We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Atherton Travellers Lodge

37 Alice St, Atherton, Queensland 4883, Australia
Hotel amenities
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Atherton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Atherton Travellers Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

7 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    1
    0
    0
    4
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (7)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (2)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (1)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm pretty sure this is my first bad review on trip advisor. I love posting good ones but this is the first place I've felt so negatively about. Stayed here for almost 2 months . When I first got here with a friend it seemed super dodgy. When we arrived we were looked at like we had a third head,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This hostel is by FAR the worst accomodation i have ever stayed in. After 5 years of traveling the world this is the 1 place a would definitely not visit again. They are money grabbing scammers. They mislead you with false information of a job. If you are one of the lucky ones to get a terrible job, your rent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Giboo I understand you were not happy. We can not make everyone happy and you were very hard to please. We connected you with a farm job however when advised we couldnt help your girlfriend with a job when she arrived you became very unreasonable. Your attempt to take a job we secured with you resulted in your being fired.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Atherton hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My time in Atherton Travellers Lodge was by far my best time in Australia. The minute you walk in the door you are welcomed as family and once you respect everyone and your surroundings this will never change. The owner and management work so hard for everyone who comes in the door and if you're not working they're not happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Maobh you were such a star. Miss having you with us and my little girls ask often about you. We have had many people come and stay from your recommendation and appreciate it so much all you have said here makes it all worth while. Is hard to see some he horrible things people write when all we want to... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

this is a rewires that should tie a lot of negativity out of the past reviews. for starters: I have lived in the Lodge for 6 months and was having the best time of my life! As in every Hostel there we’re people from different countries. and the owner (Ruaire) and the manager (Jin) gave their best to keep it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Jan what can I say. You were and remain one the coolest dudes ever come to the lodge. Friends to all any conquer of the ladies ( settled on the best). Miss the good tunes and vibe you bought with you. Such a positive and motivated dude. Was so glad you were a part of our lodge and appreciate you... More 

Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

They claim they are a working hostel and that they will help you get a farm job. In truth they are only able to get a few backpackers jobs. I met people there who had stayed for months and worked three days! They are only after your money, and even make you pay a deposit that you wont get back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Vannes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a really great time in this place. I got a full time job straight away when I arrived there and had a really nice experience meeting up with amazing guys! I don't have anything to complain about except maybe the dishes not always done but can't blame anyone else than ourselves!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Dodgy owner, dirty place with bedbugs. Unfortunately the owners see backpackers as scum who only serve the purpose of giving them money. They advertise with 4-6 bed dorms, but when you arrive they put you in an 11 bed dorm, which becomes so smelly during the night and are very noisy because of the number of people, that it for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
Ruaire H, Manager at Atherton Travellers Lodge, responded to this review

Lydia Harrison well what a shock. You worked the whole time you were here. You stayed at the Barron Valley for starters that is not even my property or premises. The bed bugs at the barron valley is no reflection on our cleanliness at Atherton Travellers Lodge. Bed bugs are trafficed by backpackers, they are not native to Australia. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Atherton hotels
2.2 mi away
Atherton Rain Forest Motor Inn
1.0 mi away
The Atherton Motel
The Atherton Motel
#1 of 4 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Canopy Rainforest Treehouses and Wildlife Sanctuary
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
BIG4 Atherton Woodlands
#3 of 10 in Atherton
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atherton Hotel
Atherton Hotel
#4 of 6 in Atherton
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
6.4 mi away
Barking Owl Retreat
Barking Owl Retreat
#1 of 10 in Atherton
5.0 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities