We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atherton Blue Gum B & B

36 Twelfth Avenue, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Atherton Blue Gum B & B
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

20 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Breakfast is bread left night before for toast, dry cereal, milk, butter and jam. Bath towels were paper thin. Bed was uncomfortable. Bar-b-que was good – used it two nights. TV was small. Room was fair sized but dated furnishings. Rooms were right under owners living space but didn’t have too much noise from that. A bit disappointing…

Helpful?
Thank Albert T
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015 via mobile

Stayed for one night and enjoyed it. We got the family room, so lots of space just for the 2 of us. The fridge had bread, juce, jams and milk and also serials for breakfast. For a B&B I thought iy was very nice and recommended !

Helpful?
Thank Bndot
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Nothing about this B & B matched the description on the booking website, from the photos to the description. Perhaps if you were lucky enough to stay at the Summit it would be a different story as the photo's shown and description provided were obviously of that premises and not the little spare room situated under the family's main house... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chantil3
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review on Atherton Blue Gum B & B, it is a traditional bed and breakfast, purpose built and not a spare room in the house as you stated, but 3 private rooms with private entrances on their own level. The Summit is non-hosted and self contained so offers something completely different. We... More 

Travelers are raving about these Atherton hotels

Bourne End, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just spent two nights here. The room was simple but comfortable, everything clean. The breakfasts were fine. The thing that made it so special for us were Helen and John. They were so welcoming, and all the information that they gave us, especially John, was invaluable. We got much more out of our stay, and subsequent journey to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jan H
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Helen, the owner of BlueGums, upgraded us to this amazing building. It comprises 3 bedrooms, 2 of them with a common bathroom, the other with an en-suite. Also a common cooking/dining area, laundry and attached common lounge area, and parking for 3 cars below. Access to accommodation is by steps. It had everything we needed, was spotlessly clean, airy and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
Charters Towers, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I decided 2 weeks before Easter that we wanted to get away and visit the Tablelands and because it was last minute, we thought we wouldn't have many accommodation options to choose from. Another B&B passed my details onto Atherton B&B and Helen was very prompt in her reply to me and then also kept up the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zelia_11
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

The room was quite small and the TV miniscule. It was quiet enough and a little out of the way which some may prefer. Everything was clean and tidy. The access to the accomodation is not suitable for people with disabilities. Would have had a good view but the smoke haze killed that, but I'm sure it would normally have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Linton6460
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

We can understand your frustration/annoyance when you hit that large rock in our garden with your hire car, you were obviously upset. We hope you were able to come to some sort of agreeance with the hire company. We felt that we supplied more than what you paid for with the upgrade, we suppose that it just shows us that... More 

Level Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I booked a room at their seperate unit (The Summit) when we arrived we were told that they had let it out to The Lions club , (who had a convention on) and they put us in a small room in the main house. Well this room came equiped with a 12" TV, a kettle, fridge, bed and not much... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank headgreenkeeper
athblue, Owner at Atherton Blue Gum B & B, responded to this review

We understand your disappointment, especially being Welsh and arriving on the same day that Wales was playing in the Semi of the World Cup in NZ that you had just attended in NZ. You were so excited. To see them lose in that way and losing their magnificent Captain - SW. You were getting ready to return to NZ to... More 

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

During our trip around Cairns and region for 2 weeks in July, we stayed at Blue Gum from 8-10 July. We really liked the new house that the hosts provided us. We were told that we received an upgrade, but in comparison to our previous stay at Cape Trib Farmstay and Holiday Inn Cairns, per night, this was the most... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FJBoersma
Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Our family of three quite enjoyed our stay at the Blue Gum. It is located on the first floor of a building in a residential neighborhood on a hillside about the town center, with the second floor serving as the home of the hosts John and Helen, who have a large Australian (Irish descent) Catholic family with lots of kids.... More 

Helpful?
Thank consaac
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

11 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Atherton
2.5 mi away
Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn
0.7 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Chambers Wildlife Rainforest Lodges
1.7 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#3 of 10 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 stars 114 reviews
6.0 mi away
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
Allumbah Pocket Cottages
#1 of 4 in Yungaburra
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay