock in our garden with your hire car, you were obviously upset. We hope you were able to come to some sort of agreeance with the hire company. We felt that we supplied more than what you paid for with the upgrade, we suppose that it just shows us that... More

Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I booked a room at their seperate unit (The Summit) when we arrived we were told that they had let it out to The Lions club , (who had a convention on) and they put us in a small room in the main house. Well this room came equiped with a 12" TV, a kettle, fridge, bed and not much... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

We understand your disappointment, especially being Welsh and arriving on the same day that Wales was playing in the Semi of the World Cup in NZ that you had just attended in NZ. You were so excited. To see them lose in that way and losing their magnificent Captain - SW. You were getting ready to return to NZ to... More

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

During our trip around Cairns and region for 2 weeks in July, we stayed at Blue Gum from 8-10 July. We really liked the new house that the hosts provided us. We were told that we received an upgrade, but in comparison to our previous stay at Cape Trib Farmstay and Holiday Inn Cairns, per night, this was the most... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Our family of three quite enjoyed our stay at the Blue Gum. It is located on the first floor of a building in a residential neighborhood on a hillside about the town center, with the second floor serving as the home of the hosts John and Helen, who have a large Australian (Irish descent) Catholic family with lots of kids.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hannover, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2008

Reading all the previous rewies we were amazed by the negative ones. Converning that we would like subscribe to the review of JMacChicago Chicago, Illinois "...I have to say that I am questioning whether the authors of any negative reviews stayed at the same place we did...." But see what we wrote John & Helen after being back in Germany:... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

I have to say that I am questioning whether the authors of any negative reviews stayed at the same place we did. Our time at the Blue Gum B & B was a fantastic highlight during our family's trip to Australia. The rooms were clean, spacious and inviting and perfect for the seven of us (my husband and myself, my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Atherton Blue Gum B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Atherton Blue Gum B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Blue Gum B & B

Address: 36 Twelfth Avenue, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Atherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atherton Blue Gum B & B 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, T4B, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Atherton Blue Gum B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

10 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Atherton with
any amenities