We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 2 Rye hotels

BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Nelson Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
78%
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Rye
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Frank F Melbourne, Australia
  • Reviews (79)
  • Photos (30)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (13)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    34
    14
    2
    4
See reviews for
11
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night, whilst walking and exploring the Penninsula. Room was large and well appointed, bed was VERY comfortable and it was quiet and dark at night. Free wifi was non existent unfortunately, no network to be seen, apparently they'd been having trouble, but no compensation or discount, which was not good for return business. Right next to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Good morning Frank, Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments as this helps us identify areas for improvement. The Wi-Fi is a complimentary extra that we include, (was normally charged at $10 per 24hrs) but unfortunately we cannot guarantee Telstra coverage on the Mornington Peninsula, this is out of our... More

Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The motel is not only located in a central area in Rye, just across the road from the beach and also a beautiful jetty to walk out on and watch the sunset. The motel is also very modern and comfortable. We stayed in a King Suite with a spa and were very pleasantly surprised with the modern and clean layout... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Good morning Samicus, Thank you so much for the wonderful review you have posted on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all feedback as this helps us identify areas for improvement. Your glowing report has given us all a rewarding boost. Once again, many thanks. Kind regards Gail McMillan Manager Best Western One Four Nelson More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

the king suite with spa bath was excellent. The Bed was so comfortable and the room had everything we needed! I was expecting more of a hotel but this best western just had a reception office in a different building and all rooms were accessed from outside so it felt like more of an apartment room.. not that it really... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Good morning Jamie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and hope that we see you again in the very near future. Kind regards Gail McMillan Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

A great place to stay that is local to all the surrounding actractions. Pub next door offers a comprehensive menu, good food and atmosphere. Gold packages are very well organised and reasonably priced. In summer the beach is at your door step or the pool offers an escape from the crowds. Highly reccommend a stay. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback as this helps us maintain a level of service that keeps our guests returning. It also helps us identify areas that we can improve upon, which is vitally important to us. We hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here recently as attending a wedding and were traveling for over an hour. Decided to get changed after we checked in. Our daughters were also traveling to the wedding but not staying over. One needed to change for the wedding and the others just wanted to refresh make up. We were firmly told that there are no visitors allowed... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Jeanette, Further to the email sent via the Medallia website n relation to your comments on that site, and after our apologies regarding the 'no visitors' policy within our accommodation area, we have requested a change to the Best Western site to include the clause as mentioned. Sadly this is a policy that we have been forced to adopt... More

Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Another property that I've always found a little better than average. (Again, where's than other half star when you need it!?) The brilliant thing about One Four Nelson is that it's located virtually opposite the beach. It's also incredibly quiet, rooms are spacious (stayed in a King Spa room) and there's a gorgeous pool in the middle of the complex... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to Best Western One Four Nelson. Kind Regards Gail McMillan Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Nice location with a nice pool. I did find customer service to be arrogant and non negotiable. I am at a loss to explain as to how this business is run with staff who dont clean rooms properly and accuse customers of "leaving things behind" deeming the room unhygienic and keeping credit card room fee of $50 by making up... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Good afternoon Kosta, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. However, I am unable to locate your reservation on our system without a surname and ask that you supply the date of your stay to enable me to respond to your comments fully. I await your response. Kind regards Gail McMillan Manager More

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and 2 children on the 28/12/2013 I had fond memories of this place from previous stays. But I was terribly disappointed this time round. The rooms weren’t as clean; the pool area was absolutely shocking, not just full of debris but spider webs all over the posts and bird droppings all over the furniture.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Dear Tony, As your review has been previously responded to on the Best Western Medallia site early January we are amazed that you continue to post another review. As mentioned previously, our facilities meet all safety requirements and we have in place all necessary levels of privacy. As you were aware when booking, your room is designed to accommodate 2... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

....VERY expensive for what it is. It is not a resort We stayed the Australia Day long weekend (2 nights) in the king suite at $270 a night WITHOUT breakfast. We pay much less than that for suites in 5 star hotels. I pay way less that this as the Westin, Sheraton, Nikko or Hyatt (or Port Douglas). It would... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Hello Tony, Thank you for taking the time to also post this review on Trip Advisor and alerting us to the iron, which has now been replaced. As mentioned previously, smoking is allowed on outside areas of the complex and I am sorry this was disturbing for you. We do hope you visit us again and have a more pleasant... More

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent location for food and right on the beach, near the pier. Everything was clean and the pool and spa were warm. Rouge was about a 400m walk and served fantastic seafood and tapas. There is a noise restriction rule after 11pm

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gail M, Manager at BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Your comments are greatly appreciated and we hope you will visit us again some time soon. Kind regards Gail McMillan Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson

Address: 14 Nelson Street, Rye, Victoria 3941, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mornington Peninsula > Rye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN One Four Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western 1 4 Nelson
Best Western One Four Nelson Hotel Rye
Best Western Rye
Rye Best Western
Best Western Hotel Rye

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
30 stylish suites overlook a heated pool and spa and are located opposite the Rye beach. Play golf, sail the bay, bathe in the hot springs, visit wineries and dine at great restaurants. For relaxation and indulgence on the Mornington Peninsula. We will ensure your stay is one to remember.One Four Nelson winner 2012 Best 4 Star property awarded by Best Western Australasia. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
30

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer